We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here June 7-21, 2014 in a studio unit (king bed, limited kitchen). The kitchen had a small refrigerator, cooktop, microwave, toaster, blender and various cooking utensils. We mostly just made breakfast and lunch and then ate in restaurants for dinner. It was a good sized room for 2 people. We did have a problem with the AC unit plugging up and leaking water into the bathroom which then ran out into the hall and closet. The maintenance came right away and fixed it. There are 2 pools, one of which sits right on the beach. There isn't much surf to speak of as it is in the Bay of Banderas. As we were there in the "rainy season", much of the time the water looked to be quite silty due to the runoff from the rain in the surrounding mountains. The ride to/from the airport is only about 10 minutes. If you take a taxi from the airport, they have a set charge of $21 US. When you return to the airport from the hotel, the charge is $100 pesos... quite a difference, but they sort of have you over a barrel at the airport. We walked into town (Centro) once and it took about 40 minutes at a leisurely pace. The taxi only cost $65 pesos to get there and about 5 minutes. The restaurant El Patron was excellent! Be sure to take advantage of the local lunch table set up on the beach just to the right as you leave the property... They are set up to serve the beach vendors but will also sell to anyone. The price is ridiculously low and the food is amazing! We had a fish fillet (my husband said it was wonderful) and a chile rellano (incredible) for about $10.75.

We have a timeshare and used the Getaways to stay here so the cost was very low - about $220 per week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonemadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    731
    319
    160
    101
See reviews for
719
819
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I spent 9 nights here just before Christmas. The resort lobby was decorated beautifully for the holiday with a huge tree and lots of lights. That was special. The staff at the front desk made check-in a pleasure and also helped us with anything we needed with a smile.
We had the "all-inclusive package" so we didn't cook in, although the room did have a kitchen with all you needed to prepare a meal. The grounds are very lush with plants, palm trees and flowers all surrounding a huge swimming pool that has a "rock formation" in the center complete with a waterfall. The entertainment team provided an hour of water aerobics with upbeat music and played games with the guests. Very nice. The restaurants were good, The waiters efficient and lots of fun as they served the meals. Always smiling, chatting and doing anything to make you happy. We had a room on the 4th floor near the Italian Restaurant that provided a nice view of the grounds and the pool area. Very nice to sit on the balcony with a cup of coffee in the morning just to relax. There was nightly entertainment out near the pool that was very nice. The housekeeping was perfect. Towel art, extra towels if you needed them, bed done perfect and the room kept spotless. We originally booked one week with RCI points, but a bad storm back home made us book 2 extra nights last minute. The concierge desk did a great job for us in contacting the airline to cancel and rebook, and they made sure we could stay at the Villa Del Palmar in another section for the 2 extra nights. The staff did all this in a short time, got confirmations for everything and instead of sweating out a flight into an ice storm back home, we jumped into the swimming pool and had a Mai Tai. Many thanks to the entire staff at Villa Del Palmar for all their help.

Room Tip: An upper floor will give a nice view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

First I would like to say that we used a FREE service called Beach Bum Vacations to book our trip. A friend recommended this service to me and I am so glad we used it. Nikki, our certified travel concierge booked our room, our plane tickets and took care of every detail from a to z. She was a godsend and I would recommend her and her service to anyone. Any bumps in the road, she takes care of it. We also purchased ($50) travel insurance so if we had to cancel for any reason ALL money (even plane tickets) is refunded besides the insurance. Nikki at Beach Bum Vacations will research any place you'd like to visit, offer recommendations, etc. Very knowledgeable. She gave us complete peace of mind. She works from home, so you can contact her at any time. BEACHBUMVACATION.com

Overall, we had a good time at Villa Del Palmar Resort. The plus point was the pool. It's a nice size pool with slide and "waterfall." Service at the pool was great too. Unfortunately, wi-fi was supposed to work at the pool but was very hit or miss. *If you are not a member (timeshare holder) you will not be given the wi-fi password to connect to wi-fi in the lobby. (no wi-fi in the rooms unless you pay). A nice person gave us the member password so we were able to use it in the lobby. It was my birthday as well as my baby moon, so my sister had arranged for the room to be decorated. It was very nicely done with a bday/baby shower theme. The front desk was very helpful however our person who was supposed to be our weekend coordinator (Yolanda) was never to be seen past check in. She met with us to give us information and said she was our weekend coordinator, but when we immediately turned down the free breakfast (a.k.a we want to feed you then persuade you to buy a time share) she was a bit turned off and we never heard from her again.
The shows were so, so. Service was good though.
The beach was not all that great. You literally step onto the sand and are immediately flooded with people trying to sell things. They don't harass you but don't ever expect to take a walk on the beach without at least 5 people trying to see you things. Not very peaceful and relaxing in my opinion. Sand was rocky and water was a bit dirty. I have enjoyed my time in Cabo much more than in Puerto Vallarta to be honest.
The food at the Resort was very good. Especially at their Seafood restaurant. The mango/shrimp ceviche was to die for!!! Very good food and nice presentation.

We paid 7.50 pesos to take the bus into town. It is only about 15 minutes away. The bus stops literally in front of the hotel area. The front desk can give you a map and tell you about where to get off. We walked the boardwalk and ate at a great restaurant called Union. Excellent food and outstanding service. Great view of the beach.
We also shopped at Soriana grocery store literally down the street from the hotel. There's also a mini mart right next to the hotel for small food items and souvenirs. Also a laundramat next door as well. We stayed at the Villa Del Palmar in Cabo and we had a kitchenette with a FULL sized fridge and kitchenette. At this resort, our fridge was one of those mini ones, so putting many jugs of water was an issue and the kitchenette was much smaller. It worked out and met our needs, but we were expecting it to be the same as Villa in Cabo.
The last thing is if you are going to stay in a deluxe studio, you are stuck staying in the main building. I wanted a room closer to the pool or ocean view, but when we checked in, they said the studios are only in the main building. The other buildings contain one and two bedrooms suites. That was a bummer, but again, it all worked out. We had a view of the pool, but could not really see the ocean.
I am tempted to rate this hotel average, but I think of the great way they decorated my room for my birthday and the great service in the hotel restaurants and front desk, for them I give it a very good rating.
If you're in good company, I guess the small details don't matter, right?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid noise. If you want an ocean view, you should NOT book a stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank greekrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

From check-in to check-out the great service never stopped. Our room and the surroundings were awesome. The staff was top notch! And for people who complain about rooms and staff I never saw anything wrong or bad. We were treated like royalty the entire stay. We were never hassled by time share nonsense. I have read some reviews about this place before we left and got a little nervous about it. I was there no more than a few minutes and thought what in the world are these people complaining about? Our family had a wonderful time. We even made new friends. I will definitely recommend this place to all my family and friends. Kuddos to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomsmash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was my first visit to Puerto Vallarta, now I know why my friend continues to come back. The staff were so welcoming, everyone always had a hello with a big smile. Everyone was so quick to ask you how you were doing and if there was anything they could do to help us. I particularly want to let you know that Alan Morelos went way beyond what was expected to help us out. He is a very valuable asset to your company. If we had any problems he would work on it until it was solved and kept us informed of the progress. I loved the interaction with the staff and the activities/programs that were provided throughout our stay. Very clean and manicured Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Been there every year since 1996. There were a lot more quality events years ago. The service and quality of food was great, especially the beach and light snacks. The grounds are always trimmed to perfection. We got an email the week prior to arrival informing us that building G was going to be demolished while we were there. I looked on all the old compound maps and could not find Bldg G. Phone calls to the resort and San Diego to find out that no one knew what I was talking about.... Always a surprise. There seemed to be a lack of resort information in the rooms i.e. the spa and weekly events.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a wonderful place to vacation! The staff was friendly and gave great service. I would recommend this property in a heart beat. We did the all inclusive and it was very worth it! The three restaurants on the property were all very good. The drinks were delicious. The only downside was that check in took a long time, which was frustrating after a long plane ride. Their beach is very nice and well kept. There are a lot of vendors that come bother you while trying to relax by the beach but the security controls this pretty well. There is a store on the property which is very convenient. The bell boys were very helpful with getting taxis and letting us know what the price should be so we didn't get overcharged. The resort is great, but make sure you go downtown to the Malacon because it is fun and great to see!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool! We were in room 4361 on the "sunny side" and it was the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing