We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Busy Feb 19-26”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
124
Reviewed March 2, 2005

We recently visted Puerto Vallarta and stayed at Velas Vallarta.They had overbooked the resort and it was very very busy.They only have one(1) al la carte resturant and we had to stand in line at 6:45 am in order to get a reservation every morning. We also had to get up at 5:30 am every morning to reserve a lounge chair around the pool. We spoke to many other guests at the resort and they were very upset,as were we. They would never come back to this resort. We have been travelling for about 20 years now and this was the worst vacation ever.We would never go back to this resort!!!!!Also to top it off it was cloudly and overcast all week.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,275 - 3,281 of 3,791 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
US
1157
Reviewed February 18, 2005

We were directed at the airport to a desk assuming they were to advise us about our hotel and transportation. After asking a few questions about what we were interested in doing while in Mexico he launched into a way to get us a deal on excursions. He invited us to a 90 minute presentation and breakfast at "his hotel"(Velas Vallarta) to see why we should stay there next time in return for a half price deal on the excursion we wanted(there are other offers such as free artwork, leather jackets and $200 cash). Sounded like a good deal so we agreed and he paid our taxi fare to our hotel(NH Krystal - nice hotel). The next morning he picked us up and took us to the Velas(also nice). Of course it was a timeshare presentation and very high pressure(three hours before we got brunch). We fell for it and bought in after 5 hours. All seemd like it made sense as they would sell enough of our slots to more than pay for the package plus we would get lots of time for ourselves and family. There also was a "membership to "their" golf course(actually not theirs and was a discount coupon-read the fine print). They also made us believe that because the timeshare they were selling was a "repo" that we had to waive our right to terminate the contract(Mexican law allows five days to do so at the place it was presented). After sleeping(actually laying awake all night thinking) on it the numbers did not add up so we decided the next day to cancel. Because we mistakenly believed we could not cancel I contacted a local Notary Public/Attorney for advice. He stated we could write a letter of cancellation and deliver it to them and that would end it. I called the salesperson and told them we were going to cancel. He advised us to come there and write the letter and that would end it. We did so but they tried to resell us or sell another plan-when we refused and demanded to cancel we were told we had to deliver the letter to their California office and would not accept a letter there. We left to see the Notary who drew up a legal Notarized letter of cancellation. We delivered it to them and they again refused to accept it with the same excuse. We returned to the Notary and hired him and an Attorney to accompany us this time. We finally met with their Attorney - they accepted our letter and stamped and signed it in front of our representatives. We also faxed, emailed and certified delivery copies of our cancellation to both their PV and California offices. Our credit card deposit has since been refunded also. My take is they do this frequently as we saw others leaving in disgust, angry and advising anyone within earshot to "don't sign". They most likely delay long enough that the five days run out and people accept the fact they have been scammed. We were treated rudely, photographed with cell phones and followed out each time by several husky men to make sure we left the grounds. We wasted three days of our vacation and spent quite a bit to get out of it(worth every penny). Thankfully we contacted a very caring Notary that would take the time to deal with us immediately. There is another way to force the issue through PROFECO(Mexican Consumer Affairs) or the US Counsel(we filed a report and gave them the name of our Notary) but the time it takes is generally longer than most vacations. We did enjoy our stay in Puerto Vallarta(after our ordeal) and likely will return again. The best part is now this trusting midwestern couple is wiser to the ways of the timeshare scams. I feel pretty dumb but hopefully this helps someone else avoid it or at least get out if you want.

157  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
140
Reviewed February 15, 2005

We visited Puerto Vallarta on January 22-29, 2005 and stayed at the Club Velas Vallarta. The vacation was wonderful from the minute we got to the airport. We had called the hotel ahead and let them know when we were arriving and when we got to the airport there was a man with a sign with our name on it to take us to the hotel!! We traveled with 8 of us (through RCI) and there was a van waiting for us at the airport that took us directly to the hotel. When we got to the hotel there was no line to register and while doing so, a waitress brought us a cold drink!! We had a 3 bedroom unit that was absolutely the most beautiful, spacious room we have EVER had!!! It had a huge deck looking out onto the ocean. We were traveling with one person in a wheelchair and this room was at ground level and so accessible to everything at the resort. We were treated wonderfully by everyone at the resort. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The food was delicious and had something to please even the pickiest of eaters!! The grounds are gorgeous and well taken care of. The pools are beautiful and there are plenty of lounge chairs to sit on by the pool and you don't have to get up and 6:00 a.m. to go and save chairs!! We were on the all-inclusive plan so I don't know how expensive things were if you weren't. We had a stocked refrigerator at all times (beer, soda, yogurt, etc.) and snacks and bread in the kitchen. And we also took advantage of the room service. The cost of the all-inclusive was $105 for RCI members per person per day, which is quite a bit, but we did feel everything was top notch!! We are going back again next year!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2005

Our family of four stayed 7 days at this hotel recently.
With the exception of check-in and the beach we were happy with this resort.
We arrived at midnight due to a 7 hr airflight delay. I had reserved and paid for a 2 bedroom suite in Nov after spending several months researching hotels. Upon check in at midnight- we were exhausted, we were told that they did not have a 2 bedroom available!!! They said that they would give us two studios facing the street. We were furious. After standing our ground we were given a 2 bedroom on the 7th floor with a great view of the ocean and pools which they suddendly came up with. We were then phoned the next morning early 9am and asked to switch rooms to another 2 bedroom on the 5th floor. For our inconvenience they allowed us all inclusive for the day as well as the Mexican beach dinner fiesta. (which had to be cancelled off of the beach due to bad weather)

After this intial problem we were happy enought with the resort. The rooms were huge 1100 sq ft. Comfy beds with a king in one room and 2 doubles in the other. If you do not do all inclusive.... do not eat here. $4.00 Us for a glass of orange juice. Very pricey. It has a good kitchenette however, we did find small ant like bugs living on the kitchen counter. Do not expect to swim in the ocean here. The red flag is a permanent fixture and very few folks ever ventured out.

The next time we go to PV we will stay nearer to Punta Mita. My husband took a fishing boat out in that area and the beaches are quite lovely... as well the area is less commercialized.

We took a cab to PV a few times.... the place is a zoo. Sidewalks tiny, traffic whizzing by, exhaust smells... I didn't enjoy it. We did eat at the Marina (walking distance) a few times and that was nice.

My son got ill with an ear infection and the hotel had a very good Dr. there in 10 mins. They delivered a prescription within 20 mins which I was very impressed with.

Grounds are impeccable... must be a dozen men full time trimming cutting grass etc.

No good entertainment to speak of. People go and sit in the lobby and listen to taped music to get their free all inclusive drinks.

All in all the vacation was fine. We got totally rained out the last two days... but we made the best of it. Remember...PV is in the jungle... don't believe it when they say it never rains here!!

I wish I would have booked the Mexican Riveria near Cancun instead. The water and beaches there are to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2005

My two children and I just returned from vacation at the Velas Vallarta. We enjoyed the hotel and certainly the pools. The grounds and gardens were beautiful. The rooms were nice, kitchenette was great if you go with the EP plan (no food). We grabbed a $3 cab ride to Walmart Supercentre and stocked up on food, which was inexpensive. We ate most meals in the room which suited us fine. The meals looked to be resort prices so we ate out of the resort which was a lot cheaper. Of course the time share people are initially pushy but I just deflected them, and after the second day they leave you alone, they look for you arriving with your bags & approach with a "welcome package", I never did get the package. Do not let anyone push you into anything and you will be fine. The lobby has internet use which is nice to talk to your family while you are away. It seems easier than using the phones, which seems to be very difficult in Mexico, so if you can open a hotmail account if you haven't already.
Overall the stay was very nice, be careful because they fill up your minibar with "incidentials", but you are paying for them which I didn't realize until after I started munching, but then again you are on holidays and the key is to enjoy yourself.
I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

26  Thank gatormama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
127
Reviewed December 28, 2004

We just returned from a week at the beautiful Velas Vallarta! I own a travel agency and knew it would be nice, but Velas Vallarta and Puerto Vallarta surpassed my expectations. The resort and grounds are beautifully landscaped and scrupulously maintained. The staff were friendly, helpful, polite, and quick to respond. I was concerned that we would be bored with only 2 restaurants with their all-inclusive plan. Not to fear, there was a different theme every night and alternative meals at the other restaurant (excellent steaks). Two nights the dinners were held directly on the beach. The staff placed mats on the sand and set up a romantic dinner settings complete with candles, lanterns and tiki torches. It was lovely.

The hotel does offer a time share opportunity but did not push it when we decilined. There are approved street vendors allowed on the beach. They do approach you, but politely retreat when you say "No thank you." We talke to several people who did attend the time share presentation. They are VERY expensive. Mexico is not an expensive destination, it was a better value to procure the space through our travel agency than by purchasing a time share.

Puerto Vallarta was a clean, safe city to walk around in and the water was good (no health issues). Be sure to visit Mama Lucia's Tequila distillery, take a Canopy tour or the Sierra Madre day tour, and enjoy a day aboard the Dancer (snorkeling and hiking in addition to enjoying a nice boat ride).

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wayzata, Minnesota
17
Reviewed December 27, 2004

We recentley have visited Velas Vallarta, and I must say that it was a nice vacation, with some flaws. The food was ok, but the scenary was beautiful. The pools were nice and well kept. However, it was hard to find a lawnchair because somedays it was just too crowded by the pool. It was nice because there was water activites offered through the beach right on the hotel grounds. However, right when you step onto the beach you are wanting to walk the beach as relaxing as it sounds, but when we stepped into the beach, salesmen were not leaving us alone for a while. That was one of the things we found very annoying, because they wouldn't listen when we just wanted to take a relaxing stroll on the beach. It was also helpful because if you wanted to plan an activity, the front desk was very helpful in arranging for what you wanted to do, no strings attached. Overall, It was a great get away from cold minnesota, that's all i can say!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,799 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $312 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, PROMOTORA TURISTICA PUNTA BETE S.A.P.I. DE C.V., Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing