We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great time, perfect weather and the staff is awesome.
Cynthia and Elis decorated my daughters room for her 30th birthday with balloons and a towel cake! Fresh flowers, it was awesome! Melanie received a bottle of Champaigne to celebrate! The Activity staff was amazing with their nightly shows - wish they would have been longer but it was awesome a must see! Isaias, Paula, Maria, and the other dancers were great!
wish they had a place for having a drink and listening to music so we could dance some - but food was good, people very helpful and guided us to where to shop and where to not shop. We would go to this resort again -
The only other thing their 90 minute presentation cost us a 1/2 of a day -- Oscar was very good but we didn't buy in -
The staff works very heard to make our vacation dreams come true -

Room Tip: 1808 over looking the beach and the grounds - whale watching, dolphin watching from our deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful property, but beach area is very small. The 3 pools are wonderful, service was great and food delicious. Our room on the other hand - yikes! Stained tile grout, mildew smell in 2nd bedroom, rusty washer & dryer. We were put in an end room, right next to the public bathroom and the main kitchen for the 2 restaurants. We were with owners, and were disappointed in the acommodations we were given. Saw other rooms & they were very nice.

Room Tip: Check the room before you settle in - if not to your liking - ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resortlady54828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we were there for 6 days and all the time was great! Excellent service, unbelievably great food, beautiful grounds.
the staff is sooo nice and warm and they help you always... one day in the morning i was just craving and I wanted an smothie of an specif fruit and they got me the fruit and made an smothie for me! that was just lovely!!
the beach is awesome! their acuatic center with free sports is awesome you can kayak for hours!
for small families like us is great beacuse you are always close to each other there is no 10 pools were you can get lost and not so many restaurants to get decided!
ambient is fabulous at nigths! they have shows worthy of great resorts in the mayan riviera!
do not miss the opportunity of going to VALLARta adventures! we did zipline and was absolute amazing!!
june was very very hot! avoid this time! but maybe march- april! perfect! altouhg the water in june was delicous the beach is so warm and i could stay hours there.. kids loved the sea!
the SPA is very nice!! =) and not so expensive as in other mexican beaches!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Villa del Palmar Beach Resort was PERFECT! Excellent service, unbelievably great food, beautiful grounds, and I'm going there again as soon as I can! The weather was incredible in February! Just sitting around the pool reading and waiting for "happy hour" was pure bliss. Try the "Miami Vice" drink (Pina Colada and strawberry Daquri) yum!

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room by the road--you won't sleep a wink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We first bought at Villa del Palmar over two decades ago. We have enjoyed our many vacations there and sharing the experience with our friends who accompany us. The staff is one of the most personable and gracious we have experienced. The facilities are situated on a nice stretch of the Bay of Banderas where one can easily get in a mile-long walk along the ocean. The restaurants serve some of the best food we've found in resorts and a variety that ranges from traditional Mexican to Italian and sea food.
Whether you're a single couple or a family, the resort is a great place to relax and enjoy Mexico's Pacific treasure, Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: If possible request a one-bedroom with a kitchen. It's nice to have the added space, the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPatric818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I truly LOVED the hospitality at this resort. Everyone was AMAZING! The property is older but the way that we were treated makes up for that. The staff could not do enough for us. The location is great & it is very easy to get round. We would like to THANK Cecilia who checked us in. The housekeeping department, the Breeze Spa Staff, the staff member at the gym, & all the the staff members at the restaurant:: Etelvina, Eriberto, Celestino, Victor, Javier, Alonso, & Ricardo.
They really went out of their way to make our dining experience, EXCEPTIONAL.

PLEASE work on getting the WI-FI connection better in the rooms. Hopefully, this will improve with the upgrades that are coming.

We would definitely go back to this very same location.

Room Tip: We had the studio room. It was nice, however I would have preferred the ocean view, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I knew the resort was "old" and quiet like the majority of the guests ( 60 years old and more) ... I could deal with that,no problem.

When we check in the room we were supposed to have was not available and they move us to an other one. Our room was on the Main Street (noisy!!!) and the view of our balcony was on A.C. machine on top of a kitchen ( with the noise too !) We realized after one night , if we shut the door between the bathroom and our bed, it was not less noisy but that saved us to smell the odor of gaz ! We asked to be moved , they showed us an other room, and it was not better. In our bathroom , we had two choice `HOT WATER or F**** HOT WATER. no cold one !. Once again we complained. The front desk sent somebody to check that but did'nt work . Try to shower with only burning water.... and cockroaches in the bathtub during night!!!!! On top of that , we are close of the Garbage room of the hotel , every day we had the show with the truck !

Villa del Palmar is clean and close to downtown. That's it. On internet , they said "we dont have buffet but 5 restaurants" ... Actually it's 3 , the 4th one is the service around the pool because we have to ordered everything and sign a bill every time ( and tips of course!). We had choice of Mexican or Italian at night... for an ALL INCLUSIVE is a lot desappointing for choice but food was good. After a week we get tired of those restaurants. When we arrived , we received a list of all the stuff NOT INCLUDED in our all inclusive. Example: Special night are not included ( You know the kind of FREE show every resort give usually, we had to pay for that and to access the special dinner-buffet.)We had to pay for jumbo shrimps and other cuts of meat or sea food and wine. Were is the all-inclusive ?

And finally, if you decided after all to go with Villa Del Palmar, be advised of the PRESSURED SALE for timeshare. Plan to loose a big amount of time with them and if you follow them too their other hotel (Flamingos) it will be almost impossible to escape with class and diplomacy. You will received a "fantastic card" who will save you money for trip etc ... it's a BIG BIG RIP OFF !

I was very sad after all, worst vacations ever... and very expensive with WEST JET VACATION ! It was our first trip in Mexico and probably the last one, we will continue to travel the "EAST COAST" without ALL those problems

Room Tip: Avoid building C who give on Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pinkgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,950 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,589 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $74 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing