We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well Located”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well Located”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Velas Vallarta is a very short taxi ride from the air port and located a short bus ride from the old town of Puerto Vallarta provides an added experience to this location. Wonderful rooms at a great setting on the beach with good dining make this a great place to stay while visiting Puerto Vallarta

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your delightful comment and you are correct in saying that the resort is well located. Only 4 or 5 minutes from the airport and 10 to 15 minutes and you are downtown. Many guests like to explore with the local bus system which is very economical and a nice experience. Taxis are available 24 hours to swiftly take you to your next adventure. So get around like the locals do and enjoy the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,727
    667
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,478
1,198
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent a week at Vellas -- our second trip there.
The place is very clean, pools are immaculate, the grounds are kept very green and pretty the views from our 2-bdrm room were great. ...Keep in mind that if you get a studio, there is a good chance you'll have a 'view' of a hotel next door or a parking lot...
As far as pressure from the time-share and partial-ownership (their new gimmick) people, just say "no". A simple, but polite, "thank you, not interested" does the trick.
We had four days of all-inclusive. The food is OK. Not bad at all, but not the kind that you'll remember to your dying days. They can not make a Margarita to save their lives -- just as for the ingredients in separate glasses and mix it yourself :-). All-inclusive -wise, we liked breakfasts better than dinners, but YMMV.
Overall, we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms with an ocean view have a good ocean view: the place is shaped like a horseshoe facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmitry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having never been to Puerto Vallarta, I was heading there expecting it would be much like Cancun or the Mayan - I was pleasantly surprised! The staff at this resort give you 'The Four Seasons' experience. I did not meet one staff member who was not courteous, helpful, friendly and willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible - that in itself would make me go back. Hotel rooms and grounds are very well taken care of and very clean. Food was very good and if you are on the all inclusive package it's a nice feature to be able to order off a menu in both restaurants and not limited to just the buffet. If I had one criticism, and by no means would it prevent me from going back, the lobby area and rooms although extremely clean are a bit tired and could use a face lift, a personal observation. Location is great. 5 minutes from the airport, 10 minute walk to the marina with a good choice of restaurants, 10 minute cab ride to the old town, lots of restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been staying here for 13 years on and off. The property is fantastic with peacocks and iguanas roaming the pool area. Three pools and lots of places out on the beach that are covered if you don't like direct sun. The units are spotless and include daily maid service. All the people affiliated with the property do a great job, EXCEPT, you cannot get to your room without going through the lobby where you are accosted by timeshare people everytime. Even if you say you are not interested they still bother you. The last 2 years they have also taken to calling the room late in the evening trying to get you to come to a "90 minute talk" The shortest 90 minute talk we ever attended was 6 hours. BEWARE !!!

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the lobby as possible if you are a light sleeper. They have nightly LOUD part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed 10 times at this gorgeous resort.. with several different guests of mine. More than anywhere in the world that I have stayed this is the friendliest, most welcoming, cleanest, most comfortable place ever . I only can stay a week at a time because of work, but I love it here. Lots of things to do and time to do nothing if that's what you want. I like to see the cruise ships sail into the harbor and I like to hear the peacocks in the beautiful gardens , watch the iguanas sun on the rocks by the many pools. And..the food and drinks are the very best. This
is paradise.

Room Tip: Have a better view the higher you are..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnutAptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, MN
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Velas Vallarta was a perfect getaway from the cold. The property is superbly manicured, the staff is SO helpful in every way, and the amenities were perfect. It was my first experience in Puerto Vallarta and I would definitely go back. Rooms were clean and nice with a balcony, pools (multiple) were set up to accomodate everyone, and the food was delicious. Happy Hour was a plus!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This property is very well maintained and is spotless in every way. The rooms are comfortable and our two bedroom suite offered lots of room for two couples. There is a large pool in a quiet area for those who wish to just relax, a kiddies pool and children's crafts and play area, a large pool with music and activities and then lots of covered cabanas on the beach. The service is excellent and the providers do their best to meet your every need. The beach is on the Pacific so the waves and undertow usually preclude swimming in the ocean, although we did see some people doing it.The food is very good, although the variety is somewhat limited.....not a problem if you are there for only a week, but it would for longer periods. Lots of lounges so no need to do the towel thing early in the morning. Great value in our view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North offer a view of the beautiful sinsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJudyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,545 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing