We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Amazing Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great time, awesome customer service and great food. Pool was great and there were peacocks and iguanas roaming around which made it very awesome. The pool bar was good, for breakfast we recommend the Andrea restaurant. The waiters there were awesome and entertaining. Santiago and Rueben :) The rooms were nice too, great balcony view etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much Wilberto for sharing your experiences and thoughts on your July vacation with us at Velas Vallarta. I am very pleased that you had a great time and that you felt that the customer service and cuisine was very good. Our wait staff at Andrea restaurant really goes out of their way to take the time in making their valued clients feel special and pampered. And if you like the natural touches, I am sure that you enjoyed the turtles and Koi fish as well as the peacocks and iguanas. The suites as you mentioned are very large and comfortable. Very nice in order to fully relax after a fun day in the sun. I hope Wilberto that you can return again from Philadelphia and relive the good times that you enjoyed on your first visit. Take care and special greetings to you and everybody in Philly.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,433
    606
    156
    56
    47
See reviews for
1,310
1,071
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Velas is by far the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the Velas staff, who opened the doors to our taxi and helped us with the luggage. We strolled across the lobby awestruck, staring up at the towering pillars and architecture. After we got checked in, a bellhop took our luggage and showed us to our room.

We were greeted by an incredibly spacious 1 bedroom suite on the third floor, overlooking the grounds and ocean. The room was perfect in every way. It was incredibly spacious and had a huge balcony running across the entire front. We had a sliding glass door that accessed the balcony in the living room AND one in the bedroom. The bathroom featured beautiful floor to ceiling tile and a large tub. Overall, every detail of the room was intricately crafted together and nothing was overlooked.

The grounds and pools followed suit. Everything was incredibly clean and well kept. One day a friendly staff member from the marketing division struck up a conversation with us as we were walking across the grounds. He told us about the architecture of the hotel and how it was designed to funnel wind through the grounds and into the lobby to keep things cool. He also told us about the grounds and how apparently they have won many awards from magazines.

While the hotel grounds, rooms and amenities were all top notch, what really stood out to me was the level of service. We were VERY well attended to and did not have a single request denied the entire time we were there. We were able to get a late checkout time to accommodate our later flight at no extra charge. The wait staff at all the restaurants were excellent and everyone you bumped into took the time to smile and say hi. With a couple exceptions, all the food was excellent. Room service was always on time and even accommodated our requests for things that weren't on the menu.

If you are considering Velas as one of your all-inclusive vacation options you won't be disappointed. Everything about our stay was absolutely flawless. I will definitely be going back to Velas Vallarta and also plan on visiting the Grand Velas Riviera Maya at some point.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up. This will give you a view of the grounds and the ocean. Rooms on the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We as an organization are very delighted to receive the observations and expressions of first time guests. As it is your very first impression of our resort, cuisine and service that helps to tell us how we are doing and based on your fine review it appears that we are doing very good. I am pleased that you selected Velas Vallarta and perhaps one aspect that helped you decide was the spacious suites that we provide. The marble detailing that you mentioned is just one of the many positives to vacationing in suites as opposed to hotel rooms. And the daily restocked mini bar is certainly an added comfort during our guest´s visits. When residing at Velas Vallarta Ian, it is very difficult not to notice the attention and focus that we apply to our common areas and gardens. Personally I do not believe that you could find a better landscaping design and tropical greenery anywhere in Puerto Vallarta including the Botanical Gardens. I am very pleased that overall your palate was satisfied with the selection and quality of our cuisine and the service that provided that extra element of personalized luxury really stood out to you as “top notch”. Ian, I cannot thank you enough for recommending Velas Vallarta in such as splendid manner to others who may still be deciding on where to best enjoy a complete vacation. And just know sir that whether it is back with us or at Grand Velas Riviera Maya you can count on the fine consistency of service and product. Take care and on behalf of the 570 Velas employees I wish you a delightful autumn season in picturesque Bellingham, Washington. All the best! P.S. Thank you also for sharing your wonderful photos!

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family just got back from Velas, we were there from 7/2/14-7/9/14, it was our first time in PV and enjoyed every minute! Can't say enough about the staff, they were all wonderful! Alma who cleaned our room was so gracious and sweet and Pilar and Lizeth who worked at the spa were so kind and accommodating. Food was delicious and plenty. The kids club was outstanding my kids begged to return. The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful! We stayed on the fifth floor and had a good view of the garden, pool and ocean, my kids loved eating on the balcony! We took a cab ride to downtown PV and felt very safe, hotel staff kept track of all the cab drivers. The Mexican Fiesta Night was fantastic. Highly recommend Velas, we will return for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2506 on the fifth floor! 2 bd 2 ba!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you so much Alyson for your glowing comments regarding your first ever visit to Puerto Vallarta and Velas Vallarta. We are proud to have been chosen by you and your family as your vacation setting and I am very happy that the resort, its staff and plentiful cuisine were all to your great liking. To have 24 hour room service included in the program is very convenient for families such as yours whose children were more than happy to dine on the balcony of your suite while taking in the wonderful view. I will pass along your compliments to Pilar and Lizeth in the spa as it will motivate them even extra in seeing their names on-line. It is also very pleasing to all of us that you ventured downtown to see and explore all that there is to offer in this tranquil tourist destination. I am sure that the culture and its people embraced your presence with some warm smiles of gratitude for visiting Puerto Vallarta. Alyson, thank you again for recommending us to others and we look forward to your return next time as seasoned veterans of Velas and of the region to repeat your “best vacation ever”. All the best to you and the family in Vancouver, Washington. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were there in April for a week. We've stayed at the Velas many times and are NOT timeshare owners. We stay there because of the resort and the staff. I cannot say a single bad thing about the resort. The grounds are impeccable, the food is very good and the service is extraordinary.
Donald, the Assistant Manager of Operations is 100% attentive to your needs. He's been there 19+ yrs so he knows his job and does it well. Thank you Donald for your assistance. Marcelino is the most attentive staff member we have ever met. He's extremely good at his craft and very humble.
This is and always has been a stress free, no bad surprises, just good surprises visit each and every time we stay there. We will stay no where else in Puerto Vallarta. Visit the Velas Vallarta , you'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank farmer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and splendid recommendations on Velas Vallarta. It is always a pleasure for us to continue to provide “good surprises” for our large segment of repeat guests, as we are constantly looking for new items to incorporate into our product. Yourself more than many others will have seen those changes and adaptations that continue to “wow” you each and every year. We certainly do dedicate a lot of effort into our lovely grounds and culinary offerings. But the service has been very consistent over the years as well as most of our personnel. Donald and Marcelino practically live, eat and drink what is Velas Vallarta and that loyalty is reflected in the service and smiles that you encounter with every visit. I thank you very much for your valued loyalty to Velas Vallarta and please know that your friendship is very important and special for us. Thank you again and all the best to you this summer in Edmonton, Alberta. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just got back (July 2014) from Velas Vallarta today. Had a great time and wanted to shout out some of the particular reasons why: 1) Marcelino -- hands down the BEST server in the resort with a great mix of fun, sass and expert customer service 2) Rafaela and the top-notch cleaning staff who went above and beyond to even make up a mini-bed for my 3-year-old daughter and do turn-down service for her! and 3) the guy that made my perfectly delicious chorizo/onion/queso omelette every morning. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Andy, the pleasure was most certainly ours in being able to host you and your lovely, outgoing family and I do wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your energetic comments while you just arrived to your home. Marcelino and Rafaela are really two of our stars in their respective areas, but both share the same customer satisfaction philosophy that is paramount to a successful organization and very integral to an extraordinary and unique vacation experience for our valued guests. And that mindset goes all the way to the front of the restaurant chef who handled your omelet just the way you liked each day. The unique details are what really define a great hotel. Thank you again Andy and I hope that you can return with the family again in order to relive some of the “good times” that you enjoyed on this holiday. Take care and our kind wishes go out to you, your wife and your little girl.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Second time here for family vacation. Absolutely wonderful. Breathtaking views and outstanding pool facilities. Staff very attentive to every need. Marcinelo, our poolside server, was amazing! He offered suggestions and kept us more than happy as we enjoyed the week. We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 81BrutusBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My cousins and I stayed for 4 days, 3 nights all inclusive. We absolutely fell in love with our beautiful room, the beachfront restaurant, the gorgeous peacocks, but most of all, we loved the staff. I wish I could remember everyone's name but everyone we encountered was so sweet to us. We were so sad when we had to leave. Normally I don't like staying at a place more than once because I like seeing different resorts, but I would definitely come back here! Thanks to all the staff that made our experience so wonderful! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing