We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had a great experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I was pretty nervous heading into our trip after reading some of the more negative reviews about the place. So was well prepared on how to handle the timeshare sharks once you land in PV and up until you receive your key.

When we arrived at the Villa Del Palmar we were greeted with warm smiles and not a long check-in process. Since we arrived 4 hours before check-in time our room was not ready for us. Our experience w/ the "concierge/personal assistant" right after check-in was actually quite pleasant and helpful. Before they get to the timeshare pitch there was a lot of good information on how to get around the city and hotel. We booked all of our excursions through Vallarta Adventures before coming, so the push for an excursion through the hotel was not pressured. Once our concierge started talking about the discount card I knew we were heading into the timeshare pitch. We let her explain the card and how to get it we would need to visit their sister hotel. Once she finished explaining we simply told her we were not interested and that was the end of her push/pressure to do the timeshare. A much easier process than anticipated from past negative reviews.

Our room (studio) was on the 7th floor in the main building and it was great. It wasn't 5 Stars or the Ritz but for what it was it totally worked for us! It was very clean and no sign of some of the horror stories from previous reviews. The mini kitchen was very helpful since we visited the mall w/ the Soriana (Walmart type of store) a couple blocks down and stocked up on some water and breakfast foods. The location of the hotel is excellent.

Other amenities of the hotel - we did not do the all-inclusive meal plan. The food was very expensive so we stayed away. The location of the hotel is in a fantastic place and it is very easy to find a place to eat by walking or taking the city bus. We were going to try the Spa for a massage, but found a small place in the same mall as the Soriana that did full body massages for only $20USD. My wife and I only paid $40 for what would've cost $150+ at the hotel spa. The pools were nice. We spent most of our sun time at the private pool where mostly adults were and not crowded at all. The larger pool was very crowded and had a lot of noise b/c of the activities that were taking place there. The beach is actually a joke. Water is not clear and you get bugged to death by beach vendors, but that is no fault of the hotel.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Villa Del Palmar and would stay there again. Just know what to expect and set your expectations at a realistic level. Don't expect 5 star treatment and amenities at a 3 star resort. We had a great time and we are a married couple in our late 20's.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie_Mullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    768
    330
    170
    107
See reviews for
799
874
85
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you want to take 2 1/2 hours to eat lunch or supper, with no one asking if you want a second drink or coffee, this is the place for you!. The all inclusive part was special. I ordered two personal size pizzas, 1 for me and 1 for my son. The server refused to give me 2, because he said that 1 pizza is for 2 people. In my opinion, this is not a real all inclusive, as you have to order from a menu . Only breakfast is a buffet, nothing fancy and the same all week. There was only one theme night, not multiple ones as advertized. The most annoying part is when you first arrive. You're tired from a long trip, and they won't give you your room key until you get the whole time share speach. The more you say no, the more you wait. If you're really going waste your money and go to this place, just be firm and insist for your room key. Oh, they also have time share scouts scoping you out in super markets, malls and streets. It gets old really fast!! If you're going to go to Puerto Vallarta and don't mind being a little out of the way. Go to the Barcelo La Hoya De Mismaloya. The beach is eroded, but this is a real all inclusive with mounds of amazing food. The service was amazing as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Viper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-conciergeManager, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear 1Viper6,

As we mentioned before, we are currently improving our menus, we will also undergo heavy customer service training with all our staff, starting with wait personnel.
We hope you give Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa another chance to treat you as you deserve to be treated. We would like to show you our improvements first hand.

Best regards,

Ernesto Hernandez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I booked a last minute trip so I didn't have a lot to choose from but of the choices, this hotel caught my attention at first with the overall positive reviews. While there are some negative comments and poor experiences mentioned, after my week long stay here, I have to believe that these poor experiences are rare. My fiance and I had a nice studio suite overlooking the pool (and a nice view of the bar rooftop). The room was big and the kitchen was great. The hotel staff are very accommodating, friendly and got to know us by name after just a few days. While the property is dated as are a lot of hotels in this immediate zone, it is still very nice. There is a great beach front view and the pool was not the biggest or the best but very refreshing. We chose not to do the all inclusive as we ate out most nights. Puerto Vallarta is a culinary mecca and there is not a lack of food. I recommend Pipi's and Gaby's both in downtown. As for the time share people, we were never approached by anyone at the hotel about this. All we said when we got out of the taxi is we do not want to deal with the timeshares...we never heard a word about them. Tip: We did go on 2 timeshare presentations at other properties and in doing so, got $500 in excursions for about $180. It cost us about 6 hours of our time in total but we got to use the pool at one if these hotels. While we usually like to try out new places and probably would stay here again, I would recommend this hotel. There is some slight noise heard if you stay in the main building due to the lobby configuration but it never bothered us or woke us. I also recommend visiting Soriana's just down the street for all kinds of food and sundry items. Have fun in Puerto Vallarta. This was my 2nd visit here and I am in love. Last Tip: Avoid the off the property massage places at all costs!! We had 2 offsite massages and they sucked!! They actually massaged our bones and vertebrae. Yikes. We had a massage at the Villa Del Palmar spa and it was GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

When we arrived at Villa del Palmar, they could not find our reservation. After some time our reservation was found but with our names mixed up. Appartently this is quite common. Talked to a number of folks and they had the same issue. After they found our reservation, we were told what room we will be in but before we could get the key to our room we had to talk to one of the 'representatives' to explain the facilities, etc. This ended up being a timeshare pitch. We were not interested but it took an hour before we could finally convince them and get the keys to our room. We purchased 'meal plans'. This is their version of 'all inclusive'. It's certainly not the best system. Some items are from the menu are not included but that really didn't impact us. What did was the tremendous amount of time it take to actually order something and finally get. For example, I ordered a coke, which came relatively quickly. Then the waiter came back to get our meal order...we finally got our meal 45 minutes later (I only ordered a club sandwich, and the other 2 in my group ordered similar items). We also order another drink when the food came but the drinks took another 25 minutes before we got them. This type of service was typical for our entire stay at Villa del Palmar. The rooms were tidy but definitely not clean. They are older suites and in need of updating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-conciergeManager, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear ark99,

We are undergoing heavy customer service training and we apologize for the personnel's attitude in the sales' department.
We assure you a very relaxed and satisfactory experience on your next stay at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Ernesto Hernandez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Nice resort ,room was clean and everything worked in the room. All inclusive is around $85 per person/$45 under 12 and includes 70% of the dishes on the menu, includes beer but no premium drinks. A little more than half of the staff were not too friendly. Prices at the hotel in dollars, hamburgers $12, Nachos $12, Beer $5, Pasta dish $25, Fish dish $35 and up. The wife and I split two lobster tails at restaraunt in town for $69. Daughter had a burrito for $12 and soft drink $3. Water sports were reasonable, jet ski $50, parasail $30 and scuba diving ( 1 tank) was $60. Taxi to Marina was $7 to $12 depending on where you are going at the Marina. Bottom line, don't purchase inclusive deal if you are a family on a budget. Single, buy it! There is a Walmart and Costco close by and a small coffee shop at the hotel with eggs, bacon, pancakes, salads , sandwiches and so on for $6 or $7 dollars.. I did not have any "wow" meals at the hotel.
All my meals were just satisfactory, but very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-conciergeManager, Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear TmCom,

At Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa we are currently working on improving our menues and prices. As you mentioned there are other options near the resort, though we would like to offer you everything you need at the resort.
We would like to thank you for selecting Villa del Plamar and we hope to see you again in the future.

best regards,

Ernesto Hernendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel and almost every hotel in Puerto Vallarta live breath and sleep time share. Although they say its not a time share we all know what it actually is !!!. The reason's these nice hotels are so cheap is because once they get you to come to their hotel they pressure you with all these lovely gifts to come see other hotels. As the paper work gets shuffled your gifts slowly get left off the new paper work. This whole process starts when the gentleman at the airport says he's with your hotel and will provide you a free taxi ride to the hotel. The pressure these people put on you should be illegal. Just to get these people to leave you alone, you agree. I will say I liked this hotel. It was a great location and my 13 year old daughter had a great time. I loved having a kitchen and being able to walk down to the local store and get things to eat at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. I have mixed emotions if I would ever go back to this hotel. Not sure the stress I endured the first 20 minutes of arriving into Puerto Vallarta by the hotel staff at the airport was worth the money we saved.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Dear Members,
My wife and I purchased a 1 bedroom unit @ Villa del Palmar in March 2010. On returning home we realized we had questions of our slaesman and the Sales Manager who kindly offered his card to us at the presentation. After some delay the Sales Manager did contact us and reviewed each item we had concerns about. After two separate conversations the Sales Manager made a recomendation to the Developer's Representative in Puerto Vallarta to make things right for us. At the end of the day, I believe what Villa Group did for us was fair and we finally got this resolved.
Robin
California, USA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlm29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,595 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing