We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as wonderful the 20th time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as wonderful the 20th time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My Grandson was married on the Jetty. It was a beautiful wedding. The hotel took care of all the details. The wedding planner, Ana Vite was exceptional! Donald Willis helped make it memorable
also. All the members services staff were great! The waiters at the beach (Carlos & Eric) were very attentive! The staff at both restaurants were great! I have been a member since 1993 and I have never had a bad experience there. All my family and new family now love Velas Vallarta. The activities director Christian is doing a great job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hola and thank you for having chosen Velas Vallarta for your special day. I remember the wedding well and I must say that when the invitees started to cry during the ceremony some of the staff started to cry also myself included. It was a very special and emotional event, one that was celebrated joyously until 1am. We are honoured to have hosted such two beautiful families and are proud to have contributed to the bonding of the loving couple. We look forward to seeing you in the future to celebrate their many anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,648
    648
    162
    56
    47
See reviews for
1,430
1,163
53
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visted Velas Vallarta in April 2013 and had a great vacation there. The resort didn't appear too busy we were always able to get a good spot at the pool even at 2 in the afternoon and never a problem for dinner reservations. The service staff at the pool were friendly and great!
The reastaurants were all good but our favorite was Andreas. The service was excellent and our 2 favorite servers Efrin and Manuel never disappointed us.
We had a studio room on the third floor which was good but I did miss having a balcony. So if you want a balcony off your room go for the one bedroom suite even if its just 2 people. Maid service came twice a day, cleaning the room late morning and then turning down the bed aroun 9pm in the evening and taking away any wet towels.
We hated to leave at the end of the week and are already planning a trip back in the new year.

Room Tip: Studio suites have no balcony so get a one beroom if the balcaony is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1976_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your contribution and for your advice on suite descriptions. Our studios are our most economical category that we offer. They are nicely appointed with kitchenette and luxury amenities. Our one bedroom suite is approximately twice the size with a balcony off of the living room and of course they are more expensive. So whatever your needs and style are we have something for all ranges. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I purchased a membership in 2011 and recently returned for my second visit. The reservation process was perfect leading up to the trip answering any and all concerns, since this time around I am now a vegan.
Checked in and was given an amazingly large room on the top floor, they stocked my fridge with almond milk and fruits. Jorge the head chef spoke with us about our food requests and prepared us some spectacular amazing lunches. He was not on hand at dinner and so they were not as great, a lot of the staff had no clue what vegan was,but we were served decent meals that left us happy overall. we did not starve or find it difficult to eat there. I will upload some shots of the meals we were served.
The service staff in the Andreas restaurant were friendly and attentive, especially to the large groups at dinner who probably left large tips, so my service at dinner was very minimal at best. my only complaint really. I think all guests should be treated equally regardless of the size of the group seated at the table.
Poolside staff were great as always with drinks, but again, to get service you had to be leaving tips or they often walked past you.
We bought the wifi internet,,, 80 bucks for the week, and it did not work in our room at all..unless we stood on the balcony, mentioned this to front desk staff a few times and got no response other than oh it works in the rooms... well it didnt in mine.
Having spent a lot of money for the membership, I think that should be included for members.
The grounds were maintained 10000 times above any other resort I have been too, they power wash the pool area and chairs EVERY night, constant cleaning. The most impressive in that regard.
I really enjoy this resort overall and do look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: For an amazing sunset ask for building 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
In terms of special diets or requests we are very open in creating special dishes based on individual wishes. Many times we will receive correspondence beforehand concerning dining preferences or needs and normally the guest will be presented to our executive chef upon check in to explain exactly the dining options and how they would like to dine. Our restaurant captains are then informed of the guest so that we can be better prepared to satisfy the taste buds in the way that they desire. By the way, your photos of your dish selection and of the pool are truly remarkable. We congratulate you and will be waiting for you on your next visit to Velas Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My daugher my wife and I were there at the end of March

We got a 1 bedroom suite on the 6th floor with views of the garden area, pools and beach/ocean in the distance. had large balconies with table, chairs.The rooms were always kept very clean.
Stocked kitchen with a basket of goodies stocked daily with oatmeal, cereal, chips, nuts, soups, and such. They also stock the refrigerator with water, sodas, beer, juice & milk.

The Gardens and pools were well kept and a lot of games to join in at the pool.Excellent service in the rooms bars, restaurants, Staff are very nice and polite.

Lunch by the pool or beach can't be beaten, sitting drinking having nice food watching the sun go done was very nice, not a lot of choice at the buffet but everything good.

We loved all the peacocks and iguanas roaming around.

There was only one problem, we saw a lot a person with no bracelet. These people arrive very early in the morning and take most of the place with table and umbrella at the pool. All owner can came at the resort anytime. We saw a family (more than 20) arrive with her cooler full of beer and food take place around the pool, make noise, eat and drink in the pool

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Recently returned from PV. Been there 4-5 times and ALWAYS had the best experience at Velas Vallarta. Older property, but beautifully maintained. Excellent service in the rooms bars, restaurants. Pool service is top notch. Try to always sit in Tino's area as he is the BEST. Lunch by the pool or beach can't be beaten. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your contribution and for your advice on suite descriptions. Our studios are our most economical category that we offer. They are nicely appointed with kitchenette and luxury amenities. Our one bedroom suite is approximately twice the size with a balcony off of the living room and of course they are more expensive. So whatever your needs and style are we have something for all ranges. Again thank you for taking the time to share your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My daugher & I were there in Apr.2011. The pool was great, food was great and the staff were great. Room was good as well. Could see the ocean from our bed. The nightly entertainment was not as good as I would have liked. Very few people attended. It was a little more quieter than we like but still good. They should have a more private area for a lounge. Found the waiters were a great bunch of guys and never had to worry about our drinks. They would also bring you a lunch if you didn't want to go to the restaurant. They don't have much of a buffet - mainly sit down. We went for dinner one night at the resort and my daugher ended up feeling quite ill from being out in sun. They came right away, offered her a cold towel and water and brought a wheel chair to take her up to our room. They even phoned later to see how she was doing and since she didn't eat much of her dinner asked if they could bring something for her to eat. Next day they would ask how she was when they saw her. That was over and beyond and made our trip that much better. Didn't really go on the beach but it was nice. We have been thinking of returning just not sure when.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelilahF53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Of all the resorts we have stayed in world wide, we have found the Club Velas to be the most beautiful and relaxing and friendly, after 2 years of not being there, the pool waiter still remembered my husband's favorite drink,"The Dirty Monkey".and my favorite drink is the strawberry daquiria, all blended drinks were made with real fruit. YUM YUM !!!! It has 3 pools conected by a moat,don't even have get out of water to go from pool to pool,the pool closet to beach has a swimup bar.there are peacocks and fish in ponds thru out the grounds. There are 3 excelent restaraunts on site, the beachfront restaraunt was our favorite. Also the majority of the staff spoke english.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up ,gives the best view pools,and oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on our resort. One point you mentioned was the the ability of the staff to speak English. As you can well imagine much of our line staff (housekeepers, gardeners, etc) are recruited locally and although their work ethic is strong and their personalities are open the English that they possess is basic. We do have classes here on property for any employee to improve as well as a roving instructer going from work area to work area focusing on the English aspect of their duties. Many guests really enjoy the interraction with the staff and almost every time they can get their meaning across, but every time you can count on a friendship being formed with just a few words and a smile. See you soon, and in the meantime we'll be working on a few more English phrases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
9.4 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#33 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelClick, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing