We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time after check in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2006

We had a great week at the VDP after we got through the nightmare check in. The timeshare shark met us at the door of our cab to direct us to the ch eck in line that was ten people deep at six different stations. I quickly dismissed the shark and waited for one hour in line to find out that they had assigned us rooms out by the street. I told the clerk to check for two other rooms closer to the pool and beach but was told they were full. I asked to speak to a manager who sent me over to talk to pablo at the gold club desk. Pablo quickly informed me there were many rooms available near the beach and pool. After my 90 minute sweatfest at the front desk we were wisked away for a fantastic week in two one bedroom suites steps from the pool and beach.
Here is my tip for no more complaints about hard beds. Call houskeeping as soon as you get to your room and tell them to send up mattress pads. They made the beds as good as my
pillowtop at home. They even will send one up for your futon style couch. So if you have read this and come back and say the beds are to hard YOU DIDN'T PAY ATTENTION TO MY TIP.
The rest of the week was great from the food to the drinks. The staff around the pool were fantastic also. Many of them I reconized from ten years ago.
Others have posted that the $3 that they add to your bill everyday is for the maid. This is partly true. This gratuity is split between all the staff including the gardner and the folks in the laundry. Just think of this as part of the bill and don't complain when you see the gardner on his hands and knees trimming the hedges with a manual hand trimmer ten hours a day. This is one of the ways that they have kept the price down at VDP.
In closing I would say if you can avoid checking in on saturday and sunday between 2-5 do it. The front desk was a piece of cake any other time during the week.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank Bigmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2006

My friend and I just got back and I wanted to return the favor for all the great info we got before we went! We had a great time in Puerto Vallarta in general, the people are really nice, the weather was flawless and the food was MUCH better than we'd expected.(we're both chefs) It was a bit dirtier than Acapulco or Cabo, but not terrible. The VDP was in a great location for getting to town and it was laid out nicely for relaxing and having fun. We didn't all-inclusive but found ourselves eating at the resort more than I thought we would. If you go to the Buffet nights by the pool, get there before 8:00 because they really don't replenish the buffet very well. There's enough food but if you wanted something in particular, you might miss out if you come later. We especially liked the food at the Tex Mex night. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We weren't really bothered by timeshare people because we had a cover story, we told them when we checked in that we were both married and our wives weren't on vacation with us.(B.S. of course) BINGO! we weren't eligible to buy anything. That was pretty much the end of that. The room was fine, A/C worked very well, beds were a bit hard (especially the sofa bed) The dehumidifier in the room was noisy as all hell but you can shut it off while your in the room and it did work very well. We booked three activities at the resort and received the gold card discount even though we didn't get one. We did the Canopy tour with "Eden" Tours it was good. The golf at "Marina" was excellent. The ATV with "Wild" tours wasn't the best too much time riding through towns and you got SUPER dirty.
We did book fishing with the guy on the beach at VDP and it was good too. We would go back to PV and The VDP tomorrow. I hope this helps!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jefferson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Our family has been going to Villa del Palmar for years. We own a studio at the resort and needless to say we always feel like we are right at home. Excellent place for families with kids. In the middle of everything, across from a great plaza/mall with many stores, close to downtown, restaurants, etc...
Beautiful beach and view of the entire bay, great resort with excellent service, restaurants. Our studio has ocean view, fully equiped kitchen. Fill up your fridge with drinks and food at great prices, enjoy having your breakfast overlooking the beach every morning and stay for 1,2 or 3 weeks at a time because you can certainly save on food there.
For more info on how you can extand your stay contact me at
christina@la-classique.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank samanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

We planned a trip at the last minute and couldn't find a decent airfare without also booking the hotel. We were staying in Puerto Vallarta for 7 nights, and , luckily for us, we only booked the hotel for 2 nights and decided we'd see if we liked the hotel and leave if not.
Biggest problem was the location of our room. Hotel is on the main road, lots of traffic and noise, and our room was right against the road. We immediately went to the front desk and asked to be changed....and were told nothing was available.

Also, the minute we walked into the hotel, we were hussled into a time share presentation. We were tired and just wanted to get into our room, but sat through 20 minutes of saying "no thank you, no thank you, we'd just like to go to our room".

We made the best of things and left the bags and headed into town for some fantastic food at "Fajita Republic". (old town near Los Muertos Beach). We told the taxi driver we wanted to go "Villa Shopping" the next morning and he came back with the name and card of a property manager who would meet as at our hotel 8:30 next morning. (Quite an accomplishment that we were upf for the 8:30 am meeting since we then moved on to Roxy's for dancing well into the night!).

Property manager found us a fabulous 3 bedroom 4 bath, open air Villa on the beach (with our own pool), for less than the cost of 2 hotel rooms. (There were 3 of us total). Plus, we had a memorable morning touring villas and really getting to see the beautifully decorated Mexican homes - a real treat to also talk with some of the owners and hear their stories about how they came to live in Puerto Vallarta.....

Anyway, I love Puerto Vallarta and have been coming for more than 20 years...and would highly recommend it to everyone. Food is fantastic, people amazing.....don't let a bad hotel ruin your stay...

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brisner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just got back from PV on October 14th. After spending our first night at Los Tules, a couple resorts down the beach, we were very happy to check into the Villa del Palmar. Though I would have preferred a room with a view of the ocean, watching the tennis pro give lessons while sipping my coffee in the morning was fun to watch as well.

The room was clean and spacious (one bedroom with a kitchen). The pools were great for all ages...Javier who served drinks and food around the pool area was a lot of fun and even tried to get us into a ocean view room.

There were theme activities and dinners every night for a cost(though we didn't join in) but looked fun. Good sports bar by the pool where I watched Monday night football.

If you go to the beach, turn right, and walk about 50 yards you will see a man under an umbrella named Francisco. He hooked us up with horseback riding, and for my birthday a Bora Bora cruise that lasted 7 hours including horseback riding, snorkeling, lunch on a secluded beach, and open bar. It was a great deal and a great 40th birthday...even with my 3 year old daughter. His son, Pasquel, ran the cruise. I was a little hesitant forking over a $100 deposit to a guy on the beach, but all went well. He even picked us up in his truck on the beach an transported us.

It is a 5 minute cab ride to downtown and there are always numerous drivers in front of the hotel waiting to pick you up (for 40 peso's...I always gave them 50).

I hated to leave and will consider going back, though I usually always like to try places I haven't been. If you haven't stayed here, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We just returned from our vacation at the Villa del Palmar and had a fantastic time! The resort is very nice! The entire staff is very friendly and responsive to your needs. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The food is very good. The rooms were clean. The pools are nice and the grounds are well maintained. It is not a fancy place, but it certainly met our needs. We had nothing to complain about.
If you go to the timeshare presentation to the Flamingos resort, be aware that it will take more than the 90 minutes total that they advertise. It is fairly low-pressure and is a beautiful resort. We did it in return for 4 tickets to an excursion and a bottle of tequila, so we felt it was worth it.
We went on two excursions while in Puerto Vallarta. One was a day trip to Yelapa and Las Animas. It was a good cruise with open bar, food, time at the beach, and a hike to the waterfall. Plan to take money with you for tips, extra snacks, drinks at the beaches, etc.
Our other excursion was the sunset cruise, Rhythms of the Night, by Vallarta Adventures. This was a very good trip and one to recommend. We saw dolphins in the ocean on our way out to the dinner and show! The show was fascinating and the setting was beautiful.
I would recommend the shuttle service for $9 a person to take you from the airport to the resort. It is well worth it. They were right there to meet us when we got through customs and quickly whisked us away to the resort.
Take the public bus for transportation to downtown, etc! It is cheap, 5 pesos, and is an experience in and of itself!
We took a taxi from the resort back to the airport. It cost $10 for the 4 of us.
All in all, it was a great trip! The Villa del Palmar met or exceeded all our expections.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We had alot of fun over there. Its at 5 mins of downtown. The time shar people are not agressive. The food was very nice. Massage by the sea its a must. The only bad thing I can say is that we didn't had hot water in our room, but who care we are in vacation no time to complain. Chow

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank maryse1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#68 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,023 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#52 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $104 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing