We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort...but we will not be returning”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake Tahoe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Resort...but we will not be returning”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from a week in a studio, which was quiet, w/comfortable bed, but wished we could have upgraded to a 1 Br. as the only seating were 4 wooden stools and the sofa-bed. Unfortunately no 1 Br. was available as this place has become very popular. We had stayed here 10 years ago before it was an A-I and loved it...staying in a nice 1 Br. It was a much less busy place then...quiet, no problem getting loungers or poolside tables. Now, however, it is overrun with families who see to it that someone is up early to score their prized lounge chairs, tables & chairs by the pool by draping towels over them. By 9AM there were very few left, but many of them, although 'reserved' were not actually used for many hours later...sometimes not until after Noon. Disappointed that the resort did not enforce their rules regarding this ritual.

The other disappointment was the food. Neither the beachside restaurant nor the fancier Andrea had anything but Americanized fare... nothing memorable. The entree menu was limited, the portions small, and food ordinary. Very little traditional Mexican. Geared towards families...Hamburgers and Pizzas! Scrawny Steaks...a far cry from 'gourmet' . The buffet food was not so great either (the buffet's in the Reno casinos are better). The service was prompt and drinks plentiful including decent wine, spirits and beer, however. You can only reserve Andrea starting at 7AM the same day. Reserve early! There are lot's of great restaurants in PV so A-I's are out for us in the future.

The positives are the beautiful grounds...meticulously maintained tropical foliage, lots of flowering plants, ferns, palms, etc. We really enjoyed Fiesta Night...Sunday. Even the Mexican food was very good here. The Mariachis were outstanding! In fact the Mariachis were the highlight of this resort for us as they played nearly every night in the lobby bar after 9PM. As to the drinks, the bartenders will make them as strong as you like. Best to stand at the bar and supervise them, but they are more than willing to accommodate. Same for room service. Order a Margarita and a glass of tequila (Hornitos) and limes on the side. You literally get a full glass of straight Tequila!

For families this resort is probably as good as it gets. But for a couple in their 60's like us we'll opt for a different venue next time. By the way, If taking a taxi from the airport you'll save $10 by walking over the pedestrian bridge and catch a yellow cab VS the airport cab. $70MXN vs $200MXN.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for having returned to Velas Vallarta after all these years. A lot of changes have taken place since your last visit with many of them geared towards the demand in the market. Of course the demand during March is from families with adolescents or the famous “Spring Break”. Our suites are configured for the maximum in family comfort especially our three bedrooms for larger families. I am sure that during other times of the year you would not quite see the amount of large families as you did this March. And as you mentioned we do have areas in which to improve on and we will always look for the way to make everyone happy and satisfied. However, in getting an understanding of your basic preferences, I do not believe that the all inclusive concept is one of them, as you mentioned that you like to enjoy the great restaurants of Puerto Vallarta. I respect your desires and I am very happy that you still found us to be a “nice resort”. I certainly hope in the future you decide to return in order to enjoy and experience all that there is. But perhaps at another time of the year and of course reserving early in order to relax in a one bedroom suite like you did ten years ago. I thank you also for taking the time to write your comments and thoughts on your recent trip with us and I am happy that you will at least be returning to Puerto Vallarta. Take care and all the best to you in Lake Tahoe.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,745
    674
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,494
1,206
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We traveled here as part of a rewards trip through our company. The all-inclusive was wonderful, but my favorite part was the room overlooking the ocean with an outdoor bed on the deck! Listening to the waves all night was heavenly. It was a long walk to our room at the very end of the property, but so worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketship_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Congratulations on earning your well-deserved company vacation. I am very pleased that you found the quality and convenience of our all inclusive program to be wonderful. I hope that the suite was enticing enough to want to return for a complete family vacation so that all of you can enjoy a relaxing siesta under the blue skies of Puerto Vallarta. Thank you also for sharing your happiness of your stay and I wish you great success in your business endeavors. Take care and kind regards to Cedar City, UT.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This was probably our fourth trip to this all inclusive. As usual, the accommodations, food, service and grounds were excellent. Thanks especially to Jesus at the front desk, who kindly moved us from a regular studio ( with a great view, however), to a studio overlooking the grounds, and to Tino, who served us at poolside all week. This is a terrific place for a relaxing, low-key vacation, with no loud entertainment in the evenings.
The busstop is outside, and you can be downtown in minutes. As for activities, we would recommend going whale watching in a zodiac with Vallarta Adventures, something we do every year. We saw more whales this year the ever, and were so pleased to hear them singing under water.
Sorry we could only stay one week at the Velas Vallarta!


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Isabel, thank you very much for your fourth visit to Velas Vallarta and for you kind recognition of Jesus at the reception desk and Tino who helps to service our aqua bar. The two of them are very integral employees in their respective tasks and are real favorites among our guests. Our shows in the evenings are planned to be both entertaining and at the same time non-obtrusive in question to noise for the guests not attending the festivities. We look for a gentle balance in quality over quantity when our evening shows begin. Mariachi every night, folkloric dancing, mime/comedy shows, casino night and of course our popular Mexican Fiesta every Sunday help to keep couples and families entranced each evening. I hope that in 2015 when you venture out to see the whales, they put on nature´s symphony for you just like they did this year. Thank you again for your annual visit and perhaps when the opportunity is right two weeks of fun and sunshine will be awaiting you. On behalf of the 560 Velas employees we send you warm hugs to the Nation´s Capital. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Velas Vallarta is great, we stay every year for 2 weeks and love it. Clean, friendly and close to the Marina area where there are great restaurants and sailing. Our favorite pool boy in Tino, he is such a great guy and help. Thank Tino for making our trip special.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all buildings and have always been comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybean605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hola Jilly and thank you very much for sharing some of your insights with all on TripAdvisor and for selecting us as your two week winter home each year. You are correct; the marina where the yacht, sailboats and schooners are is just a short, pleasant walk away. In fact Marina Vallarta where the resort is located is ideal for leisurely walking or jogging. Please be rest assured Jilly that Tino will be advised of your fine compliments when he sees your translated review posted on the staff bulletin board. Thank you for thinking of us and we wish you all the best this year in Mandan, North Dakota. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is an amazing resort! I would highly recommend the Velas to anyone. We've never been to an all inclusive resort before, they exceeded all our expectations. The food and service were TOP notch! The grounds and pool so beautiful! There were many activities availible if you wish to join in, but a perfect place to just relax, too!
Our large one bedroom suite had a lovely view overlooking the grounds and pool with the bay as a back drop. It was equipped with a stocked kitchen, not that you really need it with 24 hour room service and fabulous restaurants and bar service.
There was never any pressure to join in a timeshare presentation, they simply offered and graciously took no for answer. It was a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Heidi thank you very much for choosing Velas Vallarta as your first all inclusive vacation. I am really glad that we were able to exceed your expectations in many ways. It is always nice when our guests really know what is involved in our all inclusive concept and it pleases me that you could take advantage of it all. The 24 room service is very convenient for our guests when just wanting to relax inside. I hope that now that you know us you will find the opportunity to return to flavor the “top notch” holiday that just you just had. Thank you again and kind regards to Portola, CA. take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are timeshare owners and this was our 7th year at Velas. We love it here! The staff are professional, caring, and fun people to see everyday. The entire staff at Andreas are excellent! Omar and Brenda make everyone they greet feel welcome and like old friends.
We had most if not all of the wait staff during our 3 weeks there and all were superb. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the music during dinner, the Mariachi band are always fun and the solo violinist during our last week.... excellent!
Our room was kept spotless! I could go on and on, but in one word, Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you Lou for your great loyalty toward the resort and for your compliments on the staff members that have come to know you and your wife over the years. The loyalty that you have shown is reciprocal and we anticipate many more happy years hosting you in our Andrea restaurant where you will find your favorites. Thank you again Lou for your motivating words and we look forward to you playing much more golf in 2015. Take care and best wishes to you and your wife in Washington.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Velas is a great resort. We were there on an all inclusive 7 days trip. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the resort is kept up very well. The beach is great too. If you are worried about it being a time share no need to worry there. We were not asked once to buy or sit thru a presentation. The food is very good and I am not sure what they do to there beef but it is very tender and cooked to how you ask for it. It is a quite resort and only 5mins from the airport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevecgy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Steve thank you very much for your patronage and also for taking the time to share your observations and experiences with all. There are many aspects of a resort and I believe that your satisfaction in our service, suites and food quality really means that we made the measure. The friendliness of our personnel which you so kindly pointed out is one of the areas that really stands out at Velas. Our Vacation Club staff is guest friendly and are truly there to assist you whether you attend the Club presentation or not. That is something that is instilled and expected from this administration and holds true to this day. I hope Steve that you will find the opportunity to revisit our resort and enjoy some of the tender cooked steak cuts that were memorable for you. And that says a lot coming from Calgary, Alberta. Thank you for the culinary compliment and from all of us we send you kind greetings to your lovely province. Thank you again Steve and all the best for 2014. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,193 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,807 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing