We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 migration of the Gringos to Mexico”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2013 migration of the Gringos to Mexico”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from a great trip to PVR and Velas Vallarta. This year we took 5 other couples with us. The resort was wonderful, the food was5 star and the staff was excellente! This the 7th year in row that we have been there. This years trip included a 4hour whale watching and a tour of the Sierra Madre by Vallarta Adventures. Going to Velas is like coming home, we have good friends in the staff. A special shout out to Omar, Brenda, Elizabeth, Antonio and all the hostesses and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David7348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I like your comments concerning the nature that one can find here in Puerto Vallarta. The lush mountains and the fascinating ocean are all at your fingertips. I´ll also be sure to pass on your kind words to the employees mentioned. Thank you for your comments and insight, very delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,731
    668
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,480
1,201
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for our honeymoon in January. We stayed in a partial ocean front suite on the 8th floor, highest level. The balcony was large and had beautiful pink flowers adorning the overhang. We had a great view of the sunsets! Our room had a full kitchen living room area and bedroom. The room was clean and our Room Attendant took personal care of our belongings each day. I am a GM of a Marriott so I look for cleanliness and room imperfections within seconds of entering a guest room, I found nothing. We tipped our housekeeper almost daily, and felt she deserved every peso! Bathrobe and slippers made for a comfy extra when lounging around the room. We were poolside daily and had the pleasure of having Gilberto as our waiter 5 days out of 7. He anticipated our needs every day and let us relax to the point of not thinking. That is customer service, anticipating the needs of your guest!! Thank you Gilberto!! Again, we tipped on top of the "all inclusive" as it doesn't break down to much at the end of the day. We tipped on top of what was included at all meals but a few breakfast meals that didn't require much service. Please remember, they must split their tips with the host staff, bussers, bartenders, etc! They work very hard and deserve the extra tip! Service at breakfast and dinner was always impeccable, two restaurants to choose from daily with different cuisines nightly. The food was fine, nothing amazing but we were told but other guests that we met that the food was the best they've had at a Mexican all inclusive. My husband loved the green juice and chilequiles for breakfast! Nightly entertainment in the lobby area was fun, different themes nightly. Yoga on the jetty in the morning was beautiful, male instructor was wonderful. I'm sorry I cannot remember his name, but please let him know! He could tell I was stressed and pushed me harder to find the stretch that was needed to relax. Staff was long term and always friendly. Low turnover says a lot about a hotel, again from my experience another thing I look for while traveling. We enjoyed the music by the pool along with the ping pong table and bean bags game! Ocean was not swimmable but the amazing service at the resort made our honeymoon wonderful! Thank you so much! We needed some relaxation and found it at Velas Vallarta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpshanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for being very detailed in your review. As detailed as you are, we also attempt to make sure that the little things are taken in to account. It is that attention that separates good hotels from great hotels as you will surely know. Thank you again and we wish to host you in the future in order to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We come to Velas every year for the last 15 years. what i like is the consistency of staff and quality of service. The same staff is at the front door to say welcome back. The resturant and pool servers are there year after year, which tell me something about the management.
Our maid Rosa has cleaned our beautiful 3 bedroom unit for the last 15 years. And Donald Willis the Guest Services Manager, know us by name and greets us and provides outstanding service when we request.

Room Tip: come often and request room of choice early. Family with small children may want gound floor close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words concerning the hospitality and warmness of our resort. With as much experience as you have visiting us we hope to make you feel at home each and every visit. Your observation of the longevity of our staff is right on the mark. Rosa and many others have enjoyed their time catering to you and our many other repeat guests and that employee loyalty is demonstrated in our service and product. Again, thank you for your splendid comment and the 520 Velas employees look forward to seeing you for at least another 15 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our third visit to this resort and it gets better each year. The resort is immaculate in every way. The pool area is cleaned daily and the service is outstanding. The staff is so helpful and friendly. We found both resturants serving wonderful food. The Andre resturant is more formal and the food is gourmet all of the way. The waiters are wonderful and so
very very attentive. We had so much fun at both of the resturants. We love the feeling of
being so safe in this area. Everyone goes out of their way to help you in any way they can.
We are again looking at returning next year. It was our anniversary and Christian Isordia, the member services assistant made sure that it was an extra special visit for us.

Room Tip: If you have children a first floor would probably be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trudy60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your glorious review and also for selecting Velas Vallarta as your destination to celebrate your special occasion. Püerto Vallarta in general is known as a romantic getaway with terrific sunsets and picturesque backdrops all of which contribute to enhance the vacation experience. It sounds like Cristian went above and beyond in making your anniversary something extra memorable. It´s the little details such as that which add up to make special moments. Thank you again and we certainly wish to see you return for many more celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been going to Velas for 15 years & am always so impressed with the gardens, cleanliness and there willingness to make your stay a 5 star experience. I would like to thank Miguel,Cesar,Carlos,Alonso & Marcelino from the Agua Bar. They provide great service & show that extra special touch. You guys ROCK. If you go to Andrea's you will really enjoy the humour and sweetness of Alejandro, he is great. Also please notice beautiful Brenda at Ribera, she will make sure you get excellent service. All the pools are clean and arranged with enough room for privacy & shade. Rooms could use an update, but are always cleaned with attention to all details & they provide turn down service at night. I also agree with all of the 4-5 ratings posted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I will certainly be passing your nice comments to the Food and Beverage staff mentioned. They do the little extras in making our guests feel comfortable and well attended to. In many ways our personnel has the flexibility and authorization to creating a "WOW" with our guests. It is something very natural for us as persons and as an organization to truly make friends with you. Thank you for taking the time to share your memories with all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Puerto Vallarta this year with the first week being at their 5 star sister resort, Casa Velas, where we have stayed twice before (read my past reviews if interested). Now, after being really spoiled for a week we weren't sure what to expect moving to Velas Vallarta since we had never stayed there. Well, let me tell you, we were not at all disappointed. All the staff was wonderful and always smiled and said hello. Everyone from the restaurant staff, housekeeping, the front desk, to the Bellboys were always friendly and eager to serve you with what ever you needed. Some times they even thought of little extra things that we didn't think to ask for which made the stay even that much more enjoyable.

The grounds are beyond beautiful and the peacocks and iguanas that roam the grounds are very entertaining. Every thing is so well maintained and manicured - it really is a beautiful place to stay.

Our favorite thing to do was drag lounge chairs down to the ocean from 3:30 until sunset at about 6:30 and just have a relaxing time with the breeze off the water and watching the most beautiful sunsets. What REALLY made this enjoyable was the wonderful service provided by Marcelino from the pool area. He waited on us the first night and every night after that he watched for us and had our ice cold drink order ready for us as soon as we sat down by the sea. He kept the service running all through our "Happy Hour" with fresh cold drinks and snacks. It was so nice coming back to the resort after touring around in the hot sun to a friendly face with an ice cold drink all ready for us. Thanks again Marcelino for making our stay at Velas Vallarta extra special - your service is amazing!

Our one bedroom room was also very nice, clean and comfortable. The bed was so amazingly comfortable that we stripped back the covers, wrote down the name and are in the process of buying this very same mattress (thankfully it was made by a company in the USA).

The only thing we didn't really enjoy as much was the food. Now I know that we had just stayed at their 5 star hotel with excellent food but that really wasn't it. I guess this food reminded me of buffet food on a cruise ship. A lot of food but not necessarily the best tasting, plus they served the same thing every day. We did enjoy the convenience and selection at breakfast and the burgers and sandwiches for lunch by the pool. The all-inclusive fee here is half of Casa Velas, so it is understandable. I think I would stay here again, save some money on the fees and plan to eat dinner in town at one of the many wonderful restaurants Puerto Vallarta has to offer.

All in all, I was not disappointed in stepping down from a 5 star Velas to a 4 star Velas. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised and plan to return!

Room Tip: The rooms right in the middle of the horseshoe, building 2, get a lot of noise from the parties and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very interesting to stay at two of our properties on the same trip. To be able to experience the difference in ambience and come away satisfied with both says something about our philosophy as an organization. And it is not that one is better than the other, we are just distinct in our products as you have noted. The one common theme amongst our four hotels is our customer satisfaction which is highlighted in the large percentage of repeat guests that we have. From the Velas family to you we thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited Velas Vallarta a couple of weeks ago. The grounds are very well kept. Plenty of fun activities onsite. Staff is friendly and always there to please. Our room was very nice and we were made to feel at home. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemontana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. It certainly sounds as if we accomplished our goal and I will pass your comment on to the staff so they can see firsthand the result of their great work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,779 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing