We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th year here!”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We bought a 25 year membership here 5 years ago after coming on an RCI exchange. We were unhappy the first year because we were led to believe that we could rent units to help pay some of the fees which was not to be. That has been rectified and our "rent deposit fee" was refunded along with some other concessions and we are now happy with the membership and come for 2 weeks each year. Well kept and beautiful with wonderful landscaping, strolling peacocks, friendly iguanas, clean swimming pools including a quiet adults only pool, friendly efficient staff and good food. Very near Marina and golf course. Tennis courts, spa services. Great massages out on the jetty with sounds of ocean. Close to shopping, banks, restaurants, and the airport. Sales presentations can be intense so consider how important the premium offered is to you.

Room Tip: All buildings above 4th floor (above trees) have views. Our favorite is Building 3 also referred to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzie17NorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you Suzie for expressing your happiness with your home resort Velas Vallarta. It is important to note that the satisfaction of our members is very important for us, and as you have experienced first hand we will do the right thing in order to maintain that high satisfaction rate. I am pleased that you feel that the amenities and activities of the resort are to your pleasure and liking, and that the location is a perfect fit for you to enjoy the local surroundings. We our proud to have members such as yourself, and as a member you can see the positive changes and modifications that are performed each year. That is your investment being invested back into your property. Suzie, please take care and I wish to see you back here in your Mexican home for many years to come.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Staying at an all inclusive is always a risk. If you like the F&B and the place you can have an excellent vacation, but if its not what you expected you could end spending a lot for nothing.
This is probably the case of this hotel, I'm not saying that the hotel is bad, but is not what we expected. The most important thing I want to share is that this hotel has nothing to do with its big brother Gran Velas, The rooms are very old, clean though. The F&B is mediocre at most, very limited with tight schedules and not a real 24 hrs ALL INCLUSIVE. Most the staff is good and happy to help.
Maybe I'm biased cause I stayed in the Grand Velas which immediately comes to my mind unlimited luxury and superb vacations, but this Velas and this was not the case, its an average all inclusive hotel at most for that reason my score is average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing your thoughts on your recent trip with us. You mentioned “you can have an excellent vacation, but if it’s not what you expected you could end spending a lot for nothing”. In all fairness this may apply to our not living up to your expectations as having the same level of product as Grand Velas. I appreciate that you are a loyal Grand Velas client and we will most certainly continue to serve you to the utmost in any of our four resorts. Velas Vallarta as you see on our Velas Group web page is marketed by us as “affordable luxury”. So that all segments of our clientele can find their niche in where to vacation throughout our chain. Grand Velas you describe as “unlimited luxury”. It is of course, priced accordingly higher for the same reasons that you describe. I am glad to read that you felt that most staff is good and happy to help, because our service certainly complements our product. I do also recognize that there are distinct levels of product and amenities among our chain, but at The Velas Group of Resorts there will be the superb level of customer satisfaction that our guests expect in any of the resorts that you decide to visit. Thank you for sampling Velas Vallarta, and please know that it will be our pleasure to host you again in any of our fine resorts.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned from an awesome one week vacation at Velas. We were are family of four with 2 and 4 year olds. Kids loved the pool and the all inclusive made it stress free.

The service was excellent, one of the best we have received during the last few vacations. They upgraded us to a room with bathtub when our kids did not like the shower stall. The room service to the service at the restaurant was great, with friendly people. We enjoyed the late evening music. The grounds were well kept.

Some of us might find the resort a little dated, but the service more than made up for it. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Building 3 has larger 1 bedroom suites with bathtubs. The room in building 2 that we go had only sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aajax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in posting how awesome your week was at Velas Vallarta for you and your young children. We are pleased that we had the accommodations to cater best to the needs of your family, and that the service that you received was excellent. As you mentioned “one of the best we have received during the last few vacations”. Thank you also for selecting us as your holiday destination and for highly recommending Velas Vallarta. We hope to be able to host you again in the upcoming future.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just got back and wanted to get this review written while it was fresh in my mind. My wife, two daughters with husbands and grandchildren have travelled during Thanksgiving week together for quite some time. Velas Vallarta was one of the best weeks we've had. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the food was good, not great but the staff is their real asset. The staff, including the waiters Erik and Ruben in Andrea, Alfredo at the pool, Marceila at the front desk and Manager Donald were all standouts for us. The rest of the staff were all fabulous. Everyone had a smile on their face and always went out of their way to try and accommodate our requests. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Johnnygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you Sr. Johnny for your glowing review on your Thanksgiving vacation with us. We do realize that this holiday is one where families make the time and effort to unite in one vacation destination. And our ability to service and satisfy large families has been a real strength over the years thanks in part to our very ample 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites. I am glad that Erik, Ruben, Alfredo and Marcela and all our staff were as you put it, fabulous. Smiles are contagious and throughout our personnel very genuine and warm. Thank you Sr. Johnny for your enthusiasm that you felt toward this vacation, and please feel free to contact me when you wish to relive the family gathering again in Puerto Vallarta. Best wishes to you and to your kind family.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just got back from a week at the VV. What great people, all the staff are top notch from the people maintaining the gardens watering the plants and cleaning the pool area. Both resturants are great, Erik and Oscar are the best in main resturant and food was great. The beach resturant is just as good and all wait staff very help full. Ensure you have the Mexican Coffee with your dinner.
The pool servers are good and we got to know Rody who always had a smile on his face, we missed him on his day off.
We were there for the Grey Cup and watch the Riders win in a bar on the Marina called Chappys, They had a special on for the game was a great experience.

Nightly entertainment in the lobby bar was good. We went to a few of them. All inclusive cost are priced right. Hope they do not go up.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room so view of ocean was limited but on the up side we count walk right out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt.mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent trip to Velas Vallarta. I am glad that you feel that the price for the all inclusive is fair for the product, and that you enjoyed dining in our restaurants. Erik and Oscar in Andrea restaurant along with Rodolfo at the pool were right on the mark in terms of personal service for you and your spouse. They will receive special recognition and thanks to you for taking the time to mention them. We wish you all the best in the New Year and look forward to repeating the good times that you experienced again in 2014. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The one-week stay in November 2013 was our second in Velas Vallarta. And again we want to come back there! The resort is very conveniently located to PVR airport and downtown. The facilities are very well maintained. The room (we stayed in a two-bedroom suite) is very comfortable and cozy yet providing for everything you come to expect on a family vacation. The staff is a real asset for the resort due to their friendliness, readiness to help and high degree of skills and experience. For our teenager daughter and son, my wife and I this was an unforgettable adventure!

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are in the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tem5606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your delightful comments on your visits to Velas Vallarta. And a special thank you for traveling from so far in order for your family to enjoy unforgettable vacations. As you well know the resort is family friendly making it a splendid option for your wife and two teenagers. As you mention the suites are very comfortable and cozy for a family of four in our two bedroom units, and the friendly service meets and exceeds your needs. I am very pleased that you are eager to return to Velas Vallarta, and it would be my honor to meet you and your family in person when your time allows. Thank you again and until next time, take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were interested in how this Velas resort which is substantially cheaper cost would releate to Grand Velas just up the road from Neuvo Vallarta. GV on two previous trips was muy beuno! VV was fun and had good and bad timing on our part on a couple of issues. Upon arrival, which unfortunately was at 10:30 in the morning was a bit of a problem, which we understand. We registered and got our all-inclusive wrist band if we wanted to partake in a meal or a drink. Agua only at this hour. We finally got our room assignment at 1:30pm after explanation from reception staff that they were very full from a convention and awaiting room cleaning progress to free up a room. We had reserved a one-bedroom suite with A-I some eight months before arrival. We even paid the A-I fee up front some two months prior to arrival. The one bedroom suite was on an upper floor with a nice balcony overlooking a back pool and gardens. It was noted interesting enough upon approach as "studio" on a sign on walkway coming to the door. "Studio two" was likely a room lock off for another bedroom adjacent to Studio One. More later.
Quick explanation of tour offerings and tour of resort by sales staff which we declined. Been there, done that in earlier visits to Mexico.
Room was fine but no decent furniture for putting clothing in drawers. Top shelf in closet and living out of suitcase and using shelves under tv was o.k. for a week. Top notch housekeeping! I complained that my tv reception was bad and within an afternoom a cable stretched covered in duct tape on walkway brought good reception, It led from utility locker across from rooms on walkway and led into the mysterious Studio B with same suite number. Next day, cable removed and issue resolved by on-site engineer. Good t.v. reception: yes!
Three pools with children and attentive parents using all three pools.Even main pool with swim up bar stools with folks with kindles and books running for high ground to avoid the splash attack.
First day was like visiting a Miami resort of spring break drunks if you got near the main pool. We could tell from lobby displays and being told the hotel was full up that conventioneers were partying with A-I wristbands. The first day was less than relaxing unless I wanted to relive my college spring break days.
Two restaurants: La Ribiera, an open air venue fronting the beach. Our waiter, Riga, was great and provided M air conditioning, a large fan. Beach vendors were very respectful. Andrea was back toward the lobby with adjacent gardens, koi ponds, peacocks, iguana and lots of birds.
Andrea and La Ribera would list offerings and times in weekly booklet. Andrea had both outside and inside (AC) seating. It would list each night as" formal" for dinner with a reservation call. I was used to GV so I wore my dockers and a nice shirt. Most folks wore shorts and formal flipflops. Not really appreciated at any GV five diamond restaurant but fully acceptable here.
Great service and a tip was always remembered with good seating and memory by wait staff on your preferences.
As weekend approached, a new convention and the resort was likely full again. The previously vacant Studio B of our room number became alive with a huge, loud, loud party with people behind our shared door yelling, talking, and imbibing in a big way. Several calls to staff finally stopped the din and they moved on to make another part of the hotel as a wake up call.
Sorry, next time we will pay more to Casa V or GV. Relaxation is what we wanted and maybe less conventioneers and kids in an adult pool is more to our liking. We hated to leave a Velas resort on a bad note.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your capsule on your recent visit to Velas Vallarta. Your knowledge of the resorts of the Velas Group is very admirable, as you are also familiar with Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit and with Casa Velas Puerto Vallarta. Velas Resorts does offer 3 different products in the way of hotels. Each one with a different set of dynamics, and of course, all with varying rates. Velas Vallarta is advertised as family friendly as the suites are quite large, even with full kitchens in order to cater to parents with children, as well as for couples on a honeymoon. The “Affordable Luxury” tag that we are described as on our web site is quite that. And as you mentioned, Grand Velas and Casa Velas do offer a finer level of product. All at a higher cost of course. I am pleased to read that you mention some of the positive aspects of our resort, and I do sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. But be rest assured, that based on the quantity of very good commentaries, we believe that we are meeting or exceeding the expectations of the great majority of our cherished clients. Thank you for your loyalty to Velas Resorts and we look forward to hosting you again at any of our resort options.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,730 reviews
7.6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,946 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $304 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing