We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$384
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$260
$174
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$121
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$356
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$470
$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$212
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$551
$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$406
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$189
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$372
$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveler rating
785
678
331
202
164
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
785
678
331
202
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspirate shipkids poolkids clubfrench restaurantkids paradisekids drinksbunk bedsclub nitrobeach vendorssnack barzip linemain poolaqua parka la carte restaurantsfamily vacationhot dogsgreat family resort
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A group of 10 (including 4 children ages 3,8,10 and 12)mostly family members travelled from Alberta and BC.
When we arrived at the resort I thought they were taking us in through the back door. Although unimpressive, the lobby was functional and the attendants were helpful. We had requested adjoining rooms on the ground floor because of the children and mobility issues. Our rooms were not those requested, but were changed the next day. Our new room was musty smelling and dated, but functional because you only sleep in your room anyway. The room beside ours had tiny ants and they did see one cockroach.
The best thing about the resort was the staff. All staff were courteous, helpful and accommodating and there were never language issues.
The worst thing about the resort was the food. I was very disappointed in the quality of the food in the buffet and generally speaking the a la carte restaurants were not much better. The French was better than the others. During the day there was a snack bar by the beach and pools which also had poor food. The meats were the cheapest cuts, bacon if it was available in the morning was hidden behind the counter so you had to ask for it, Even the fruits and salads were monotonous. (Have you ever been to a resort in mexico that doesn't have guacamole?) All that being said, we always found something worth eating and we never went hungry.
Across the road from the hotel is a nightclub with a variety of nightly shows, mostly family friendly. We enjoyed going to the shows, but if you want a seat with a back instead of just a stool, you must arrive early.
We went to town 3 times and chose to ride the bus for the "authentic" feel. We felt safe and no one bothered us. The locals were friendly and helpful. There are Walmart and Soriano stores nearby if you run out of something like sunscreen.
The three pools catered to a variety of needs with the main pool having the activities during the day. The beach was overrun with peddlers which some people found annoying. Both the pools and beach were clean. We met a tour seller on the beach named David who was helpful and honest. Of course the vacation rep discouraged us from buying tours on the beach but we did and you save about 25% compared to the same tours sold through the reps. Remember, if the price sounds too good to be true, you will probably get ripped off. 25% is about the right discount on the beach. Look for trustworthy David. We used him for the Daytime pirate trip and zip lining.
In our group one family of 4 paid $800 for adults. We paid $1550. This resort may have been OK value for $800 but not $1550. (We paid $1600 for a resort in Cuba which was much better)
We had a great time as a group and meeting various travelers, but would not recommend this resort (unless you get it for $800) and I would not return even for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelleyWhitecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

3/18/13 If I knew then what I know NOW this would not even made the list of places to stay. If price is all your looking for this might be the place for you.Within 5 min the Time Share Shark were out feeding. with a quick NO Gracias 3 or 4 times you can get away. The first meal at The Buffet was at best the most bland meal I have ever eaten. The drinks were average and took for ever to get ,,,,unless you were Mexican which seemed to always get what they need first evn though you had been sitting well before them. I did fiqure out that Breakfast was best when you ordered Room Service at 7:00 A.M. Also at 9:00 call down to get a reserved table at one of the 3 resturants then head down to the beach. At 4;00 P.M. when you here a big YEA!!!! by the big pool don't go over because when the pool staff askes where your from and if your from America your going to hear the biggest BOOO ever!! and that was our first impression of this place. Won't EVER go Back.

Room Tip: Breakfast Only Room Service, Dinner only by reservation, Entertainment NONE.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were at the Crown Paradise for March break as a family reunion with 6 adults, 3 kids and a baby. We all had a fantastic time swimming in the pools, playing in the kids water-park area, playing tennis, playing soccer on the beach, playing shuffle board and bowling with the kids, sunbathing by the pool and beach, and having lots of lovely cocktails!!

This resort is definitely more 3* than 4*, however we didn't have any complaints. The rooms were a decent size and perfect for us with 3 kids. We chose the family suite and were disappointed to overlook the street, however the hotel offered to change us to a 2-bedded room with a view if we preferred. We stayed with our original choice, as the family suite worked well for us, due to each child having their own bed and us having a king-size bed plus a fridge :) Tip for the hotel - maybe consider having some family sites with nice views?? Room was always clean and the ac worked fine, but we preferred the breeze from the open balcony door.

The food was good, and we didn't have any complaints. The buffet restaurant was plentiful with lots of variety .. we did eat at the 3 a la carte restaurants also, and were very impressed. The beach snack bar with fresh burgers and salads was our fave lunch venue.

We went into Puerto Vallarta on the bus one day and really enjoyed ourselves. The people are so friendly and very helpful. We also swam with dolphins in Nuevo Vallarta another day, and had a fantastic day there too. Very close to a grocery store and Walmart and the mall, if you need to check email (free wifi at the mall, as the hotel is very expensive).

Overall this was fabulous holiday. If it were just my husband and I, then maybe we would have chosen a different resort, but with kids, this was perfect. Our boys said this was the best vacation ever!! We felt very safe there, and let the boys do their own thing with some of the activities, and they loved the kiddie cocktails they could get themselves each day. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel and would recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during March Break, and it more or less met expectations (after reading plenty of reviews, I was expecting a 3-star caliber hotel).

Hotel / Rooms
As many have said in their reviews, the rooms are not fancy, but ours was very clean and had a partial ocean view. AC was good, no issues with hot water, beds were fine. Could have done without the screaming kids at 6:30am in the hallways - one kid went on screaming for about 30 minutes straight...who parents these kids?

Waterpark / Pool
Our son didn't spend alot of time in the waterpark, he preferred the main pool or the beach. There is a air nozzle right at the waterpark to blow up inflatable toys - look for the spongebob mural and it is right beside it. Lots of kids were in the waterpark, so it was quite popular. The main pool is heated which is quite nice and is 4 feet deep all around, so good for kids.

Beach
Beach is nice and sandy, but not really very good for kids to go swimming - strong under current, and most days pretty strong waves. As mentioned, lots of vendors on the beach, However, a fair number of vacationers were buying items from them, so hard to fault the vendors for being there. Lots of loungers - so you shouldn't have any trouble getting a spot even if you don't play the early morning towel game.

Food
I have to say the buffet could stand a good deal of improvement. Thankfully they have the 3 a la carte restaurants, as I don't think I could have taken the buffet for dinner every night. The breakfast buffet was the best - good omelettes, french toast, pancakes, waffles. Although I have never been to a breakfast buffet that didn't have bacon (even in Cuba!). They kept a small stash of bacon strips by the omelette stations but you had to know to ask, and often they ran out. Lunch we mostly stuck to the snack bar and it was fine - hamburgers, hotdogs, various things dipped in batter and deep fried; a small "salad bar" of sorts.

And I have to echo the sentiments on the ever-present wiener dishes. Cutting up wieners and putting them in a steam tray does not make them "sausages". Putting wieners in a crusty tortilla does not make them "pigs in a blanket". I don't know if this hotel has stock in the local wiener factory, but enough of the wieners - breakfast lunch and dinner.

The a la carte restaurants were pretty good. We ate at all three, and thought they served very decent food. Again, thankfully they had 3 decent a la carte restaurants, as I don't think I could have stood the buffet for dinner the whole week.

A couple other tips - there is a grocery store about 3-4 minutes away. Take a right leaving the hotel and that the first left up a side street and you will reach the grocery store in about 2 min. They also have supplies such as sun screen, towels, etc... Also there is a local flea market about 3 minutes away if you take a left when leaving the hotel. Be ready to barter.

The staff were also pretty great. Friendly and a couple of them went out of their way to help with something. We had a good enough time, and if the price were right we would consider coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gettothesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a basic hotel, nothing fancy, just the essentials - clean rooms (dated, but who stays in their room on vacation?), good coffee, good breakfasts, sunshine, heat, and very happy children. Easy to get off the resort to see other sites in Puerto Vallarta, safe, and did I mention the sunshine and happy children? We walked the beach every day, went to the market next to us, got off the resort a couple of times, enjoyed just hanging out in the sunshine.
The price is good, PV is lovely, safe hotel, just an all around good place to stay. 3 families went down - 7 children in the group. The children went from pool to pool, shuffleboard to beach, pool bar to beach bar to enjoy the sweet drinks with marshmallows on top. They enjoyed the beach grill, the buffet and all thought the French restaurant was fantastic! I personally didn't have high expectations - I just was happy to be going to sunshine in PV. I was very pleased with the resort. Very fun trip.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the quiet 'cold' pool in the courtyard and the balcony overlooked the kids pool. A bit noisy at night, we put the AC on to block the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews