We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puerto Vallarta in March”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Puerto Vallarta in March”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Review and revise entertainment - add more trips or outings - otherwise it is the PERFECT place to relax and receive the best service in a carefree spotless resort - never slept better!

Now if only the airlines can make their end easier - used to be easy, now long to travel from St. Louis - to PVR - what was once a 2-3 hour plane ride, has turned into a full-day of travel.

Fitness center is too small but enjoyed going to Casa Velas to work out there; brief shuttle ride or east walk/run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
You made a nice point concerning exercising here in Velas Vallarta. Apart from our own excercise room our sister resort Casa Velas offers their fitness equipment to our guests staying at Velas for no extra charge. Casa Velas as you mentioned is just a short one minute ride away and our past guests are very pleased about that perk. You will remember that Casa Velas is an adult only resort so your kids would not have been able to workout with you. Now if we can just arrange for some more flights from St. Louis all will be perfect. Thank you for your comments and of course we'll see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,731
    668
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,480
1,201
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Will go back every yr!!!!!Great restaurant with different them of food every night.Pool is BIG with quieter--warmer pool side and other side is where the action is with games and swim up bar.Decent work-out room

Room Tip: everywhere we travel always end up comparing to Vellas-----AWESOME place!!!!!!HAd a great ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank smamtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
When reading your review about our theme dinners you made us all hungry here in our Guest Relations Department. For dinner options you can count on Mexican, Italian, Oriental, Pizzas, Spanish, French, South Pacific Seafood and of course our popular Mexican Fiesta with everything included. And all that is just for dinner. So for dining options there are no limits even at 2am. Just pick up the phone to order room service and that hunger will be comfortably satisfied. Thank you for your observations and now it's time for us to eat. Take care and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had been going to the Riveria Mayan side of Mexico for years renting a house but decided it was time to pamper ourselves with the All Inclusive option so having gone to Velas in the past we switched this year to make Velas our home for our winter trip each year. Velas is all that you can ask for and more. The staff on all levels is the best and by the end of our 2 weeks we felt we made lasting friendships with many. We love sitting poolside each day and in the evening enjoy Andrea and its' wonderful food. The people of Puerto Vallarta are warm and welcoming.

Only a few things would make our yearly trip to Velas even better. Free WiFi and better entertainment in the evening. We have seen the same shows over the years. We would love to be able to come down to the lobby and listen to music, dance and people watch more often....but the same shows every time we come makes us retreat back to our rooms and play games vs enjoying more of the beautiful weather in the evening.

All in all though, if you are looking for a resort in PV I would highly recommend Velas...you will go once then want to go again.

Room Tip: There really is no bad room. We stayed years ago in a studio and while you do not have a balcony an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so pleased to read that your new winter vacation home is here in Puerto Vallarta and more specifically here at Velas Vallarta. You can expect to see many of the same smiling faces here that you have seen over the years as a family like loyalty has developed between the employees and the resort. I can also say that you can expect to see some changes to our entertainment program that will hopefully be to your liking. In the meantime enjoy your summer up north and we'll see you again this winter. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burk's Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Staff is always very accommodating! When we bring friends and family who are not members they want to book back at this resort because of the staff and the clean friendly surroundings. Real People on Real Holidays stay at this resort! Privacy is respected by Staff! Food is Excellent! Water Aerobics are fun each day at noon! Beach is Relaxing! Truly a Pleasant Experience in Mexico within walking distance to the Marina for outside resort local cuisine! Try It! You'll Love It!

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suites are spacious with a Kitchen if visitors have special needs for food preparation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our resort. We understand that when a guest invites friends and family to share what they have experienced in past visits there is a certain pressure to impress your guests. With our service orientated philosphy and gorgeous product it is difficult to let them down. So be rest assured that when you invite newcomers with you, you will have scored some big points with them thanks to your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lori and I had an amazing time as we do every time that we stay at Velas Vallarta. The resort was spotless, the restaurants were top notch, and the weather was perfect. Morcelino made sure that we had everything that we could possibly need while we were poolside. He was the hardest working person at the pool and always had a smile on his face. Morcelino rocks!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I always enjoy reading comments from our repeat guests in order to gauge the consistency of our product and service and I note that with your comments that we are doing quite well in keeping up with your expectations. In referring to Marcelino in the Aqua Bar you should know that him and others are the example that all our staff should strive to exhibit. His ability to think ahead and create a "wow!" amongst our suntanning friends is noted in the management level. He is a prized addition to our 520 employees. Thank you for your continued patronage and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second visit to Velas Vallarta, and it lived up to all of our expectations and then some. We were so excited by the free room upgrade which we did not know of till we checked in. We got an ovean view and balcony for the price of the least expensive room because of Expedia. We also received a free bottle of wone and five chocolate covered strawberries when we first entered our room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeZCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for expressing your surprise and gratitude for the amenities that you received upon check in. Actually Expedia has a select group of clients called "Elite" who automatically receive these perks. With your reservation Expedia advises us of your Elite status and the preprogrammed benefits are automatically entered into your file before your arrival. So congratulations on your preferred status and it will be an honour for us to be your hosts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Velas Vallarta for a family vacation with my husband and two toddlers. The resort is not huge, which I liked because I was with small kids, but others may not. There are two restaurants, one is right on the water. The restaurants change their menu each night. I found the food to be good and pretty typical for an all inclusive. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and helpful. The catered to my two toddlers and often brought us special things we needed to eat, etc. The beach was clean and perfect. There are vendors, but I didn't find it overwhelming. The water is a bit rough at the beach, but fun for playing in waves. You can get a massage right on the beach in a hut, which was marvelous.
Kids Club: We couldn't use the kid club b/c one of my sons was too young, but they did have some activities we could do like a treasure hunt, little puppet plays outside, and face painting. You can also check out floats and sand toys at the kid club which I found AWESOME. My kids were so entertained getting to play with new floats every hour or two they were in heaven.
Location: The hotel is near the harbor and very close to the airport. This was great for us b/c my kids couldn't take much more after travel after the flight. The harbor was cute with restaurants and you can walk there in a few minutes. It felt safe and I jogged there daily with my kids. We tried to save money and buy extra sunscreen at the harbor, but it was just as pricey as the hotel. We did go to downtown Puerta Vallarta one night and werent overly impressed. It could have been we had two little kids though. I think Playa Del Carmen is much cuter and hip.
Rooms: The rooms were a bit dated but great b/c they come in different sizes. We had a one bedroom with a pull out couch for the kids and a huge balcony. Having a kitchen was great b/c we could have coffee in the morning while the kids had cereal and watch shows. The room service pizza was great and we ordered at least one a day and always had leftovers in the fridge to snack on.
Other: The grouds are beautiful with iguanas, peacocks and flowers everywhere. I felt for the amount we paid, it was a great deal and we had a great vacation. I can't comment on the entertainment b/c we never stayed up that late.

Room Tip: Might want to be away from the lobby because sometimes they have a band at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagochica801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
As you so well wrote our resort is very friendly towards children and the needs of parents with children. Our goal as a condominium all inclusive is to make the little things easier for parents because after all you too are on vacation. From the 24 hour room service to the kitchen complement which is restocked daily, the chore of satisfying the little ones on vacation is that much easier. And I agree, the pizza is fabulous! Thank you so much for your interesting comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,777 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing