We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“REVISITED!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“REVISITED!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

WENT BACK TO VDP in JAN> 2013, 1 br. condo; and had a very good stay. SAFE, Clean, comfortable beds adequate kitchen,and quiet at night. I went with an open surgical wound, spent 3 weeks in Puerto Vallarta, visited hospital 3 times[about $500], and came home with a tan! [IE NO "Mexican induced infections" and help when I needed!]
I walked around the resort, had visits with many pleasant people, and went out for dinner in a cab.
This resort is lovely, and has great pool exercises and other activities. Its up to you to get to them. Lots of restaurants nearby, and ok onsite. Grocery store a short walk. Bus[ THE BONESHAKER] near front of hotel takes you everywhere. The majority of staff and local people really want the tourists to have a good time......... I will go back!

Room Tip: Plan in advance and call the resort if you are renting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegTzippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    664
    291
    147
    97
See reviews for
634
729
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. We upgraded to a suite with a kitchenette so we had a fridge, stove and a coffee maker and everything you would need for cooking. Dish soap was supplied but you have to supply your own coffee. One thing we didnt like is our room was a little walk to the main pool and beach and backed to the service alley which got a little noisy. When we first arrived they put us in a room with a king bed when we needed two beds. Made one phone call and we had our room changed within a few minutes. The pools were a little chilly. Beds and pillows were comfy. Not a lot of water pressure in the shower, but in all the years we have been going to Mexico that seems to always be the case. We didnt do the all-inclusive because we always go to the malecon area for dinners. The restaurants at the resort were a little pricey. One dislike was having to pay for wireless access. $12/day! Just ridiculous! Other than that it was a very nice, quiet resort. Definitely not the place to go if you are looking for a party place.

Room Tip: Make sure to check where the front and back of the room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The resort and serive was great. Great location next to downtown. Housekeeping was great. However, I wish they would not allow all the sales by locals on the beach. I would deffinately reccomend the resort to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, co
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our 'home in Mexico'. Have been coming here for about 20 years. Beautiful beach, restaurant on the beach, friendly waiters, bell-boys. Looking for a restaurant? Just ask the bell-boys at the front desk. Each time we arrive we are greeted with hugs. Excellent service in every way. Look out for the breakfast buffet. It's addictive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were overwhelmed with the beautiful view from our balcony overlooking the Mexican Riveria. Our overall first reaction was , OMG! To our surprise, we not only had one hughe balcony overlooking the ocean, but two nice sized decks overlooking the pool and garden court. We also had two full bathrooms with big, deep soaking tubs . The two king size beds were very comfortable. We also had a queen pull out sofa in the TV room.
Each of the bedrooms with the king beds had a large TV so no one had to sacrafice their favorite programs.
We also had 2 kitchens with stovetop, full size refrig and 2 microwaves.

Our deck also had a private hot tub on the main deck overlooking the ocean.

The many restuarants , and the two pools were wonderful when we just wanted to relax.
The massage was one of our more decadent splurges on our vacation. The lovely tent overlooking the ocean with gentle ocean breezes helped us relax. It was well worth the money. I think it was $ 60 for a one hour massage. It is best to visit the massage spa in the hotel to arrange your massage because they do have special offers. (also massage in the hotel spa if weather is not the best)
Water aroebics are also available each day.
We opted out of all inclusive meals, because we perfer to experience fo dinning at different restuarants in the lovely Puerto Vallarta. We were walking distant to Banks, and our favorite restaurant La Leche.
We were right on the bus line and did take the bus a couple of times to explore the city.
We felt very safe, and never gave it thought to explore the downtown, walking the Melacon (broadwalk) in the evening.
Viva La Puerto Vallarta, we will be back!
Marilyn G
Plymouth, Mn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on a deal booked online, which of course included the timeshare promo; so we wasted a half day on that, because we were not interested in the least. But it did get us a discount on the Rhythms of the Night show, which was a fun evening dinner & show, i'd recommend it. The room was great, comfortable bed, balcony overlooking the pool, and - bonus - a bathtub, not that common in Mexican hotels. We had a kitchenette & ate in most of the time, did not try the resort restaurants. Pools & hot tubs are great, they had some programmed activities but not too noisy. This resort has a narrow little strip of beach, so it's hard to get a spot there. Overall good value for what we needed (we were not really on vacation, just needed a comfortable place to stay while our sailboat was out of the water).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Villa del Palmar for a week, not all-inclusive, on a good trade through Interval. The grounds were lovely and sparklingly clean. Our room was kept very clean, and was well-stocked with toiletries at all times. Maids even washed our plates and cups, which we did not anticipate they would do.

We ate no meals at the resort, but did buy a few bottles of water from the bar for three dollars a pop, plus tip! The bartender chased down my husband for a larger tip for handing him a bottle of water! Other than that and the recurring timeshare pressure, the employees at the resort were friendly and helpful.

The pools close at 11pm, but the hot tubs close at 10pm. To me it seems they should both be open until 11pm.

We did not see many other younger couples there, and also not vary many pairs or groups of singles. Mostly middle-aged and older couples, and a few families.

We enjoyed most the location convenient to bus service and the grocery store (Soriana) across the street. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom suite, #2518, had a balcony facing the pool, with a more-distant view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusvslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
4.8 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#6 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Valla...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
1.8 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing