We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most unique place I have stayed at”
Review of Ocho Cascadas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocho Cascadas
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
441 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“The most unique place I have stayed at”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have stayed in hotels and time shares around the world. I have not stayed in one that has pool that is in the living room. Each unit has it's on pool which is actually a waterfall that cascades to the unit below. When you sit in the living room, there are no walls between you and the view, because there are not outside walls! We have stayed in the Penthouse for the last 4 years. All of your meals are prepared by an excellent cook. And the food server has some of the best customer service skills I have encountered.

Caution, I would not recommend going after early May, since there are no walls there is no AC, late afternoon and evenings will be uncomfortable.When the rainy season starts in June and the humndity goes up and the misquitoes come out. I would not want to be there.


This place does not have high end marble floors and gold faucets It does have character

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Would very much so recommend this sunny beach paradise to any person that I come across. The views are simply stunning. The architecture is one of a kind, unlike anything I have experienced, so imaginative & like something out of a fairy tale. The sweeping panoramic views of the Bay of Banderas are brilliant. Located in such a dramatic setting nestled on a beautiful lush mountain, one is surrounded by gorgeous views, anywhere your head turns. The staff was very kind & friendly, always greeted me with a big smile, or to help with any need. The rooms present you everything you could wish for, including a warm personal pool. Everything is open to the wonderful Vallarta weather. I just returned from a stay with my family in the Penthouse, Villa 9 & 8. We stayed for a full week, wish it was a month. This is truly a special, special place that anyone who values beautiful experiences should snatch up if given the opportunity. This is my 4th time to Ocho Cascadas, and will definitely not be my last. The town is improving & is worth fully exploring, as well as the tremendous Puerto Vallarta Botanical gardens & beaches! Come experience Vallarta & the breathtaking masterpiece Ocho Cascadas is for yourself, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more dramatic the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CLS_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

A stay in thsi resort has been like none other for me. The views are incredible and impossible to find in any other resort. The staff is helpful and friendly. Having a private pool in your own unit is what made our stay even more amazing. After a long climb up the hill and up the steep stairs there was nothing nicer than jumping right in! The condo come with everything you need for a comfortable stay and I had a wonderful time cooking in our villa, taking in the views and enjoying Mexico. The pictures speak for them selves. I would definitely go back again but I heard from the staff that their lease is over at the end of the next year and after that there will not be any more ocho cascadas as it is used now , so if you;re going to go, go soon. Absolutely loved it! However, this place isn't for people that demand air conditioning, elevators. Like others have said this is LUXURY camping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelingV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was lucky to find this gem several years back and rented a week from a timeshare owner. This place is very unique, from the first day I stepped into the villa I was captivated by its natural beauty. Its perch on the mountainside awards spectacular unobstructed views of the Bay of Banderas, located in the charming, affluent and safe hills of Conchas Chinas, just a short distance from the Malecon. I have been to Puerto Vallarta many times and have stayed at many lovely hotels from Punta Mita to Mismaloya but my heart belongs to Ocho Cascadas. The man who built this place was truly a visionary. It is not for everybody, there are steep steps, no air conditioning, TV or Stereo, BUT you have your own private pool with cascading waterfall, open air living where the gentle breezes caress your skin, security, twice daily maid service and private chef ( for a small fee) on request. I often think of it as a romantic, luxourious tree house. After a week here I am renewed and that is why for me it will always be my magic garden.

Room Tip: villa 3 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joseyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

LOVED OCHOS CASCADAS!!!! Just returned from a week in Villa 3 and had a remarkably excellent experience. The views from our villa were breathtaking. We called ourselves the seis amigas and we were pampered and treated so wonderfully. Antonio and the rest of the staff were so accomodating and personable and we so appreciated everything. The twice a day maid service and the floating chef were such an indulgence (and remarkably inexpensive). I am so hopeful to return again someday. Puerta Vallarta is a charming town and Ochos Cascadas is a gem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amickj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Ocho Cascadas rentals don't come around that often so if you see one online, and you're considering PV, book the rental. I cannot say enough good things about this amazing place, 10 villas in all including the Penthouse unit which also sometimes comes into the rental pool. I've stayed in the Penthouse twice and Villa 9 once and all three times we had amazing stays. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in luxury settings high above the ocean and miles away from your cares back home. Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfcafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Pools in the room .... Excellent space ! fabulouse staff ! We stayed there in 2005 ( but that was not a date offered to choose ) I would highly recomend the view, too!!!

Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocho Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocho Cascadas

Property: Ocho Cascadas
Address: Conchas Chinas | Romantic Zone, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned with resort property in Puerto Vallarta and Cabo San Lucas. California based ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocho Cascadas Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing