We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful, relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Lac La Biche, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, relaxation”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just spent 14 very peaceful days at this wonderful resort. We did not take the all inclusive package. The location is great with easy access (walking distance) to all types of shopping (a block to the nearest mall), and eating establishments. The facility is older but very well maintained, very clean and attractive. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Three pools to choose from as we'll as the beach, for lounging. The pool farthest from the beach is the quietest. We will definitely stay here again. The only negative comment I have is the parrot needs to go. It is loud in the mornings.

Room Tip: I have found that the rooms away from the pools are much quieter than those facing the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    782
    344
    178
    111
See reviews for
793
898
89
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were celebrating our 30th Anniversary and was looking for just the right spot to land, this was the place!! The location was fabulous, close to airport and the service was great. The place was clean, excellent restaurants on site (though only a few) and the beach...OLE! However a trip to the Malecon (10-15 minute bus ride) is a must where you can find all the food you want along with 1$ Coronas & Margarita's, OLE #2! Keep walking to old town, watch the sunset and head to Andela's to sing the Alice song...what a blast!

Room Tip: Look for a room towards the beach and on either one of the top 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was a little sceptical , after reading all the reviews about the time share sharks and people getting extra cahrges upon checkout, but I was pleasantly suprised, the time share we visited, at the Flamingo was WOW, and I ceratinly do wish we could be part of something this extravagant. Financially this just does not fit us at this time, and after we bowed out of the sales presentation, they understood. and left us alone to enjoy the rest of our week. Which we totally did. This is a resort for retired people for sure and being mid 50's myself I was great with the freindly relaxed atmosphere. The food was wonderful, and yes a little on the high priced. but we had paid ahead for an all inclusive, so really felt that we got more than what we paid for.. All the people from yard workers to maids to waiters are very nice and seemed happy in what they were doing. The restarant staffs and weighters move nonstop and never let your drink get empty without offering more. I would only change one thing and that is to maybe check into the theme nights, we did not partake , since we thought it was not included, but still had a very awsome time. Everything about this resort was great . maybe not for families so much , but totally nice and relaxing for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa del Mar (a smaller, older building on the Villa del Palmar property) from January 19-26, 2013. Although we travel frequently to Mexico, this was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta, so we didn't know really what to expect. Check-in at the main lobby of Villa del Palmar was easy, however they put us in a room with two double beds instead of a king bed, which is what our reservation called for. The double beds were too small for both of us to on sleep comfortably together, so the next day we asked to change our room to one with a king bed. They immediately switched us with no questions asked.

Our second floor room overlooked the pool at Villa del Mar, and with lush tropical plants, palm trees and green grass, we found it very inviting, and spent a lot of time on our balcony just people watching. The property has two pools; this one is smaller, but very nice and well-kept. Many older folks tended to stay at this pool, which was quiet and relaxing. But you have to be early to either pool to get a chair because, although there are many, they do go quickly. They even had a giant shuffleboard game near the pool. There were theme parties in the courtyard about 3 or 4 of the nights we were there ranging from Mexican to Burlesque to Arabian themes, and more. What was nice about that was we could watch the show and enjoy the music from our room without paying for the dinner! he he

We didn't do the all-inclusive because we like to try different restaurants around town, not necessarily sticking to the options at our home resort. However, the food at the property was very good, especially in the Mexican restaurant and no more expensive than we would expect. We live in Las Vegas for crying out loud and it's very expensive to eat out there! And we usually vacation to Cabo and it's very expensive to eat there, too! They also have fantastic pizzas that they make and cook in their own stone oven, which is at Villa del Palmar in one of the pool area restaurants so you can see them prepare it. If you don't want to fuss with going to a restaurant or forgot your toothbrush or shampoo or even your bathing suit, there is Las Palmitas, a small deli and grocery store attached to the property at Villa del Mar that is well-stocked with liquor, beach wear, snacks, beer, sodas, juices, toiletries and the like. The deli food there was fantastic, very reasonably priced and made from scratch when you order. However, I DO NOT recommend buying liquor there! A fifth of Jack Daniels will run you close to $70 US! Do yourself a favor and take a $4, five-minute cab to Wal-Mart and get it for about $30 US. Wal-Mart and Sam's Club are both close so we picked up some snacks, alcohol and coffee for our room (since you will be charged to use the coffee packets after the first day).

I should mention: at Las Palmitas there are timeshare sellers hanging around the entrance and they'll ask you every time you go in or out if you've been to the presentation at Flamingos yet (another Villa Group property). Just tell them you're members or you've already done the presentation and they won't bother you.

If you've ever been to Vegas, you know the cab fares are outrageous. Cabs in Puerto Vallarta were surprisingly inexpensive; about a quarter of what you'd pay in Las Vegas. Also, when we checked in, we were given a sheet of fares, either taxi, bus or larger van, so we knew what we were supposed to be charged. The only time we paid way more than we should've was from the airport and we didn't know any better, having not navigated that one before. We paid $20 for what should've been an $8 taxi fare. But no big deal; we paid the correct fare on the way back.

We loved the downtown area, especially at the Malecon, where the art culture is rich and full of history. People dress up in incredible sand costumes from angels to gladiators to men playing chess to superheroes. And there are beautiful sand sculptures by local artists that sit on the beach and change every day with the tide. We took two excursions: one was a city tour and the other was called Rhythms of the Night. Both were very different from each other, but fantastic and wonderful cultural experiences! Can you say Tequila Factory?!?!

All in all, our experience was great, from the staff (bellhop Julio, bartenders Eduardo and Alfredo) to the food to the adventures and wandering; everyone was very helpful and friendly. We'll definitely go again, to see the friends we made there and new ones we'll make in the future!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Villa del Mar, where we stayed, overlook the pool so there's not a bad view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, wi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice resort. Excellent vacation as well. I do not advise the all inclusive package at all. It is very easy and inexpensive to get around to the downtown, the marina, and especially the romantic zone (the old town area). The restaurants we were at were excellent and inexpensive. A special shout out to Julio, our bell person. He was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions about things away from the resort.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this resort from Jan 21 to Jan 28. We arrived at noon, the lady at the counter informed us that the all inclusive didn't start until 1pm. So for an hour we are suppose to pay for our drinks? We expected like most resorts that they should welcome you with a drink! It made our first impression of this resort a negative one.
Once we received our room key we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice with a beautiful view! We were in room 3324.
The resort itself is very clean and well kept. All of the staff were very friendly. There is 2 pools, one heated and the other refreshing! If you are young and looking for a place to party this will not be a resort for you. This resort shuts down by 11pm. It is amazingly quiet. If you are looking for some quality R&R this is the place for you.
Let's talk about the food. The food is very good BUT I prefer buffets and didn't like ordering off a menu for lunch and supper.
As for the timeshare people. They did not bug us constantly. They asked when we arrived if we wanted the tour and we said no. They then called twice during the week and asked how our stay was and if we changed our minds. We said no and they said okay. I don't find this high pressure.
My husband and I loved the resort but would not return based on the fact that even though the food was excellent we prefer buffets. There wasn't a snack bar and again had to order off a menu and wait.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winipeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked at the last minute and got a package for 5 days which was advertised at one price but ended up being $200 more with taxes and gratuities, which was still good for all inclusive. We had to go to a time share presentation which we were told would be 90 minutes but took much longer. The pressure wasn't too bad. Anyway, the room was nice although the view was over the parking lot. The beds were extremely comfortable and the place was clean. The food in the restaurants there was amazing and they went out out of their way to accommodate my food allergies. It was close to the big grocery store and convenient for grabbing a bus downtown. We enjoyed the quiet pool at the back which was used mainly by older people. The other pool was crowded and noisy all day with games, etc. Although it is a large hotel it was quiet and we enjoyed our stay. It has a terrific well equipped gym..Our only complaint was the $12 USD per day charge for Internet. We went to the nearby grocery store where it was free. We left there to go north to a smaller town and because the room charge rose drastically when the package ended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing