We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Velas Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
$331
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$257
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$132
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$449
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$422
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,908)
Filter reviews
3,908 results
Traveler rating
2,920
713
170
58
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,920
713
170
58
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riberaandrea restaurantaqua barroom servicebedroom suiteguest servicescasino nighttime sharemexican fiestabeautiful resortwater aerobicsall inclusive packageour waitercity tourpool sideping pongclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
3,246 - 3,251 of 3,908 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2007

The disingenuous representation of "Hotel Orientation" (at the airport Velas Vallarta booth) is a scam to have unsuspecting people attend a 90 minute "Presentation" at the hotel to encourage purchase of Time Shares.
Please refer to the US FTC and [--] websites to find out about the pitfalls of Time Share purchases, especially in Mexico.
When we declined such a "Presentation" a female employee of the resort was verbally loudly abrasive to us.
A complaint to the assist. manager provided no recourse - he was indifferent, insensitive and uncaring, despite being in the vicinity of the situation.
Our initial accommodation was substandard - the General Manager very graciously addressed our concerns and provided us with the accommodations we expected and also provided a private cocktail party for our family and complimentary tickets to the New Year's party which was very well organized and enjoyable.
First time visitors to Puerto Vallarta need to be advised to NOT stop at the gauntlet of booths through which one exits the airport - this is where the scam about Time Shares begin.

Stayed: December 2006
8  Thank zerotolerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

This was a perfect resort! The food was the best all inclusive I have ever had, and I am a travel agent! Highly recommend! They have a 5star restaurant on site with the best steak, seafood and Italian food! They do not charge more for steak or seafood like you find at other hotels. The pool side service is fast! If you are tired of the pool snack/grill you can order take out from the 5star restaurant for lunch. 24room service (which is hard to find) You can even order bottles of wine! Which was wonderful - huge bonus! Many offsite dining options - ask a waiter about it, they dont advertise about them! Beautiful beach, but the current is strong!! But the pool makes up for it. Midsize property, which is great! Close to the marina for shops, 10min bus/taxi to DT. We 1st had a suite w/two double beds, which was nice, but we were told we'd have a 2 bedroom suite... then they upgraded us the next day to a 2bedroom suite on top floor - which had breathtaking views! I cant wait to go back and bring the kids! LOVED IT! recommend the all inclusive option or you can always add it on when you arrive. The timeshare prices are pretty good too!

Stayed: December 2006
10  Thank jennifertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

This was our second trip to Velas and we loved it.

- Check In/Out - very fast, no glitches, we got the room we requested.
- Staff - try very hard to please you, smile and be polite and you will get the same in return. They really appreciate you trying to speak Spanish and are more than willing to help you learn.
- Grounds - clean and well groomed. I was amazed at how many staff were working at 7 am to get the walkways swept and the chairs and pool area set up.
- Room - we were on the top floor of building 3 (facing downtown). The room was comfortable. My only complaint about the room was that we could hear clunking noises at night and in the early morning. We were 2 rooms away from the elevator and decided that it was either the elevator going up and down the shaft or something on the roof. A $9.00 fan from Walmart solved the problem by blocking out the noise.
- Maid service - on the weekend it wasn't as great-a lot of sand left on the floor but during the week it was excellent. We always left money and a small gift. We only got turn down service 3 out of the 7 days we were there and that was at 6pm while we were getting ready for dinner.
- Food - excellent. Never get bored because there is lots of variety. If you want something that's not on the menu, just ask for it, they will do their best to please you. The dessert/ice cream bar was a big hit. There is a cooler/display case by the beach restaurant with about 12 different desserts and 6 different ice creams. Excellent!! We enjoyed the food so much we never bothered eating at Casa Velas like we planned on.
- Beach - great for walking in both directions. The waves were pretty strong for swimming or small children. Never had a problem getting loungers on the beach or pool area - even in the afternoon. They seem to have added more chairs from last year. Bar service was excellent at the beach and the waiter would even bring you lunch if you asked.
- Crowd - there was a mixed crowd but most seemed to be middle aged couples. Not much nightlife at this resort so it doesn't seem to attract the young party crowd as much as other resorts.

My biggest complaint would have to be the beach vendors. Yes they were friendly and only trying to make a living but the same vendor would be back every 20 minutes asking you if you wanted to buy something. Once or twice a day from each vendor is enough but it got to the point where you had to say 'no gracias' every 10 minutes. The annoying part was that if you were reading a book or sleeping they would wake you up to ask you. I knew we could get away from them by sitting around the pool, but I have a pool at home and I go to Mexico to sit on the beach and listen to the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Randy_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We (2 people) stayed at Velas from 1/6/07 through 1/13/07 (minus a few days in the middle spent at Grand Velas--a sister resort). Overall, the resort is very nice. The rooms, although appointed with the typical Mexican fluorescent lights and relatively sparse furnishings, were clean, and the 1 bedroom suite was quite large (included a full kitchen and large balcony too). If you do not enjoy fluorescent lights, be prepared to bring your own light bulbs or cover the lamps with towels.

Check in was relatively painless. Although our room was not ready at the designated check in time, we were happy to sit at Andrea restaurant for awhile (try the "Oriental Tacos"). All of the staff was extremely helpful and eager to make guests as comfortable as possible. The language barrier was, of course, noticeable, but much less formidable than other resorts in Mexico at which we have stayed.

The pool and beach areas were clean and it was never too difficult to find a seat. It was also never hard to find a server eager to get us a drink or snack. The waves were pretty harsh during our stay, so it might not always be the best surf for young children.

The only other downside (from our perspective) was the number of children running about. We rather expected it, so we cannot complain too much. And they were not really that bad. The resort is already relatively small (in terms of rooms), so it was not as though there were children around every corner.

We have one additional comment/suggestion: if you can, splurge for Velas's sister resort Grand Velas, which is down the road in Nueva Vallarta. It was more expensive, but worth every penny. There were very few children and everything (rooms, service, restaurants, beach, etc.) were a few very noticeable notches higher in quality.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank DBNY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We loved Puerto Vallarta and would definitely stay at Velas Vallarta again. The trip from the airport was maybe 10 minutes. We didn't have to wait on a room, we got there at 1:00 and moved right in. We had a 3 bedroom suite that was awesome - everything had been updated, new furniture, nice TV's, full kitchen, VERY comfortable beds. There was a huge terrace overlooking the pool with a view of the ocean and mountains across the bay. Request a room with a view when you check in. All of the rooms have terraces overlooking at least one of the 3 pools, but there are several buildings which would not have a view of the ocean. The food was just OK. Breakfast and lunch were better than dinner. Service from the wait staff at the restaurants was not great but it was tolerable, we just had to wait a while between times that they would ask if we needed more drinks, etc. but it was Christmas week and the resort was packed. Service from the pool waiters was awesome, give your waiter 20 bucks when you sit down in the morning and he will take great care of you all day! Hector even brought us drinks to our room late one afternoon when we were sitting out on the balcony after we had gone inside, a little tipping goes a long way. We never ate at either of the restaurants at the sister resorts. We ordered room service for breakfast almost every day. The room was stocked with beer, snacks, bottled water, orange juice, milk, cereal, fruit, bread, and soft drinks and you could get a bottle of wine from the bar for the room. It was restocked daily, we only had to call for re-stocking once. Maid service was unbelieveable, she must have spent 90 minutes in our suite every day. Some days she didn't get there until 4 or 5:00, but she spent a long time in every room and it was worth it. they also do turn down service every night. The grounds and pool areas are beautiful and the beach is also nice. One pool has a swim-up bar. The resort was crowded so you had to get out to the pool early if you wanted to get a table and chairs/lounges. There are a few iguanas around the pool and a few times they wanderd in the pool for a swim or walked around the chairs, the kids all love that. I read a few other reviews where people complained about the planes taking off from the airport being loud because it's so close, but they never bothered us. I would trade the short trip in the cab to and from the airport to the resort for the 7 or 8 airplanes taking off a day anytime. There are lots of nice resorts on the other side of downtown from the airport, but they would be at least an hour ride or longer. This one is in the Marina area and it's so convenient, it's awsome. We took a cab to town 3 times and each time it was only $6 - you can't beat that! If you want to shop for cheap stuff, go to the flea market on the Isla Cuale don't shop in town. Everything in town is very expensive. Don't go to the bullfights, they are disgusting. Definitely go on the Los Veranos Canopy Tour (that specific company). The staff there is awesome and there is a great restaurant and bar at the base of the mountian, it was the best food we ate the whole trip. We also ate out in town 3 nights - go to the Blue Shrimp and eat the shrimp, don't order anything else - nothing else was as good as the shrimp and it was great! Someone from home recommended PiPi's in town for authentic Mexican food, but we didn't love it. In fact all the Mexican food we had was pretty bland, even at the resort. We only had one bad experience at the resort and it was partially our fault. We lost the key to our safe and when we went to request a new one the fee to replace it was $100. That's bad enough, but our mistake was that we paid cash to the girl at the front desk and didn't get a receipt. When we checked out, the charge was on our bill. We had the manager and the girl who took the money called to the front desk and the girl stood there and denied she took it right in front of us. The manager sided with her and would not remove the charge from our bill. $100 is really minor when a party of 6 costs over $8000 to stay there for a week (even with an RCI exchange), so we didn't let it ruin the vacaction. Buy why would we lie about $100 when we already spent $8000 to stay there plus probably another $1000 in tips between the 6 of us while we were there. We said that to the manager, but he didn't care. I decided I would just dispute charge on my AMEX and let them handle it. Lesson learned - get a reciept for anything when you pay cash and I guess that should be the rule of thumb no mater where you stay. Overall it was an awesome vacation, don't think twice about it, just go there!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank TracyLynnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews