We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A once great place - but losing its style.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A once great place - but losing its style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've been going to Puerto Vallarta every February for years and have always stayed at the Palmar as we have many friends that go at the same time. The facility itself is extremely well cared for - rarely a blade of grass out of place and the service has always been excellent from the staff that have been there for years.

Where the Palmar has really changed is its budget cut backs. At one point it used to have a vibrant social activities program - contests and games and dance lessons etc - over the past few years it's all been cut out to the point where they have one activities person on and that is to play a single game of bingo at 3 pm.

The palmar's most popular feature is the massive water volleyball game that starts at 1 pm every day rain or shine. Sometimes as many as 16 players a side - its the reason many of the people go every year. ( I'm not kidding ). It's a self administered game - no employees are involved - and the ball each day is brought by an 85 year old character named Leo - a fixture of the resort that everyone knows. If you're under 50 you'll be the youngest player there most days and it's a lot of fun because everyone knows each other from playing for 20 years together - so there is lots of bantering and carrying on. They make all new comers feel very welcome - but warning - they all cheat.

The food at the palmar is very good - but recently they cancelled a lot of there specials and went to theme nights. One night they kept is a Mexican fiesta night which is very well done. The main restaurant is very good as well.

The Villa Del Palmar is not - I repeat NOT - a place where you should go if you are a young party group - the palmar is a retirement home on the beach. There is absolutely zero party here despite them having an all inclusive program. If you are going thinking it's going to be an off the hook all inclusive great time like typical Mexican all included concepts you will be horribly disappointed. ( a shapely young woman in a bikini here is a very rare sight - 70 year old men in speedos though is quite common )

It is a great place to take your family with small kids. It's on the beach - although not very good for swimming as there is a major rip tide as well as problems with jelly fish and rocks. The pools are warm and well cared for - but quiet. The one pool off towards the beach is like a library where you can literally hear a pin drop - and the seniors sunning themselves around it will get quite upset if someone was to break their silence.

The palmar is a time share resort as well as hotel - and as one reviewer said - their salesman are a problem. They will try to get you to see a presentation for a discont card upon arrival - just be firm and tell them you are not interested.

The location of the palmar is right in the hotel zone. It's close to shopping - Sorianas is the main grocery store a few blocks south, and its a five dollar cab ride to Walmart. The neighborhood is very safe leaving the resort is normal and fun. there is an excellent Outback restaurant two blocks south and a Starbucks the same direction about a block and a half. It's also a short cab ride to old town where there are many amazing restaurants. If you go to the marina for dinner - the there are many excellent restaurants wrapping the harbor.

Hopefully the owners of the Palmar read this and quit with the cutbacks At the hotel as it really is a great place but they're guilty of trying to save a penny everywhere they can while increasing their rates.

Room Tip: The Palmar is notorious for overbooking and will put unsuspecting guests in the streetside area of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank webcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    731
    319
    160
    101
See reviews for
719
819
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband stayed here during december 2011. The hotel itself is in a great location. Easy to catch the bus to downtown, close to the marina and marine terminal. The resort itself is quite dated and very very quiet. The time share people are very annoying and quite persistent and you just have to keep saying no. I would not stay here again as i would prefer a hotel that is more modern and next vacation we will stay at their sister resort in Nuevo Vallarta which is very beautiful and has a much nicer beach.

Room Tip: If they put you at the back of the hotel in the main building just tell them you want to change room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piscesrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of a time share promotion. We had a wonderful time. The room was okay but who wants to stay in the room? The staff, food, grounds, etc. were great. We would go back again.

One word of caution. The other time share folks are all over the place. Beware!

I love Puerta Vallarta

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Thanks to all the staff who helped make our trip so great. Each of your smiles and professional service made our trip memorable. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were comfortable. The food was great. Room service and house keeping were above standards. Beach service was a highlight for our family. We enjoyed each other on the beach while being served refreshing food and cocktails. Beach volleyball, paddle boarding, and boogie boarding made each day a blast. Each person working from the time we landed to when we left was exceptional. Thanks for the memories Puerto Vallarta!!!

Room Tip: If you have kids get a pool facing, ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was our first all inclusive and first time to PV. We had booked through LS and got a good deal for 5 nights. Having only done cruises before where we only signed for drinks it was annoying to have to sign every time, but this didn't stop us from having a good time. We were anticipating a big sell on the timeshare thing but some how lucked out as it was barely even mentioned. The resort as many said is dated but the rooms are clean. We really enjoyed the "older" crowd as it meant that you didn't have to worry about being kept awake. There was a slight delay in getting to our room but it ended up working out as we were moved to the main building. This allowed me to get wifi access from the room. The $40 for 5 days may seem steep for others but I am used to paying 10-15 per day at hotels in the states. If I had not needed to login for work - the price may have helped me to disconnect for a few days. The staff was very friendly and willing to go that extra mile (particularly Francisco and Joaquin).
I don't think this resort will be a fit for every traveler but it was perfect for us (30/40yr olds - no kids). If we wanted more activities or partying - we could have found it in town. This was perfect for hanging out at the pool, taking a trip into the downtown and relaxing on the beach. The massage included in our package was awesome. I am a picky eater and while the food was not the best - I was always able to find something to eat. If I could have just eaten the guacamole for every meal, I would have. It was that GOOD! I would recommend this resort to others and if we go back to PV again - this would be on our list.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and I just returned from Villa Del Palmat in Puerto Vallarta and we both were very impressed with the hotel service, the food, the room and the general ambiance of the place. We were treated extremely well by each and every staff member we came in contact with!

On the time sharing front, we felt that the time share manager was no less than a boor! The time share salesman was very pleasant. Just remember that you must go to the 90 min timeshare presentation or you will be charged an additional $480 per person. The presentation is not at all bad but as I said, if you don't buy, the timeshare manager is very rude. I would not have expected this from such a nice place.

So overall, yes I would strongly recommend Villa Del Palmar

Room Tip: Review it first. Possibly get one overlooking the pool on the 4 th plus floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Flying from the SF Bay area, just three and half hours direct and a very pleasant flight. Haven't been in PV for about 20 years, we were anxious for a great vacation. However at our arrival in PV and in spite we had paid in advance a shuttle ($14 US each) to get us out immediately, we didn’t see our driver with the names at the waiting area, so we continue to walk toward the grown transportation area. We made a mistake of asking where the shuttles parked so we could walk in the right direction. Big mistake! We literally got attack by a swarming of time share sales people all posing as reps of the Villa Del Palmar and bouncing us over to another ones, like Ping-Pong balls; finally the last person at the counter’ door was the rep of the resort’ with a name tag. We got the sales pitch from her and at that point, if I had a million dollars with me, I would have given it to her just to get me out and to the hotel. Horrible experience!

She did lead the way to a cab and sends us toward our destination. Then, at the exit door, we saw our names posted by the shuttle.

At our arrival to the resort, was a total different story. Bell boys, registration desk and all the personnel were very sympathetic and eager to help and send us to our room. From day one and the following two weeks, everyone at the resort was incredible helpful, pleasant, good variety of daily activities and night entertainment. The beach with white sand, a pleasure to toast in the sun; good service both around the pools and the beach and the restaurants with a good variety of Italian and Mexican cuisine; our favorite, the seafood platter at Equipales.

On the downside, we broke a rule for the first time; out of desperation at the airport we agreed to attend the timeshare meeting; big mistake; is like going to buy a used car at the near lot. Yes, they gave us the perks promised, but the time and pressure, not worth the effort. First and last time!

Would we choose or recommend this Resort for a future vacation? Absolutely yes; well situated, extremely good service, well kept grounds, all city buses at almost the door, small grocery, pharmacy and boutique all in one in the complex, laundry room, Wi-Fi at $11 at day, and international, domestic phone call very expensive about $2.50 US p/m. Bring your own service or buy a card.

Two short blocks away, is a shopping center with grocery store (every hour hot fresh heavenly bread,) fresh produce and good variety of wines. A mile away north, Wal-Mart and Sams Club, Costco,and a beautiful shopping center,with good restaurants. The near hotels beaches like the Buganvillia Sheraton, connect pretty easy, you can even walk to the PV downtown from the Resort.

Love Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank genericglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing