We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat right on the beach”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat right on the beach”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have owned and stayed here a few times and love it each time. You can relax at the pool or find many activities daily in and around one of the pools or on the beach. Walk to the nearby marina for more shops and plenty of restauarants. The grounds are beautiful and well kept with many of the local flora including banana and coconut trees. Several Iguana and peacocks roam throughout the grounds. Our one bedroom had a full kitchen, balcony overlooking the pools and ocean, firm, comfortable mattress, flat screen TV with a few english channels including CNN, ESPN, and others but no DVD or movies.. There is exercise equipment available and a small store. See my restaurant reviews for this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for building #2 above the 4th floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randycoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Randy for your continued loyalty to Velas Vallarta. As a member you will know very well the feel of the resort, the friendly service and the comfort of the suites. Which is why as you say “you love it each time”. As an added note you may have noticed that we revamp different areas of our gardens each year so that they evolve into a new experience for you each time you return. I am pleased to read that you have found various things to do in and around the resort, including activities and beach walking. Thank you Randy and please be assured that your motivating comments will be posted for our employees to read and to see the fine job that they are doing. Thank you again sir.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLART
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,747
    674
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,496
1,206
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We became members in 2011 while staying at Velas Vallarta for a friends wedding because we loved the property and service and this was our first time staying as members. We brought another couple with us and we all had an awesome vacation. We had free transportation to and from the airport and as soon as we arrived at the resort we were greeted with exceptional service that lasted throughout the entire week. The first thing we did was to go down to the pool where we met Marcelino who ended up taking phenomenal care of us throughout our entire stay always with a big smile and awesome personality. Marcelino was always diligent about checking in with us to bring us food and beverages whenever needed. My husband and I enjoyed 90 minute massages at the spa by Jenny and Faby that were out of this world and we highly recommend the spa services. We kept room service and housekeeping pretty busy and they did an outstanding job. We met Juan (not a resort employee) on the beach who helped us to schedule our private fishing/snorkeling and dune buggy/ziplining trips. Juan and his business partners were very professional and we had a great time on our excursions. We wish we could give this review 4 and a half stars but only a 4 or a 5 is allowed. Thank you Velas Vallarta for a remarkable vacation. We will definitely see you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Jacquelyn for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a remarkable vacation and that you were able to make friends with some of our staff members. Marcelino, Jenny and Fabiola have a combined 27 years of providing professional service at a personal level at Velas Vallarta showing their glowing attitude towards our guests such as yourselves. Jacquelyn, you can be rest assured that on your next visit to your second home, you will find many of the same friendly faces to help provide you with another remarkable vacation.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My mom and dad bought a membership to Velas over 10 years ago and we as a family have NEVER regretted it. The staff is amazing! Donald in Guest Services knows the importance in customer service and displays it 100% of the time. Beatrice in Member Services is wonderful. She is approachable and goes way beyond her job description. And ALL of the wait staff as well as the cleaning staff are fantastic. The guys at the pool remember you (as well as your likes) which shows that they truly care. The beds are comfy. The rooms are very clean and make you feel very much at home. We do a lot of cooking and eating together as a family (usually between 5 to 11 people) and we have never had a problem. If we are missing anything needed for a big dinner, they immediately hunt the item down and run it right up. The grounds are gorgeous. They are continually maintaining the area so that it is extremely lush and a true get away. We love staying on the left side of the resort (when facing the ocean) due to the fact that we can eat outside in the morning without melting but also enjoying the evening sunset. We partake in quite a bit of the activities throughout the day and they are fun and really geared to everyone and anyone.
We don't do "all inclusive" since we do like to cook and explore all the wonderful restaurants throughout all of Puerto Vallarta. Therefore I do not have a comment on that aspect of the resort.
Overall, we look forward to our visit to Velas every year and as I said in the title...this is our home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for either the right or the left buildings (3 or 4). The one in the middle doesn't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Laura, thank you so much for your splendid review on the resort and the vacation experience that you feel with each visit. The persons that you mentioned are an integral part of the planning of our operations, and also in the hands on caring of each of our guests. Beatrice has a professional and proactive service ethic which mixes greatly with her outgoing personality. Many of the different departments that you mention, from the wait staff to the cleaning staff, have similar employees such as Beatrice which work together to provide a fantastic vacation and a sense of “home away from home” as you so nicely describe it. Laura, thank you sharing your thoughts and all the Velas personnel will be proud and further motivated when reading your comments. Take care and greetings to your whole family.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were given a free ride from the airport to the hotel, and the experience started there. We were greeted by some of the best customer service I have ever experienced, and there was a mix up with our room, which was promptly changed. As soon as we got the the (new) room, we headed to the pool -- a great atmosphere, as well as the beach. Food is better in the restaurant closer to the lobby than the one at the beach, so just keep that in mind. Overall amazing experience!

The only negative part of the experience was the timeshare presentation we sat through in order to get the free zipline, but that's standard when in Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Samantha for your review on your recent vacation with us. Our goal is to have all aspects of our operation run as smoothly and correctly as possible. I am happy that we were able to change your suite to one with a view that you were wishing for. The restaurant closest to the lobby is Andrea, our first rate gourmet dining option. I am pleased that that was to your liking and that overall your stay was an “amazing experience”. Of course our optional Vacation Club presentation has some rewards for our guests that choose to participate, including the very famous “zipline” or canopy tour that you received. A somewhat expensive adventure but with our showing our Club to you, you were able to enjoy the tour on us. Samantha, thank you again for taking the time in sharing your amazing experience, and also for selecting Velas Vallarta for your vacation destination.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We own at Velas Vallarta and this was our visit . It was an enjoyable week, All of the staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Nice room, very comfortable, The view from our room was downtown Puerto Vallarta which was very pretty at night.
Good food and relaxing atmosphere.
Will definitely return for another week in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you Cheryl for your pleasant comments. It is nice to read that you really enjoyed your week, and that we provided for you another wonderful and relaxing stay. You are right when you describe the view of Puerto Vallarta from the resort, it is a very stunning panorama in the day or night with the Pacific Ocean in the foreground and the Sierra Madre mountains as the backdrop. Thank you again Cheryl and we hope to see you again soon.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been to this resort a few times and I always come away with a great experience. I love to sit by the pool and relax but there are activities if you want to explore them. I love the service. room and the food is excellent and I can't wait to go back. Each time I go the staff recognizes us and they make our experience feel like home. I can't wait to go back next year!!!!

Room Tip: We have a suite - the room is great and the balcony overlooks the grounds. I love to sit in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your happiness of visiting with us. I am glad that you cannot wait to come back each year. To us that means that we are doing a very consistent job with our product and service. I hope that your future vacations at Velas Vallarta will create a sense of “being at home” just like your previous trips. Thank you Steve, and we will be awaiting your return.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We received this stay as a wedding gift. They handled the accommodation, we handled the AI fee.

The short version: The room was huge and welcoming. The pool was relaxing. The food was fantastic. But most of all, the staff completely blew my mind with how eager they were to help us have a great time.

The staff were the best staff of any resort I've ever stayed at. Again and again, they went out of their way to make us smile and help us have a great time. The food was very, very good. We had no trouble making reservations at the restaurant, though honestly, the "no reservations needed" restaurant, in every case we encountered, had better food. They tended to make the "beach drinks" (pina coladas, daiquiris, margaritas, etc) a bit weak, but you can ask for a shot on the side, and re-mix it to your liking.

There was really only one thing that disappointed me--there was no hot tub/Jacuzzi, which seemed a little odd to me. It would have been nice to have at night.

Toward the end of our stay, a huge group from some kind of corporate retreat showed up--almost all men. They hung out at one pool, which we nicknamed "the sausage-fest pool." Any time my blushing bride walked without me, she was whistled and hollered at. The resort was no longer the quiet retreat we had been enjoying, but they stayed concentrated enough that we were mostly able to avoid them.

Room Tip: It seems to me that all the rooms are great locations. The one-bedroom suite was more than enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slonermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and congratulations on your recent wedding. I am very happy that you felt that the staff was the best of any resort that you have ever stayed at. One of our goals is to create a great feeling of comfort and friendliness for our guests in all facets of our service. Please note that our drinks are moderately measured for taste and relaxation. We do this in order to provide a stable beverage for our guests (not to be skimpy at all). However, as you have mentioned, one can customize their order to their particular taste and we will be happy to please. The nice advantage of a resort having three swimming pools is that one can always find a quiet oasis in which to relax and converse in tranquility, or if you like, to swing to the music at the aqua bar. However if there is ever an uncomfortable moment in our pool area you can be rest assured that we have trained personnel which can help to make sure that everybody is taken care of. Thank you again for having selected Velas Vallarta for your honeymoon, and I hope that we can be your hosts for the many anniversaries yet to come. Take care.
LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,194 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,808 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing