We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We just got back after a 4 night stay to celebrate our 4th anniversary. We purchased the Villa Del Palmar on Orbitz.com due to its price. We stayed for under $100 a night and got a $100 voucher for food from Orbitz. If you get that same deal, print off confirmation for supporting documentation. We did have to provide it but had no hassals when doing so.

The check in was good. We got our room early at 2 when check in is at 4. We did get asked to see the concierge and she share a few details and did ask for us to go on a presentation and we would get the Gold Card and the same $100 credit we already had. We declined and she was nice about it. Never approached by a time share again during our stay. Never felt we weren't valued as much as timeshare guests at this resort. Staff were excellent all around.

Our room was a studio suite on the ground floor of the buiding in the lobby. It was nice and the kitchen was well equipped. The only negative is we did have 2 full beds and the beds were hard.

The food and drink on the resort was ok and a bit high priced. We ate a lot off the resort at the Malecon. 55 cent bus ride or $4 taxi to downtown. Beers were $4 on the resort, but we did take aadvantage of the happy hour each evening and kept our fridge well stocked. The store on site was a bit high for groceries. There is a Gigante near by that would be a better option for food and beer. We stopped there once.

The beach was kind of small, but good. We had no problems with beach chairs. The swimming pools and hot tubs were also nice.

Overall, I think this was a good resort for the price. I think it would be ideal for families. Puerto Vallarta is great, and there are so many near by attractions. This was our 2nd time in PV, first time staying in the hotel zone. We definitley pefer it than Nuevo Vallarta due to the proximity to the Malecon.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank edkdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,256 - 2,262 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2008

We just came back from a week stay at the Villa del Palmar. We were very pleased with the facility. It was very clean and we felt very comfortable. We booked through Travelocity. After reading some of the reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. However, we felt we made the right choice. The people were friendly and accommodating.

We were approached at the airport and hotel regarding timeshares, however, after we FIRMLY indicated that we weren't interested, we weren't asked any further there. We said "no" and avoided the lobby which was easy to do. You will be approached on the beach, in the grocery store, etc. Just say "No".

We were in walking distance to the grocery store and a few eateries. We took a cab to and from the airport. Ask before getting in how much. It should only be $6-$8. Otherwise, we took the bus. The bus was only $.55 one way. Keep the little receipt they give you in case you are asked for it to prove you paid. We took the bus downtown. The downtown area has alot of places to eat, shop (including the flea market), and other entertainment. We ate at a very good italian restaurant called La Dolche Vita. We also at a local diner called Taco Rey. Very good food wherever we went. Something for everyone.

When looking to book an excursion, walk or take the bus to the marina. It's across from the WalMart. See a guy named Ernie at the stand nearest the Internet Cafe. He had the best deals and there wasn't any timeshare connected to the excursions he booked. The Internet Cafe offers internet connection - $1 an hour. They also had a phone if you needed to call to the U.S. About $.35 or $.50 a minute.

In comparison, we'd take Mexico over the Caribbean. The only thing to remember is that your no longer in the U.S. It is a different culture. But the Mexican people are very friendly.

We would recommend the Villa del Palmar.

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank RosaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We booked this vacation thru Apple Vacations Square Deal and new going in that we did not have a choice of resorts but were guaranteed a 5 apple or above all inclusive resort.

Our first complaint was that Villa Del Palmar is not all-inclusive as all the other all-inclusive resorts in PV. Breakfast was a buffet that was scarce but the food was fine. Lunch and dinner was ordering off a menu that consisted of sandwiches, fajitas or salads. I will say the food at lunch and dinner was good but who wants sandwiches for a week! I can eat hamburgers and blt's at home. Every party night etc was not included in our all-inclusive plan and was extra. soo much for our all inclusive experience.

Our 2nd complaint was the rooms. Most of the rooms at Villa Del Palmar are reserved for their time share customers. Anyone else booking a room gets the less desirable rooms overlooking the maintenance shed and right above a squawking parrot in a cage. We live in Illinois with the snow & ice in the winter and were looking soo forward to looking out at the ocean each day. This trip was an anniversary outing for us and we also got a room with two double beds (more like twin beds in the US) instead of the king room we had requested.

We tried unsuccessfully to get the Apple Rep to move us to a more all-inclusive friendly resort to no avail. We tried to get the rude front desk staff at Villa Del Palmar's front desk and Room Manager to get us a room that faced something rather than the maintenance shed but we were the lowest customers on their list since we were not their time share customers and our pleas went unanswered.

They also try to bill every guest an extra $3.50 per day extra charge for tipping the employees that are in the background and don't get compensated with tips like the maids etc. What a ripoff!

Hamburgers, twin beds, squawking parrot .... we should have rented a booth at Cheeseburger in Paradice instead of a room at Villa Del Palmar.

We did have a great time in PV without Villa Del Palmar's assistance and will return soon but we will stay far away from this hotel. It is not all-inclusive and more like a 2 star resort not a 5 apple hotel. We will also not book thru Apple Vacations again. This is our 2nd problem with our reservations thru them in the last 5 years.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Illinoistravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

After reading all the negative reviews of this place shortly before we left earlier this month, I tried to change hotels and couldn't. As it turned out, we had an enjoyable stay here.

I see many complaints about room selection. When my husband checked in, he gave the front desk person $20 along with the credit card for incidentals and requested a room overlooking the pool. That tip worked wonders as we had been assigned a room in the front part of the hotel overlooking the street. No, we shouldn't have HAD to do this but it was worth $20 bucks to have a nice location for the whole week!

The food is overpriced and just ok. But, for most seasoned travelers who are used to going out of the country, you KNOW the food will be pricey and not the same as home.

The wait staff in the restaurants, bars and beach service were OUTSTANDING! There are many people working, we had quick service and overall the staff was very attentive.

Yes, you do need to go out early to "reserve" a chair. But this is not unlike many other resorts you go to. Just put a towel and a book on the chair and you're set. You can go back to your room if you want or go eat and your chair will be untouched. Don't let this ruin your trip. It's not that big of a deal. They don't put out all the umbrellas because they can be set up wherever you put your chair. If you need an umbrella, just ask for one! I did it twice and got an umbrella each time. A small tip ($2) to the beach guy was worth it!

The room itself was clean but a little worn. Everything worked but the voicemail light on the phone. Go to Gigantes (you can walk there) to get groceries. Trips downtown are easy via the bus and it only costs 55 cents each way. Take the "centro" bus downtown and the "walmart" bus back. The bus picks up near the front of the property so it's very convenient.

Yes, people try to sell things to you on the beach. Again, if you've traveled to other countries/beach resorts this is common. If you're not interested just say "no, thank you." It's no big deal. We actually did some shopping from the folks on the beach so don't write it off until you've seen some of the stuff!

Overall the property was beautiful, well maintained, the staff friendly (we had no contact with front desk other than to check in and that went fine) and the drinks delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GRFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Just returned from a weekend in PV. This hotel was NOT what I expected. At check-in we we're told that our room was not available. So instead of having our large studio with double beds, we we're giving a standard king room over looking the front of the hotel near the street, for the first night and then would move us to our resv room the next day. The front desk staff was not polite. They did nothing to try and make-up for the fact that our room wasn't ready.

DO NOT choose the all inclusive plan. The food is very basic and it is a very small selection to choose from. Price's are pretty spendy as well. There are plenty of great restaurants downtown to eat at.

The pool is nice, but you need to wake up before the sunrise and put a towel on a chair to "reserve" your spot, otherwise you will be outta luck for the rest of the day. The beach is very crowded and the wait staff seems to forget about those on the beach. Then every couple minutes you have the locals bothering you trying to sell something.

Overall, I don't think I would stay here again. It may be a good hotel for older couples or families.There are so many other hotels in the area closer to town. The price isn't bad but stay somewhere else if you want a relaxing romantic trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamacita2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Villa Del Palmar was a beautiful resort, near downtown. The food and customer service in the resort was awesome. The rooms were in very good shape and very clean. Staff went out of their way while you were around the pools or on the beach to make sure you were comfortable and had anything you wanter. Unfortunately we did have to deal with the front desk 3 times which was rather frustrating. We ended up spending over 8 hours dealing with the front desk for a simple task. They were rude and very unhelpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacaton_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Villa del Palmar and at the Villa del Mar over the past few years. We generally experience a few problems at check in but our recent trip was the worst experience.
A very good friend of ours is a gold member of the hotel and due to illness she could not use her time share so offered it to us in her stead. We were told when we booked that we would have the same benefits as our gold card member friend, no problem.
When we arrived we were told at the front desk that the only room that was available for us was on the street side and on the 4th floor, no elevators in the building either. The room was so noisy we got very little sleep. It smelled so strongly of stale cigarettes we could not spend any amount of time in the room. We were promised a kind size bed and we got 2 double beds instead. The room looked like one of the oldest rooms in the hotel.
We immediately went down to the "gold card" member desk, only to be told that we were not the gold card members, we were only using the members room and that we were neither special or intitled to any special treatment. We requested a different room and were told that there were no other rooms available.
The couple next to us had their room changed no problem. They were even given a choice of 2 different rooms.
There were so many people lined up to complain about their rooms and not getting what they originally requested it was amazing. We spent the first 3 days arguing about the room and finally they did move us.
The "quality service" rep was in the hallway one day and we gave him all of our feedback, including the fact that the front desk people are so rude to deal with. They do not even try to be reasonable or polite or diplomatic at all. he acknowledged that they have been having a lot of problems with the hotel. The quality service rep who promised to get back to us that afternoon by 2:00 p.m. We waited for him but he never did contact us.

The front desk called one morning to ask our names and when I told them they said oh we have some other people listed as staying in that room.
It was the worst experience we have ever had at this hotel and we would not return to stay there even if it was offered to us for free. If you are looking for a hotel to stay at and you come across this one, run for the hills. Nothing but complaints from so many of the tourists who were staying there.
For us, never again!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CreativeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#67 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#35 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,952 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $88 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing