We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #49 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place terrible hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The last two years I stayed at the hacienda hotel and loved the way were treated and never got sick.this year we thought we would try a five star hotel.we thought we would get more .instead we lost the one special thing we all want.that would be the personal touch and that we were not just another number.you know what I meen they call you by name and want to talk to you.what really surprised me at this hotel was they were careless over dishes they rinsed glasses and didn'twash them.wipped off plates and put them back on the racks to be used. Both my wife and myself got sick. And met other people their that had problems.they even charged for wifi that even didn't work. What disappointed even more was their ability to easily to tell you no when you ask for anything.as a custumer I know you have to pay if you ask for extra. They just couldn't be bothered.what surprised me even more is they won an award with you guys.please find somewhere else to stay and have a great holiday.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Kevin H:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you took some of your valuable time to write about your experience with us, we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. All your comments will help us to improve the quality of our services.

Thanks again, we hope you give us the opportunity to have you as our guest so that we can show you our true abilities.

Sincerely,
Maricruz Montes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    578
    282
    182
    142
See reviews for
1,071
179
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

90% of the reviews for this resort are right on. This resort caters to families with young children at a bargain price. But as with most things, you get what you pay for. Our family including one 6 yr old stayed 3/31-4/6 and upon settling into our room came to the realization that their version of "all inclusive" doesn't include a fully stocked fridge with your stay. I have done ai before (RIU and Palace resorts) and having an endless supply of water, beer, pop, and liquor bottles mounted to the wall were part of the deal. Now I know this is a family resort so the liquor bottles weren't necessary, but retiring to our room for the evening and enjoying a cold Dos Equis out of my fridge would have been nice. Here are some other of our pro's and con's...

Con's: Mini bar not included, lunch/snack and dinner buffet comparible to food at an AMPM, rooms are run down (stains, brocken door handles & faucets, ect.), timeshare presentation upon check-in, ants/bugs in bathroom, urine drenched mens rooms at pool.

Pro's: Beach, kids pool, kids drinks, breakfast (order room service, avoid the madhouse), all the family oriented games and activities, the Soriano grocery store 2 min walk away.

In all, I wouldn't stay here again. Eating out was just to great a temptation due to the lack of quality at the resort and the tremendous dining options in the area. With that and the trips to the local grocery store to stock up on bottled water, beer and snacks it wasn't as good a "all inclusive" value as it seemed when I booked the trip.

Room Tip: Don't do a family deluxe room. It gives you a view of the front road and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Kasey M:

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments are very important for us, and our GM is informed about it.

Your observations are very valuable to us and help us to improve ourselves in service.

I would like to invite you to stay again in this your home away from home and you can see all the improvements we have.

Sincerely,
Maricruz Montes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here from March 18-25 with our 2 kids (3 and 5). We found the resort to be a good size and quality. We have definitely stayed at better places, however for the price we paid, the value was excellent.
Our kids LOVED the waterpark (this is why we ultimately chose this hotel) and the kids drinks menu.
The food was fine (the Italian and French restaurants had very good food choices and we ate at each one twice during our week).
We had room service a couple of times and that was great.
The service was excellent - very friendly staff who would go out of their way for special requests.
Beds were indeed hard, however we requested and received a foam mattress topper which definitely helped.
We stayed in a family room which does face the road - we were aware of the lack of view when we booked, but decided that the extra space and bunk beds would outweigh and downside. We are glad we did - the bunk beds made nap time and evenings easy for the grown ups to watch tv/Ipad without distracting napping little people.
Location is excellent - very close to downtown, airport, grocery store, walmart etc

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz2can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a fantastic stay in adjoining rooms with family. Found rooms nice with tubs/shower a bit slippery and narrow. Ice and water are distilled :) Only got one big bottle of water in our rooms, so luckily we brought travel cups to store some water in and keep hydrated etc. Kids pool area and slides are neat but a little dangerous (shallow water, fast slopes)...kids had a blast though. It's for 4-12 year olds but we took our toddler and supervised him well, and he loved it. Loved the special kids drink menu (even for non alcohol drinkers), the beach area (minus sometimes annoying vendors kept out by a rope boundary), food was good and we had no trouble booking a la cartes by phone the day before. Best memories were in the awesome French restaurant, the resort made a small cake and decorated our room with lots of balloons for our sons b-day, and we had a pool to ourselves most of the time (Spring Break too!). Activity staff and shows were ok (most nice, a few seemed rude), some really awesome staff overall but a few "grumpy" individuals who we tried to steer clear of. Overall, it was good, safe, and fun. Hola Mexico!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had our first stay at an A.I. in Puerto Vallarta in January. We had just settled into our seats for the shuttle trip from the airport when we were getting out again and checking in - lovely surprise after enjoying other resorts a fair distance away from an airport.

Our room overlooked the kids' water park and the entrance to the French a la carte restaurant. Since the water park opened at a reasonable time in the morning, and closed in the late afternoon, we weren't suffering a lack of quiet sleeping time. (Room 316). The room itself was sufficient in that we aren't a fussy family and we spent most of our time elsewhere!

We ate at two of the three a la carte restaurants; the French (twice) and the Italian and enjoyed all meals. We understand the food at the Japanese restaurant was very good, but the service on the day our friends went was atrocious (long wait time between being seated and asked about beverages; another long wait for food, barely any tables in use yet no contact from wait staff or maitre d' who were setting other tables).

The buffet was great, any time of the day. I highly recommend the pasta at lunch, whatever it is! I'm still trying to shed those "ounces". The snack bar was good, as well. Our girls (12 and 9) could have lived off the hot dogs and fries had we not stepped in.

The drinks were tasty, and the bar staff were efficient. There is no chocolate syrup/liqueur however, so if you have your heart on something chocolate-y, you won't get it here. I recommend trying a drink off the kids' menu with rum! The Green Lantern is particularly delicious and not as sweet as the Captain America.

The only words of caution I have are about the vendors on the (public) beach, and the evening of the beach party. There were at least 22 different vendors slowly patrolling the beach throughout each day, offering the usual items (henna tattoos, shirts, dresses, bathing suit cover ups, hats). Depending on your personality, this will not bother you (as you politely ignore - yes, this can be done! - or you purchase something that is of interest) or it will send your blood pressure skyrocketing. They do not come onto the resort property, so spending your day by the pool is guaranteed vendor-free. Be sure to find the smaller pool, for extra quiet!

As for the beach party, it is a lot of fun for all ages, but there is music set up in the supervision/table area beside the water park until later into the evening, which we didn't know about. I think it was done by 11, but we were done earlier!!

We would return to PV, but seek out a resort farther away from town (this one is almost across the street from the Walmart - handy in its own right) with a private beach, keeping in mind this is on the Pacific Ocean and it's certainly not the Caribbean beach/water calmness we love.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MantarioGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here March 17-24 with three young kids (ages 7,6 &4). We stayed in a family room, which was nothing fancy. It served its purpose and it was clean, but definitely very basic. The view was pretty terrible (parking lot!). Had we only had 2 kids we would have been better off staying in a room with 2 queen beds, but seeing as my 3 kids would kill each other if they had to share a bed, this was our only option. Not really a major complaint, though, because we left the room at breakfast and didn't return until bedtime each night, so it really didn't matter. It was a bit noisy at night, between all the kids down our hallway and noise from the street. Luckily my kids are heavy sleepers, so it didn't bother them in the slightest, and even for me it was a minor inconvenience. The grounds and the beaches were the hugest draw for us. The kids LOVED the kids pool and the main pool, and the grounds were nice and clean, and the staff were constantly cleaning. So many of the reviews here complain about the beach vendors -- they were not bad at all!! Yeah, there's a lot of them, but if you say "no thank you" they move along. I seriously had a woman in China follow me up the side of a mountain begging me to buy a bottle of Coke. The vendors here are NOTHING!! We ate most of our meals at the buffet and at the beach snack place. The meals were basic, and by the end of the week they were getting a bit repetitive, but there was always variety, and lots of healthy choices (always a decent salad/fruit bar). In our family 4/5 of us are vegetarian, and none of us ever went hungry. One night we ate at the Japanese restaurant, and that was a HUGE disappointment. The food was not Japanese, in the slightest. At best it was Japanese-ish. The kids menu was chicken nuggets or spaghetti in cheese sauce (which was kinda gross!). I had the "cheese balls" which were actually tofu, but there was cream cheese in the sushi, in place of the tofu. It was weird!! The restaurant was only half full, but the service was terribly slow. The buffet was much better suited to our family, where we could go in, grab a quick bite and get back to the beach or to swimming. The staff were all fantastic as well. Everybody was very helpful and very friendly. The kids were very sad to leave at the end of the week, and for the right price we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3vegkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Smart enough to go the week before Spring Break/Holy Week! We stayed March 17-24. First we started off in the Family room with our two kids (8&9) then upgraded on day two to a 2 bedroom suite. In hindsight, I would've stayed in the family suite and dealt with the noise. The NOISE, holy moly, being that close to the lobby is not great for noise at all hours ( I am a very light sleeper, hence the move to the far side of the resort)
Kids: kids loved it , had fun in all pools and loved their food choices all over the resort. They were a bit bored with the kids centre one day but only because I made them go to have a bit of time out of the blazing sun.

Food: having been to Golden Crown before we knew what we were getting. Lots of choices, good breakfasts, so so dinners. Nothing is stand out but there is something good to eat and we didn't have to cook. Room service sucked because the food was cold but..... We were in the furthest room from the kitchens

Room: firm beds, hot showers, no major issues at all and cleaned well every day by 3pm. Again we upgraded and had a kitchen that wasn't used and didn't spend really any time in the room beside sleeping and showering. Thanks again, Marta!

Service: excellent as always whether is was bar, restaurants, or anything else. Everyone had a smile and helped with anything asked.

Activities & Entertainment: us grown ups didn't participate in much besides the karaoke night at Nitro, fun but not much selection of newer songs. The kids however played water volleyball, built sandcastles, made sushi in a cooking class and were asked to be part of the live show at Nitro on Saturday night. They loved it. Thanks so much to Janet, Rosie, Mamo, Javier, Martin, Ana and Paulie. You guys truly make this the resort we keep coming back to.

To touch back on our timing. The last two days of our trip Sat & Sun were insanely busy there, couldn't get a poolside lounger, towels got moved/snatched, breakfast at La Palapa was a mad house. This being said, don't book your vacation on Mexican Holidays because this is a fave of people travelling in from inland and locals. Not a bad thing but it gets sooooooo crazy busy it's hard to relax.

All in al we had a fantastic holiday and will be back again soon.

See you in October!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.5 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Pue...
#45 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Property: Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de las Garzas # 3 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MODERN FAMILY-FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENT The ambiance here at the Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, All Inclusive Resort is one of casual family fun. Our oceanfront resort was designed with myriad places to have fun and relax with an aquapark with 9 slides a pirate ship and a castle, big jacuzzi with swim up bar for adults, 3 a la carte restaurants and more... All the fun for big and small! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing