We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Velas
Nearby Hotels
$342
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$269
$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$631
$258
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$520
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$271
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$396
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$207
$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$352
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveler rating
1,443
140
49
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,443
140
49
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubplunge poolsister resortgrand class suiteemiliano restaurantshort shuttle ridemain resortboutique hotelour honeymoonshrimp burritovista vallartalobby barhotel poolan adults only resortall inclusive resortgourmet foodaqua bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week-long trip to Casa Velas. We echo everything that all the positive reviewers have said. The food is outstanding (best we've ever had - ever), the rooms are beautiful, and pools and beach club are pristine. We've experienced all this at other all inclusive hotels before, but for us, the thing that set Casa Velas far above the rest was the unprecedented service that we received throughout our entire stay. From check in to check out, we received warm, personalized service that we have never experienced before. From the moment we arrived, we were able to instantly settle into rest and relaxation knowing that everything was taken care of and there was nothing to worry about. The staff is so friendly from Rangel (the concierge) who rounds the main hotel and beach club to make sure everyone is having a good time and all needs are met, to Jorge, our daily waiter at Emiliano who greeted us every morning with an enthusiastic smile and asked us how we were doing and what we had planned for the day. Jorge even helped us by giving us a restaurant recommendation on the day we planned to visit the downtown boardwalk (El Malecon). The restaurant he recommended was outstanding and we were so excited to report back on our experience the following day.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. We came home so relaxed and refreshed thanks to this wonderful hotel and the staff who went above and beyond to make our experience as memorable and special as possible. We will definitely be returning in the near future!

Oh I also wanted to mention that there were no problems with the hotel not being right on the water. We actually enjoyed it. The view from our room overlooked the golf course and it was beautiful. Also, we went back and forth from the hotel and beach club and even Velas Vallarta and never had to wait more than 2-3 minutes for a shuttle. It was a really nice way to get out and about and ask questions to our driver in route.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 204. it was beautiful and we had no issues.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Casa Velas appreciates the time you have taken to express your experience and sincere comments the staff is very pleased to know you had a wonderful time in our facilities and an excellent service. We feel honored to know you had a great time and we look forward on hosting you again this will always be your home away from home.

Best regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is our first time at a Resort that is not located directly on the Beach but is was definately never an issue. Casa Velas has their own Beach Club at the beach with a lovely infinity pool and huge comfortable towels. Just show up at the Lobby anytime and the Concierge will immediately have you transported. It's a very quick drive to Casa Velas Beach Club but we also enjoyed the 15 minutes stroll past the beautiful homes in the area. Quite simply, if you are looking for a place to unwind, relax, breath and catch up on your reading while enjoying the warmth, this is the Resort. There are no loud pool aerobics. Rather than a Buffet there is a beautiful al la carte restaurant where the dress is casual...be sure to try the Mussels ! The service is unbelievable and so is the food. The Staff make you feel like royalty. All inclusive, premium everything with room service included. We had breakfast promptly delivered to our room every morning to start our day and never felt so pampered. Honestly, you wouldn’t have to move from your pool/beach chair/bed all day as the staff is promptly there with drinks, menus, lunch, dinner etc. It’s a small well maintained and very clean place surrounded by a golf course. There is a warm plunge pool on the balcony of each room to enjoy at the end of the day with a relaxing drink. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 303 is private with a spectacular view at night
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ToxicTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review from all the staff here in Casa Velas, we thank you for sharing your lovely experience and comments, we are so thrilled to know your first time was outstanding and hope this wont be the last in making your vacation a once in a lifetime experience, we truly look forward on hosting you again in the near future Casa Velas will always be your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta. We completed a trade for a week using RCI.

THE GOOD: The food was very good. Unlike some people who have posted comments we found that there was a very large selection of food on the menu. They are also willing to accommodate special orders. For example, they serve a filet mignon with a small lobster tail on top. You could instead ask for two lobster tails and whatever sides they had available anywhere on the menu. The guacamole is the best I’ve ever had.
The dessert selection was limited however, while we were there they switched to serving ice cream in a waffle bowl which was a nice touch. And, although it isn’t listed you could also order fresh fruit for dessert. You can order Mexican, Spanish or other coffees made and served tableside although the menu doesn’t mention it. I think the trick is just to decide whatever your heart might desire and then ask for it. We got beautiful prawn cocktails for lunch that weren’t on the menu. We just asked. The wait staff were all friendly and very professional.
The private Beach Club is wonderful. The infinity pool provided a beautiful ocean view. It wasn’t crowded. The staff there were particularly attentive, bringing chilled ice water to everyone lounging in our around the pool. The pastrami sandwich was not a winner. The tempura was and the sushi wasn’t.
No children.

THE BAD: The Fiesta [Sunday night at the Velas Vallarta] wasn’t great. There was a large variety of food but it wasn’t particularly interesting or tasty. The dancers and mariachi band were entertaining. The MC who had men from the audience up on the stage competing for a bottle of tequila by making fools out of themselves was sophomoric.
There is no hot water for showering. If you are really lucky you might have some slightly tepid water.
The pool area at the resort needs repairs. There is a lot of cracked tile and concrete.
Staff doesn't keep guests well-informed. Due to a special event, the Beach Club was closed for an entire day and evening. We heard about it from another guest who happened to overhear the waiters discussing it.

THE UGLY: Our room had a Jacuzzi tub/shower combination that was crawling with some kind of larvae or worms. We complained and every day they were cleaned out only to return every night. Ewwww!
We had traded for a one bedroom [one and ¾ bath] and were given a studio at check-in. It smelled terrible, made my eyes water and my husband nauseous. When we returned to check-in and balked we were told that RCI traders only get studios. The woman running check- in then said she was phoning RCI and put me on the phone with a man. He told me “RCI members get only studio units.” I was sure this wasn’t really RCI so I finally asked the man “Is this RCI?” It wasn’t. It was someone else in the resort. Then she told me that the resort doesn’t have one bedroom one and ¾ bath units. She eventually phoned the ‘real’ RCI and spoke to them in Spanish and then put me on the line. The RCI rep said “The resort says that they don’t even have one and ¾ bath units.” I said “Of course they do because I’ve seen reviews of them and you have them described on your website.” RCI again spoke to the desk clerk and low and behold, [they must have run out and constructed it] we were given a one bedroom one and ¾ bath room. It’s a good thing, too because there is no way that we were going to shower with the worms in the Jacuzzi of the full bath!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience and observations here. We appreciate and take into consideration all of our guest comments and from now on we will make sure to double check a room before assigning it to a guest to ensure every detail is set to all standers and expectations. As for the room assignment and fallow ups in your request we are fallowing up with our reservations department to reinforce this matter for further reservations . i would really like the opportunity to talk to you and fallow up on this further. below you will find my email please feel free to contact me at any time.We hope you will visit us once again and experience Casa Velas, your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is our second trip to Casa Velas and it will not be our last! The staff here is THE best! I have gluten issues and they prepared special meals for my wife and I. Benny (lobby bar), Manuel (manager), Jorge Sosa (beach club), Ranguel (conceriege), and Denise (concierge) are amazing! The grounds are immaculate and peaceful. If you are looking to just relax, read a book, and de-stress then this is the place. The massage at the beach club is a must!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nathan and Rebe... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read your review a thrill to all the staff and myself to know your vacation became a memorable and wonderful unique experience, thank you so much for taking the time to share your delightful moments in trip advisor, we highly appreciate it, and we look forward to another great experience in your home away from home.

Best Regards

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Right before we departed on January 2, 2014, I checked the reviews here on Trip Advisor and most of the recent ones were 5-star reviews just glowing with praise, so I was excited and hoping to not be disappointed. We were very happy! We were down in PV for 5 romantic days away from the kids and Casa Velas was the perfect spot for unwinding. If you go here, be sure to budget a large portion of your time for hanging out at their beach front "Beach Club". That was a highlight for us. It's a small private building with a beautiful infinity edge pool surrounded by comfortable chaise lounges, with a covered patio for dining. Beyond the pool, down a small slope, they have another 15 or so chaise lounges (some with shade structures) directly on the sandy beach, but roped off from the neighboring resorts. It's just a very short couple of minutes shuttle ride from the main hotel and we never had to wait long for the shuttle.

The Good:
-- Excellent service!!! Whether at the beach club or the main hotel, there was always someone ready to help. Friendly, cheerful service. It was a delight. This really set the resort apart from any recent hotel stay I can remember, including resorts like the Ritz Carlton where we went for our anniversary a few months ago. And every type of staff member delivered excellent service from the front desk, to the bell staff, to all the waiters, to the massage therapist, to the bartenders, and the housekeepers.
-- Beautiful grounds on the main hotel property. Very pretty.
-- Comfortable room, fabulous huge shower
-- Terrific beach club
-- Great for couples (no children around), quiet
-- Some English channels on the TV including San Francisco's KTVU the Fox affiliate so we were able to watch the 49ers in their playoff game. Sweet!

The So-So:
--The food was good, but not particularly memorable. They do have a talented fellow manning their omelet station every morning. And they are not stingy with the guacamole. That was a plus.
--Why does a tropical resort give you a down comforter? A lot of hotels are doing this, even in Hawaii. I don't get it. Sure, who doesn't like a down comforter...in the winter, though! I think they should put a light blanket on the bed.

The Bad:
--I'm not one to notice music, but the real Achilles' heel at Casa Velas is the horrible, painfully bad, outdated Muzac they are piping in to all the public areas. I'm not even a music expert, so for me to complain about the music, it has got to be God awful and it was. Mexican covers of American disco era hits interspersed with random weird old pop songs and bad elevator music type stuff. I remember one song was the Ghostbusters theme and another one was the I Dream of Jeannie song. Unbelievably bad. And kind of too loud. At the beach club, I finally asked them to please play something else. So they put on a few songs of mariachi, which was nice. But they need to have either no music or something more fitting, something appropriate for a sophisticated adult romantic resort, like some classical guitar or something a little less noticeable and more mood setting. Seriously, I really hope the management reads these reviews and realizes that their soundtrack is bringing the whole place down. The resort is a Chanel dress and then they're putting a tacky K-mart vinyl shoe on with it.

Room Tip: We liked our room 307--it was quiet but not too far a walk to the main public areas. We were one floor up from the main floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cj-cal925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews