We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time back”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4th time back”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our 4th visit to Velas and they have all been great. We were there for a week the end of April with our friends from Denver. They are owners so we are so happy they include us on their trips. Everything is just as beautiful and the people all so wonderful. We had so much fun with the waiters in both restaurants and some remembered us from last year. Everyone was great but a few made our stay even better, just a few names Adrian, Teodora and Juan in Andreas and David who kept us laughing all week. Raul in La Ribera is not only a great waiter but a wonderful singer as well. Every meal we had was wonderful and they treated us like we were someone special. I don't like to say anything negative because we enjoy it so much but the entertainment is getting old after 4 years, we have seen it many times, could use a change.
The rooms are getting a bit old and worn but are kept very clean, we have always had great rooms but this time we got a studio, connected to our friends 1 bedroom. The studio has no balcony and you can't open the windows anymore so there was a strong mildew smell probably from the air conditioner. We would open all the doors and the balcony and it would go away but was there when we got back again after been closed u, and in the morning. They did check the AC and gave us some scented candles but it didn't help much. We should have requested a change but didn't. I'm sure these rooms don't get used much and that is why the strong smell, but it was a nice room. It would be great if they could put new windows in that you could open the top part and get fresh air, we used to leave our bedroom windows open but it must be a security issue now that they are locked shut. This is just a very minor glitch in an otherwise great place. A special thanks to Louis Miguel for all his advise and help.

Laurie, Mike, Brenda & Clark

Room Tip: some studios don't have balconies which are a must when you are so near the ocean so you can en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieCalgaryAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your continued preference in choosing us as your vacation destination each year. It is correct when you describe our studio suites and not being able to open the windows. Of course it is nice to be able to have the windows open at your convenience, however we were finding that the same guests would at times climb through the window when forgetting their key, instead of going to the reception desk to obtain a new one. We had them sealed as a security measure and also one of image. It never looks good to see guests using the window instead of the door. We are also analyzing options on your other points in order that you will find nice surprises in your upcoming visits with us. Thank you for your observations and enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,751
    675
    163
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,499
1,207
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed one week at the Velas Vallarta. It is a small but lovey resort. We have stayed there before. Request a upper floor so you can have an ocean view from your balancy. The rooms are fine and large; however the living room area sofa leaves something to be desired. Since we traded through RCI we had to buy the all-inclusive. It is expensive, but does include all food and drink. We ate most of our meals at the Restaurant Andrea. A special treat was watching the peacocks. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't do the timeshare but I assume it was like other long timeshare presentations. We would return again.

Room Tip: for internet, go to Starbuck. The bus is very reliable and inexpensive, very easy to go into the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to host you again in the tranquil month of May. The peacocks that you mentioned are a family of 5 brothers and sisters. If you recall you will normally see them all together wherever they may be. Very seldom do you see them venture by themselves. When you return again you will be sure see them as mature adults with their spectacular plumage in front of our restaurants for breakfast. Thank you for sharing your comments and enjoy summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our honeymoon was fabulous. The food was very good, service was very good. Clean and friendly waitstaff. I do wish that the poolside service started earlier in the day as both my wife and I are early risers, but room service was very reasonable and accommodating

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Very good point on having pool service starting earlier. Our Aquabar wait staff has a schedule from 11am to 7pm and of course our restaurants are opened for breakfast at 7am. Before our pool team gets in our waiters from the restaurants can make the rounds in the pool for the few guests that start early and ensure that they too, along with the guests in the restaurants are satisfied and well attended in the early hours. Thank you for your suggestion and we'll put it into affect immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fraser valley,BC, canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ok we arrived to velas on May 11th, older but very well kept property. We stayed in a 1 bedroom timeshare suite and was very dated needed to be upgraded a bit but very clean and acceptable. All inclusive shoud lhave included internet usuage of somesort, 2 places to eat which were very good , food was great quality and they had theme nights daily..Activities were lacking but this is a smaller quieter older resort. Service was on an off...Some were outstanding some was very poor to non existance. We rarely had beach service while we watched other 'mexican" guests getting premier service. we were not happy about that. The theme of lack of bar service and pool/beach service was main complaint. Room service was quick and always fresh and good.. REVIEW YOUR BILL UPON CHECKOUT, we reviewed our bill and found servers added "tips" for themselves...( the all incl had 11% tip fee added and they promoted as no need to tip, relax and enjoy) . We did tip additional on exceptional service. Spa service was ok not the best i personally had...as all inclusive you shoud lhave % discounts of spa, store and retail shop, we asked and never got it. So in conslusion, was an ok resort, well maintained, beautiful views, good location close to airport and marina...staff was lacking and you cant trust them, watch out for money and tipping.. we found most people brush off the bad things on a vacation and are happy to be away. We based this trip on all the good reviews be weary and a string 3 out of 5 as an honest review. our next reviews coming up is rocky mountaineer and cayman islands...WATCH OUT FOR TIMESHARE FOR Fractional Vacation Club.... We are glad we didnt buy after staying a few days..Not as sale people say it is and at a $45000 for 25 weeks of vacation time..research timeshares if you decide to buy...before you go...

Room Tip: ask for ocean view on higher floor...we were in building 2 which any room gives you a great view (hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingmonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your detailed account of your recent stay with us. It is important for a business to gather constructive feedback from it's clients in order to improve and/or correct some issues and we are certainly working behind the scenes to rectify a few points that you had mentioned. Our guests do indeed receive discounts on Spa, Convenience Store and Boutique when the product or service is signed to the suite. The discounts are then applied upon check out and we do this in order to assure that the correct guest is entitled to the correct discount. That is why we ask when a guest arrives to leave credit open on their suite in order to take advantage of the benefit. Cash or credit card payments in those areas do not receive discounts. Our only wish was that perhaps a supervisor was called for in order to explain and rectify any issue you may of had while you were here as our guests. We here at Velas certainly wish the best for you and your wife and for the baby thats on it's way. We hope to see the three of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Review and revise entertainment - add more trips or outings - otherwise it is the PERFECT place to relax and receive the best service in a carefree spotless resort - never slept better!

Now if only the airlines can make their end easier - used to be easy, now long to travel from St. Louis - to PVR - what was once a 2-3 hour plane ride, has turned into a full-day of travel.

Fitness center is too small but enjoyed going to Casa Velas to work out there; brief shuttle ride or east walk/run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
You made a nice point concerning exercising here in Velas Vallarta. Apart from our own excercise room our sister resort Casa Velas offers their fitness equipment to our guests staying at Velas for no extra charge. Casa Velas as you mentioned is just a short one minute ride away and our past guests are very pleased about that perk. You will remember that Casa Velas is an adult only resort so your kids would not have been able to workout with you. Now if we can just arrange for some more flights from St. Louis all will be perfect. Thank you for your comments and of course we'll see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Will go back every yr!!!!!Great restaurant with different them of food every night.Pool is BIG with quieter--warmer pool side and other side is where the action is with games and swim up bar.Decent work-out room

Room Tip: everywhere we travel always end up comparing to Vellas-----AWESOME place!!!!!!HAd a great ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank smamtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
When reading your review about our theme dinners you made us all hungry here in our Guest Relations Department. For dinner options you can count on Mexican, Italian, Oriental, Pizzas, Spanish, French, South Pacific Seafood and of course our popular Mexican Fiesta with everything included. And all that is just for dinner. So for dining options there are no limits even at 2am. Just pick up the phone to order room service and that hunger will be comfortably satisfied. Thank you for your observations and now it's time for us to eat. Take care and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had been going to the Riveria Mayan side of Mexico for years renting a house but decided it was time to pamper ourselves with the All Inclusive option so having gone to Velas in the past we switched this year to make Velas our home for our winter trip each year. Velas is all that you can ask for and more. The staff on all levels is the best and by the end of our 2 weeks we felt we made lasting friendships with many. We love sitting poolside each day and in the evening enjoy Andrea and its' wonderful food. The people of Puerto Vallarta are warm and welcoming.

Only a few things would make our yearly trip to Velas even better. Free WiFi and better entertainment in the evening. We have seen the same shows over the years. We would love to be able to come down to the lobby and listen to music, dance and people watch more often....but the same shows every time we come makes us retreat back to our rooms and play games vs enjoying more of the beautiful weather in the evening.

All in all though, if you are looking for a resort in PV I would highly recommend Velas...you will go once then want to go again.

Room Tip: There really is no bad room. We stayed years ago in a studio and while you do not have a balcony an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so pleased to read that your new winter vacation home is here in Puerto Vallarta and more specifically here at Velas Vallarta. You can expect to see many of the same smiling faces here that you have seen over the years as a family like loyalty has developed between the employees and the resort. I can also say that you can expect to see some changes to our entertainment program that will hopefully be to your liking. In the meantime enjoy your summer up north and we'll see you again this winter. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,205 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,810 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing