We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was worst I've seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff was worst I've seen”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Came to Mexico to relax and have a good time. Found out first night that staff was going to not let me do either. There is a discrepancy between expedia and the hotel on how many people are allowed in each room. We got stopped at security gate first night and said we have too many people for our room and that "visiting" hours were over. They gave us no options when trying to resolve matter and had no sympathy when I stated someone would be homeless for a night. Shame on staff for not being considerate and shame on management for not empowering employees

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    768
    330
    170
    107
See reviews for
798
874
85
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We joined friends who had time share weeks and have been coming down for over 15 years to this resort and to be honest, weren't expecting a lot based upon the reviews. We would have given it 5 stars but have to knock off a bit for the time share hustling. The Room: We had a standard studio which comes with an adequate kitchenette; only downside was the freezer compartment which only fit two ice cube trays; (I did note that the 1 bedroom has a full size freezer.) Kitchen was stocked well with dishes, pots, pans, etc. The king size bed was very comfortable with ample pillows to select from. bathroom was nice size with deep and large tub. Nice italian toiletries as well. The balconies all come with 4 chairs and a table so you can either dine or entertain on the deck. The room was always immaculately cleaned although the times varied by quite a bit as to when they would clean.
Staff: Everyone was super super nice and helpful. Did not see one frownie.
Grounds: These were beautifully maintained- lots of tropical flowers and just so beautiful. Main pool was surprisingly deep- use the pool near the beach if you have little ones. The staff will help you set up chairs and umbrellas on the beach if you get out there early in the am; just be sure to tip them!
Food: Ate at the Mexican restaurant had great guac and margaritas. Good waitstaff for the beach and pool- there are two "happy hours"- at noon and then again at 4 or 5; they come around and let you know! Buffet breakfast was plentiful. If you go between 7 and 8 you get a two for one which makes it a good deal. Omelet station, all kinds of fruit, fresh squeezed juices, hashbrowns, chiliquiles, etc. We did not attend any of the shows/dinners at night but heard good things from others. There are some gas grills you can use but need to sign up to reserve your time in the healthclub.
Hubby used the club every morning, he reported good equipment, busy early in am but pretty open in the afternoon.
The lobby is the best place to be assured of wi-fi connection, it was nice to see all the guests hanging out and reading or on their Ipads. Cozy and relaxed feeling.

The average ages of the guests was truly the retired set; we are younger but we did not mind this as it was quiet early at night and no obnoxious behaviors. And most were very friendly and there was a lot of visiting going on with people coming down for years and staying for weeks at a time.

The resort is a quick cab ride from the airport and within close walking distance to the grocery store (Sorianos) and a bus stop outside to go downtown to stroll the Malecon at night and watch the sun go down with a few cocktails. Great restaurant selection in the romantica (sp?) zone. You can catch the bus back - 6.5 pesos per trip.

The weather was perfect; saw whales and dolphins in the bay while sitting on the beach, nights cooled off a bit but a light sweater or jacket is all you need. We are definitely going to come back here next year.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a pool or ocean view when you check in- can't hurt to ask!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank montanasophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great time, perfect weather and the staff is awesome.
Cynthia and Elis decorated my daughters room for her 30th birthday with balloons and a towel cake! Fresh flowers, it was awesome! Melanie received a bottle of Champaigne to celebrate! The Activity staff was amazing with their nightly shows - wish they would have been longer but it was awesome a must see! Isaias, Paula, Maria, and the other dancers were great!
wish they had a place for having a drink and listening to music so we could dance some - but food was good, people very helpful and guided us to where to shop and where to not shop. We would go to this resort again -
The only other thing their 90 minute presentation cost us a 1/2 of a day -- Oscar was very good but we didn't buy in -
The staff works very heard to make our vacation dreams come true -

Room Tip: 1808 over looking the beach and the grounds - whale watching, dolphin watching from our deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful property, but beach area is very small. The 3 pools are wonderful, service was great and food delicious. Our room on the other hand - yikes! Stained tile grout, mildew smell in 2nd bedroom, rusty washer & dryer. We were put in an end room, right next to the public bathroom and the main kitchen for the 2 restaurants. We were with owners, and were disappointed in the acommodations we were given. Saw other rooms & they were very nice.

Room Tip: Check the room before you settle in - if not to your liking - ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resortlady54828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we were there for 6 days and all the time was great! Excellent service, unbelievably great food, beautiful grounds.
the staff is sooo nice and warm and they help you always... one day in the morning i was just craving and I wanted an smothie of an specif fruit and they got me the fruit and made an smothie for me! that was just lovely!!
the beach is awesome! their acuatic center with free sports is awesome you can kayak for hours!
for small families like us is great beacuse you are always close to each other there is no 10 pools were you can get lost and not so many restaurants to get decided!
ambient is fabulous at nigths! they have shows worthy of great resorts in the mayan riviera!
do not miss the opportunity of going to VALLARta adventures! we did zipline and was absolute amazing!!
june was very very hot! avoid this time! but maybe march- april! perfect! altouhg the water in june was delicous the beach is so warm and i could stay hours there.. kids loved the sea!
the SPA is very nice!! =) and not so expensive as in other mexican beaches!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemaha, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Villa del Palmar Beach Resort was PERFECT! Excellent service, unbelievably great food, beautiful grounds, and I'm going there again as soon as I can! The weather was incredible in February! Just sitting around the pool reading and waiting for "happy hour" was pure bliss. Try the "Miami Vice" drink (Pina Colada and strawberry Daquri) yum!

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room by the road--you won't sleep a wink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We first bought at Villa del Palmar over two decades ago. We have enjoyed our many vacations there and sharing the experience with our friends who accompany us. The staff is one of the most personable and gracious we have experienced. The facilities are situated on a nice stretch of the Bay of Banderas where one can easily get in a mile-long walk along the ocean. The restaurants serve some of the best food we've found in resorts and a variety that ranges from traditional Mexican to Italian and sea food.
Whether you're a single couple or a family, the resort is a great place to relax and enjoy Mexico's Pacific treasure, Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: If possible request a one-bedroom with a kitchen. It's nice to have the added space, the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPatric818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,594 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing