We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Velas Vallarta vacation June 2014”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Velas Vallarta vacation June 2014”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a wonderful family vacation at Velas Vallarta the third week of June! As others have stated, the property is older, but very well maintained. The grounds and gardens are truly beautiful. A new appreciation of mature trees and shade is gained when visiting a pool without that shade at 90+ degrees! We found there to be ample pool chairs at all times, and never had issues with chairs having been "saved."
Our check-in process was a bit difficult, but in fairness the difficulty was due to some special circumstances surrounding how the reservation was booked, not the fault of the front desk staff. They actually did all possible to be accommodating.
Our three bedroom, two bath unit was quite comfortable and very well appointed. Rita, our maid, did a fabulous job of dealing with four adults and two teenagers! All with a daily smile and kind greeting! Only two baths for six people, mostly female, was a juggling act, but Velas seems to have occupancy minimums for certain units, and a three bedroom, three bath requires a minimum occupancy of 7.
It is a great advantage to have free wifi throughout the property, but unfortunately, the reliability outside the lobby is hit or miss. Some days I could sit on the terrace and have super connectivity and an hour later no connection at all. The lobby seemed to be the most consistent.
We found the food and the service to be exceptional; including room service, which our grandchildren put to constant use. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican Fiesta evening, and thought the food to be very, very good even with the buffet style set-up. The "fellas" in our group went fishing and the fish they brought back was cooked to perfection. Each dining experience was very positive and the service always attentive.
We took advantage of the complimentary City and Shopping Tour. Unfortunately, there was more Shopping than City. However, this is in no way the fault of Velas Vallarta. The tour is handled by a tour operator, Tani Tours. Our particular tour was a bit disorganized. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but not familiar with the itinerary required by Velas. The stop at the market was great; an hour instead of 40 minutes would have been better, as it is adjacent to other shopping, as well. The jewelry store stop was crowded and there was really little opportunity to see "jewelry makers at work" as advertised. It was simply an opportunity for the store to sell to a captive audience. We really enjoyed the tequila tasting. No, it is not a tequila factory, but an outlet for a small family producer of tequila. However, the information and demonstration were well done. There was no pressure at all to purchase tequila. The lunch stop in Mismaloya, at 3:30PM, was way too late and the venue was not good. The restaurant was not prepared for our group, prices were extremely high, and although the staff tried, service was slow. The drained pool in the middle of the dining area with trash and insects was not a good setting for food. There are many excellent food vendors in the old town area of Puerto Vallarta that would have provided a much more positive lunch experience. Perhaps, Velas should review the itinerary and make suggestions to the tour operator, as this tour is not up to the standards of Velas properties.
We would like to respectfully suggest that Velas Vallarta consider adding some non-motorized water sports equipment, such as boogie boards and kayaks, for the use of guests. The water and beach are super, and the availability of toys would be welcomed.
Velas Vallarta is an excellent choice for a family vacation. The location is excellent; near the airport, marina, and easy access to the downtown and old Vallarta area. Staff is marvelous, management is accessible and concerned that guests are comfortable. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringsGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your fine comments on your summer vacation with us at Velas Vallarta. It is so nice to know that we could cater to the needs of the three generations of your family and that you were very comfortable in the pools and in the suite. To have the seal of approval of the little ones on their culinary experiences is important for me because I know that when they are happy, then so are the parents. I will make a review of the city and shopping tour and have the tour company make any necessary adjustments in terms of itinerary and restaurant. I find your observations to be very valid and it is something that will be addressed. Thank you for selecting Velas Vallarta as your family reunion vacation and it would be our definite pleasure to be your hosts again for any future holidays. Take care and warm regards to all in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,710
    666
    162
    57
    48
See reviews for
1,473
1,191
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Do kids ever love the all inclusive!!! We have taken our children and grandchildren here twice and everyone loves it. It's big enough for privacy if you want it and small enough that you can easily find everyone and the kids can run free as it is very safe! The older children had room service for french fries and virgin penia coladas. The food is generally very good. It's not gourmet and some meals are better than others but overall it's fine. The adults loved the all inclusive too as there was no work to cook and you could be lazy and order from the pool, breakfast in the room etc. Overall the family liked it better than the fancier properties like the Grand Mayan without the all inclusive.

Room Tip: We like being near the pools but I think all the rooms are probably fine. Ours might have been buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you Linda for pointing out the advantages of our all-inclusive program for those with families. You are absolutely right in saying that you can fall in love with the concept. Letting the little ones enjoy at their whim snacks, beverages and other gourmet delicacies as well as the parents not having to look for change, credit cards or sign checks at every turn. And to have a package that includes 24 hour room service and mini bar service every day is certainly a huge plus and a worry free holiday. And of course there were no surprises on your bill when it came time to check out. I am happy Linda that Velas Vallarta has been very pleasing and comfortable for you and the three generations of family that you bring with you and overall I believe that you have found your Mexican home away from home when it comes time to really let the family enjoy themselves. Thank you again Linda for your insights on Velas and we look forward to hosting you again. Take care and kind regards t everyone in San Francisco, California.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had excellent service at Velas Vallarta (Adrian at the Andrea Restaurant, Bartolo at the pool bar, Gilberto at poolside), and the food and drinks were great. The property is older but well maintained - we were amazed at the number of staff working all over the property. The grounds are lovely. Our one disappointment was the beach - it was not the beautiful setting we expected and there were too many vendors trying to sell their wares. Even though it is the rainy season, we had beautiful weather, with most of the rain coming in the evening and at night. And it wasn't crowded until the weekend. We enjoyed the evening activities in the lobby, and participated in the daily water aerobics with Christian and Andres. They are great activities leaders. We went on the city tour which was a good way to see the city, but it was hot and we didn't have lunch until 3 which was much later than we expected. Overall, we had a very positive experience and would recommend this resort to other families.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid the peacocks flying onto your balcony - they are very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjkueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and for your kind recommendation of the hotel to other families. As an all-inclusive resort it is our goal of course to provide you with the best product in terms of cuisine, service and activities and I am very glad that we were able to meet your expectations on those aspects. The beaches of the Pacific coast are really not like those of the Caribbean; however we do our utmost every morning in grooming our wide stretch of beach and in maintaining our cabanas in excellent condition. Please be assured that all the staff mentioned by you as fine examples will receive a copy of your comments and that will motivate them even more in providing excellent quality to their guests. Thank you again and all the best for the autumn season. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VISTA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were at Velas Vallartas for 1 week. My kids ages 6/8 loved the pool, the pizza, and the bay.
The hotel is hacienda style so its a bit older, units are large. We had a 2br which consisted of a master and living area full kitchen with attached studio.. The pools are great and waiters are attentive. Only bummer was the FREE wifi never worked and if you needed wifi you had to purchase.. I inquired about use of business center and it was 1/2 hour for $10.
Hotel is literally 5 minutes from airport and about 10-15 from main town of PVR.
The best thing for us traveling with kids was the nightly activities, we have stayed many places and often no kids are allowed after certain times. Velas was very family friendly, even had a casino night with fake money where kids got to play Blackjack, poker, and roulette..
We ziplined at Los Veranos, took a water taxi took Yelapa and swam in the waterfalls..

Great family trip.

Room Tip: We had a master facing pool so you never heard much noise and the A/C was AWESOME, but in the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdooflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you very much for selecting Velas Vallarta this year for your family vacation. It pleases me immensely that you found us to be very family friendly. And with condo style suites, the whole family can reside together instead of in two or three rooms. I will recommend however in the event of problems connecting to the wifi,that you consult with our Guest Service department in the lobby, as they are very adept at troubleshooting and resolving any detail with internet. Thank you again and I am glad that the little ones really enjoyed themselves (and the pizza). Take care and we hope to see you next year.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm not sure where to begin with this review. There are so many things that we loved about Velas Vallarta. The resident iguanas and peacocks were a wonderful addition to the resort. We spent most days under the cabanas beachside, being wonderfully cared for by our waiter Marcelino! He was so attentive, and even danced the salsa with me in the sand! What a carefree vacation at a wonderful resort! If you stay here, be sure to ask for Marcelino!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed 1 week through our points with RCI. The resort exceeded all our expectations.
First, the main lobby is stunning when you first enter. The arches that support the ceiling immediately catch your attention and are made from bricks. Great architecture. The floor tiles are gleaming all the time. The staff at the front desk were very polite and professional and check-in went smooth. There are elevators so those who have mobility issues can access any floor easily.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had a great view of the pool and gardens. Plenty of flowers, palm trees and foliage where the local resident iguanas hide out. There are koi ponds that flow like small streams through the gardens creating a tropical paradise. Perfect for relaxing. The pools are large and connected by a "jungle stream" that you can swim back and forth between them. The beach is great and you can walk as far as you can. Great in the morning for an exercise walk. The entire staff made us feel right at home and all are efficient at their jobs. We ate breakfast a few times at Andrea restaurant and the food was great. Plenty of choices of eggs any style, bacon and sausage, plenty of breads, pastries and fruit. We ate outside and were entertained by the roving peacocks that displayed their tail feathers.
The rooms are large, beds comfortable and balconies roomy for that nice cup of coffee in the morning with a nice view. We had a partial kitchen (stove with no oven) , fridge, microwave and we used them for some meals. Each balcony in the resort has pink Bourgainvillea draped over the sides. When you look out across the resort the flower display is breathtaking.The entertainment was very nice and was held in the main lobby. The location of the resort is downtown and close to shops and restaurants, but it is also very close to the international airport, so during the day there is pretty constant air traffic noise. That is the only glitch. Velas is a great resort experience.

Room Tip: An upper room gives a nice view from the large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were thinking to go to a different beach in Mexico, but we decide to go again to Vallarta and stay in Velas. All the people who works in the hotel is super friendly The nice people who works at the reception makes you feel that you get home, thanks Elizabeth and Antonio for all your help. We receive only good quality in everything. Good food and delicious beverages.. The suite was super comfortable, we choose to stay in the first floor close to the pool and we love it, always clean thanks to Beatriz our housekeeper. Thanks to all the waiters at the pool especially to a Tino and Jacinto :) Ivan, Jesus, the bartenders and captain Ramon, all of you are amazing! All the activities are really fun and Christian has a lot of energy to keep us busy, thank you Christian!!! Special thanks to all the people who works at La Ribera Restaurant and to captain Pablo. At Andrea, Omar the captain is very nice person. We can say that Velas is our home in Vallarta! Thanks to all of you!

Room Tip: First floor close to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maru_qm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing