We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but Dissapointed”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but Dissapointed”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the first time I have been to Velas resorts, We booked a 2 bedroom suite in Oct of 2013 for Spring Break in 2014 . I emailed three times asking for a room high enough for a Ocean view. when we checked, they told us they did not have a 2 bedroom & tried to give us 2 one bedroom suites. I told them I had booked this months ago, so then he found a 2 bedroom to give us only to find out it was on the bottom with No view of anything but trees. I immediately called the front desk & asked for another room. I was told that there would be some available the next day, which was fine BUT i was never contacted about a better room. I was not very happy. The maid kept moving things.
The grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed the peacocks & the resident Iguanas. The beach is very rocky, hard to even walk on it let alone swim.
The pool waiters are very accommodating, especially Saul.
I love Mexico & Peurto vallarta, have been to sevearl different cities & resorts but probably will not return to Velas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresaplowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much Teresa for bringing your observations to my attention. This winter season has been a very successful one in terms of occupancy and demand. Even more so in this month of March. With larger families, our two and three bedroom suites were basically at high demand but very manageable in terms of not being oversold in any particular category. We did find ourselves during the weekend of your arrival searching for an appropriate candidate to enjoy their stay in two, one bedroom suites close together on the third floor instead of a two bedroom. I am very sorry if that arrangement was not to your agreement, but of course as you mentioned we did provide you the suite arrangement according to your reservation. In researching your situation with my reception manager I reinforced the very important aspect of following up on a guests petition. To move your suite at a later time is no problem for us as long as the availability suits the guest’s preference. I am pleased however that many aspects of your stay were to your liking and I am glad that you are a true fan of Mexico and Puerto Vallarta. In our own individual way we are all ambassadors of this tourist destination. I am sure that you will someday return to this Pacific vacation spot and I will place myself at your service if you find it in yourself to consider Velas Vallarta in the future. You have my sincere apologies for your disappointment. Thank you and kind greetings to Oklahoma. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,709
    666
    162
    57
    48
See reviews for
1,472
1,191
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

You may fine slightly better food or accommodations somewhere else, however, I doubt you will find better service. We stayed for the 4th time. The rooms are very well kept. The food is very good with plenty of variety. It was nice to be served poolside by Marcelino. I recognized him from years past. He is a true professional. I'll look for him next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
On behalf of Marcelino and all of our 560 employees I thank you for your continued loyalty toward Velas Vallarta. As a senior contributor to TripAdvisor you will have plenty of tourism experience in which to compare us and to be able to host you for the fourth time really speaks volumes about our product and service. We most certainly will be very happy to attend to your needs in the friendly and professional way that you have come to know for many vacations in the future. Thank you again and special regards to Michigan. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite and had a great experience. The suite was well maintained and offered a great view of the ocean. The pools are spacious and great to cool off in. The beach is also nice and very accessible. We love Peurto Vallarta. Vellas is near the Marina and it is nice to be able to walk there for a quick meal. It is also a short taxi ride to get downtown. The staff was very helpful and assisted us in choosing the best activities.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much Howard for sharing your happiness and your love for Puerto Vallarta and your great trip to Velas Vallarta. I am very glad that our spacious three bedroom suite really suited your comfort needs and that you found our facilities to be to your great liking. As you mentioned, the resort is very well located in terms of being able to venture to the marina, downtown, golf courses, airport, etc. Whether it is by walking, bus or by taxi all points in this region are very accessible. Thank you again Howard for the delightful insights of your visit and you can count on us and Puerto Vallarta to deliver more splendid memories in the future. Take care and kind regards to Burlington, WI.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are owners here and this is the first time I have been to this property. WOW...an older, mature property (read as mature and unique landscape, trees, fountains, paths and pools). My two kids loved it...from the all you could eat ice cream bar (open all day) to the Peacocks screaming in the courtyard all morning. We had a three-bedroom suite which was perfect for our needs 4+1 so a bedroom for all.
The food was abundant and available all day (if on the all inclusive plan)...the beach restaurant was okay...the hotel workhouse, Adrians (spelling?) was very nice BUT make your reservations early or you'll be at the 9:30 seating. Classical menu...lts of options.
The staff was (almost without a fault) overly accomidating and there to help. With smiles, and they realize that the tourists PAY the bills so everywhere in town we always flet welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much Sid for finally coming to visit Velas Vallarta. It is great to know that the three bedroom suite that you reserved was appropriate for your family´s comfort and needs. I like that you consider that our food is abundant whether it be in our restaurants, snack bar, room service or mini bar. We wish also that your appetite is pampered along with everything else. Thank you also for mentioning that the staff is always smiling. Although the smiles are natural we do realize the importance in having people from around the world visit us and we treat everyone as if they were invited into our own home. Sid, I wish you and your family an excellent summer in Phoenix and hope that your return to Velas Vallarta is very soon. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLART
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great service & food. Spent six nights via an Expedia package; ocean view upgrade well worth the extra investment. Booked four spa services; all were nice, massages were fantastic but have to say the experience could be more "special"...could hear people talking and yard care was a bit loud.
Poolside service was outstanding, very attentive. Meals were great, I can honestly say we didn't have a bad meal. Gorgeous views from the beach, easy to get to from the airport (schedule the VIP shuttle service through the hotel). Would definitely book at Velas again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4EVRSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for having selected Velas Vallarta as your vacation destination through Expedia. I am glad that you chose to reserve the one bedroom suite as it is much more spacious than the studio and it also provides a nice view. I will definitely pass along your kind comments on our cuisine and service to my food and beverage director in order that he can share your motivating observations with all his staff. We will also try to minimize any external sounds around our massage cabanas situated over the ocean in order to better the relaxation experience for our guests during their massages. Thank you for sharing your glowing review and marvelous photos with everybody and all of us at Velas Vallarta really look forward to hosting you again in the future. Take care and warm greetings to Wausau, Wisconsin.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our first time in Puerto Vallarta. I went with my two daughters 18 and 22 years old. We were thoroughly impressed with this hotel. The food was excellent and great choices from breakfast to lunch to dinner. The grounds, pool, beach, rooms were spotless and staff were seen cleaning ongoing. Obviously it is important to the management to provide a great experience in every way for their guests.
We especially want to thank Jesus at the pool, Christian for his organizing of events for guests at the pool and in the evening the entertainment, Francisco at breakfast for excellent service, Patricia the housekeeper and Fidel at the Guest Services.
Very relaxing! and we will go back again. We had a great experience in Puerto Vallarta thanks to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a Studio on the 6th floor. It was perfect! The king bed was too firm for us and we asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellavancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your marvelous observations with us on your recent holiday here at Velas Vallarta. I am glad that you were “thoroughly impressed” with the variety and quality of our cuisine and that you noticed just how important the cleanliness of the resort is to us. You can be assured that Jesus, Cristian, Francisco, Patricia and Fidel will be recognized thanks to your compliments to them. Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your relaxing vacation and please know that it would be our delight to have the opportunity in serving you again in the future. Take care and kind regards to Vancouver.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a wonderful resort!! The weather was perfect (March 6th through the 13th) The Motel was spotlessly clean. Great food. Great evening entertainment. The poolside service was impeccable. Kudos to Marcelino and Jesus!! Their service was extrordinary.

Room Tip: First time there and our room was perfect. Never heard another guest or any outside noise after dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you Jim for selecting our resort for the first time. I am glad that Marcelino and Jesus left a great impression on you and that you also found the resort to be spotless. I am also pleased that overall you think of Velas Vallarta as a “wonderful resort” and now that you know us much better please do not hesitate to revisit us in the future when the opportunity presents itself. Thank you for your patronage and warm greetings to Prescott, Wisconsin. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing