We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suspicous about past reviews of this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Suspicous about past reviews of this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

Several of the reviews at this hotel seem very suspicious. The reviews from Chuck-Sara, Chitown42 and GreggandShari are HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS because

-they share similar characteristics, all positive. And neither mention the previous negative review that specifically discusses airplane noise

-each reviewer has only one review to their credit having signed up at Trip Advisor just to review Casa Velas

-each username indicates - as of today - the same date of last visit - May 18, 2008.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
15 Thank ridgebackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    130
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
112
1,078
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

This is the perfect hotel for a totally blissful vacation. Casa Velas is beautiful, clean, and feels very safe (gated). The staff are amazing. We found everyone to be gracious and helpful with every request. The property feels very exclusive. The private beach club is a wonderful ammenity. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — The attentive service, no children allowed
  • Disliked — In March, the french pool on the balcony felt too cool to soak in
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck-Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

we are from Chicago, Illinois and went with a group of friends for the wedding at Casa Velas and we had the best time ever and the services at the Casa Velas are the top notch. It worth every pennies we spent. The staffs at the Hotel are excellent people. where would you go on vacation that the staffs treated you like you deserved and remember your names like a family.
It is a place for adults to enjoy and relax at the pool side with peace and tranquility.
We will go back again but not soon enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitown42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

Although we were a little skeptical when I booked Casa Velas through RCI, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised.
We booked at Casa Velas for Easter Week, although the cost of the all inclusive was premium, it was well worth the cost, as the restaurant on site was beyond excellent and the service and food at the pool was great. Although Casa Velas is not on the Beach, the Private Beach Club complete with infinity pool and daytime/evening dining was a serene experience.
On our anniversary night I had asked the manager to deliver a single pink rose to our table (one of only 9) at the Beach Club, it happened, promptly, to much emotion.
The manager at the hotel was ever-present and a very personable individual as were the concierge and all the staff. My wife booked a spa experience at the on site SPA; she was extremely pleased with the very professional service.
Casa Velas having only about 80 rooms from large Hotel Room size to larger suites certainly was a pleasant experience.
Even when we returned home the staff at Casa Velas accommodated us as we had misplaced our camera while at the resort, it was promptly returned to us via courier five days later.

  • Liked — Quiet, Clean, Friendliness
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GregandSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Let me start by saying I don't want to be too hard on Casa Velas but there are some serious ISSUES that need to be addressed.1st issue check in on a day when they are at only 30% occupancy shouldn't take 3 hours with them telling you 15MORE MINUTES non stop. I find it hard to believe someone couldn't get a room cleaned up without making us wait that long,we noticed during the week several other couples were at the pool "with their full airport/traveling clothes on as well" No excuse for this wouldn't have been so bad but after traveling for almost 12 hours there is no excuse for this. Suite was nice but nothing to write home about. Has a plunge pool too cold to use and a jacuzzi but the biggest ISSUES are :JET TAKEOFFS AND LANDINGS from 6:45a.m. going until almost 11:00p.m. So much for sleeping in.I was shocked that other tripadvisor members have failed to mention this. It litterally felt like staying at a luxury airport hotel. My father was a professional pilot so believe me I have been around planes/airports my whole life but I'm talking jets not small aircraft and it really takes away from what is suppose to be a relaxing luxury experience. Enough said. Decide for yourself but consider warned.Other ISSUE trying to take a late afternoon nap it key word TRYING repair/maintance people in room next door banging and hammering on the walls non stop. I know you have to maintain property but one would think they could repair or work on the room when someone else isn't next door. Same thing in the mornings dragging furniture across the floors. Also my balcony chairs were TAKEN from my balcony one afternoon early in the week and not returned. I left the staff know and asked to have them brought back but they never brought them back or followed up. I just dropped it.Not sure why they would take the chairs??? These incidents alone are more than enough for me NOT to give it 4 or 5 stars. It just isn't even close to being that kind of a property.Also got presented with an itemized billafter every meal and drink. I like to acknowledge those who do a nice job with tipsbut let me say they expect it and the conceirge/timeshare saleman at check in told us what amounts we should tip. Luxury hotels don't act this way. It is your discretion to tip at what you feel is appropritate. Let me say that regarding service is was spotty at best. Breakfast was awesome and that entire staff was great.Beach club staff and location in my opinion was the saving grace of Casa Velas. They also were very nice and offered very good service. Location was quiet and relaxing plenty of chairs nice food and drink. Beautiful views. We did walk the beach to find several dead fish and birds and trash washed up on shore. Wondered why the other hotels didn't clean it up (this was right next door to casa velas at marriott). Ocean was kind or dirty and murky although it is what I expected. Evening views of town were beautiful with all the lights. The resort itself had great landscaping wtih waterfalls flowers big tall palm trees lots of birds peacocks, koi ponds with turtles and fish. A nice romantic ambiance day and night. Dining at Emillanos was romantic although the food was non very good. We tried it several nights and did not get good service either. Other couples we talked to felt the same way. We enjoyed dinner at the beach club , the mexican fiesta on sunday nights and dinners at La Ribera at the sister resort on the ocean. We tried Andreas once and it too had terrible service. Overall summing it up the staff at the resort are nice and some gave wonderful service while others did not. Atmosphere is quiet and romantic EXCEPT FOR THE JETS. You can walk to the marina to shop etc from resort. The spa is very nice and services that I had they did a good job.Room is also nice. I just don't think for $500 to $600 per night that the issues I discussed earlier should have happened. That is the real tell tell sign.If you are really a 4 or 5 star resort then act like it not some of the time but all of the time.

  • Liked — Breakfast and breakfast staff gave great service as well as Beach Club
  • Disliked — Dinner service and poor quality of food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyetravelgirl214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

My daughter, sister and I have just returned from a week at the Casa Velas. It far exceeded our expectations. The service was impeccable, the facilities were perfect and the resturant was outstanding.
The Casa Velas is an all-inclusive, located on a golf course, with a very nice pool. Access to the beach is a five minute walk over to the sister resort the Velas Vallarta or 7 minutes to the private beach club, reserved for only Casa Velas guests. Of course there is a complimenatary shuttle to both of these places. The shuttle service is prompt and quick.
This was our first experience with an all-inclusive and I was very impressed with Casa Velas. It was quiet, beautiful and the food at Emillano's was simply fanstastic. I was concerned that a an all-inclusive would feel like a cruise - nothing could be farther from the truth at this resort.
It was hard to leave the resort to fit in some sightseeing (we did for three days) - however; the motivation to leave was hard to muster.
This was our first trip, but it will not be our last.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Esteffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at Casa Velas during the Valentine's Day/President's Day weekend. It was the perfect choice for us:

Small:
Unlike the many mega-resorts in the area, Casa Velas only has 80 rooms. It never felt crowded. The overall vibe is relaxed and tranquil.

Adults-only:
We like kids, but it was certainly nice to have the place reserved only for adults. The pool and beach club felt calm. There was no screaming (adults or kids).

Staff:
The staff were very attentive and very nice - from the reception to the waitstaff at the restaurant and the crew at the beach club.

Rooms:
We had upgraded to a Grand Class Suite and requested a room with a mini-plunge pool on the private terrace. The room itself was beautiful and kept very clean throughout our stay. There were snacks and drinks always available.

Food:
We were on the all-inclusive package and found the food to be very good. We ate at the hotel itself and the beach club. You can also eat at the Casa Velas sister resort nearby. We tried going over there but it was far too crowded and chaotic for us to stay. All our drinks were included (wine, mixed drinks, etc.).

Beach Club:
Our favorite aspect of the Casa Velas is its beach club - a short, shuttle ride away. The club has its own infinity pool, beach cabanas and restaurant reserved for hotel guests. It never felt crowded.

The only negative we encountered with the hotel was pre-arrival. They didn't respond to any emails we sent them regarding room selection or a question we had about dress code at their restaurant. We ended up calling and got a satisfactory response but it was disconcerting to send an email and not receive a reply.

That said, we've recommended the hotel to friends and would certainly make it our first choice the next time we visit Puerto Vallarta.

  • Liked — Small size and tranquil feel; beach club.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cnicklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing