We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort in its day”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very nice resort in its day”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This resort is made up of a mix of private condos and hotel-owned suites. The resort is nice but due to age is somewhat 'tired'. While the exterior is maintained well, the suite we had was worn and not very well maintained with aging furniture, damaged marble floors and kitchen drawers that were very hard to open and close. On a positive note, the suites are very large and have all the requirements for self-catering. Because we booked from an 'owner', we received very limited mais service which had not been explained to us at booking time. While the resort only has 2 restaurants, they both change their menues several times per week and serve good food at quite a decent price. Andreas, reservations required, is the better of the two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am happy to read your review and pleased that you enjoyed the services and dining products that we offer. However, as you mentioned you had reserved in a private condominium where we have very little jurisdiction concerning the upkeep inside the unit. Just so you know, the hotel units are kept to a very high standard in question of amenties and comfort. Our suites even have two maid services per day with extra supplies given upon request. Thank you for your general comments and we do hope to see you with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,727
    667
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,478
1,198
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from an amazing vacation!!! As always, we were greeted with "welcome home" from the bellboys, some of these guys we have known for 13 years!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo...I loved the floor plan and we had plenty of room!! The view from he 5th floor was beautiful, but I still enjoy being up on the 7th or 8th floor for the best views. Daily maid service was outstanding, along with the turn down service at night. LOVE the beds and pillows!!!!!

The grounds and pool areas are beautiful, love that they heat the pools.

They put together a very nice members party on Monday evenings, with snacks and drinks.

Had a wonderful couples full body massage!!!

The staff were amazing as usual - enjoyed poolside activities from Christian and Fernando. The waiters were always asking if there was anything they could do for us. Again, we have known some of these guys for many, many years!!! Thank you Marcelino, Carlos, Luis, and Gilberto. And new to us this year was Reyna, she is amazing!!!!!

Enjoyed the food we did try, we especially love the breakfast at the La Ribera Steak House - can't go without seeing our favorite waiter, Adrian!! We are always greeted with a big smile and a hug from Brenda, the hostess!!

We also had a wonderful dinner at Andrea's one evening...the theme that evening was French and we all enjoyed our food. The service was outstanding!!

Even though we have been going to Velas for 22 years – I can honestly say that we cannot get enough of this place!!!: It is so hard saying goodbye to everyone (they are like family to us)….it takes us all morning to walk around and say our goodbyes…lucky for us, we own 2 timeshares here and we know that we will be back again and again!!!

I would not hesitatie to recommend Velas to anyone looking for an all-inclusive beach front resort in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Best view, 6th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEROFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

How can you tell you've had a good holiday? When all your expectations are met or exceeded. That certainly happened to us in our return to the Velas Vallarta. We had been there two years ago and had a great time. We were concerned it wouldn't live up to our memories. Didn't need to worry. As stated by others the experience begins with the service. The pool waiters, Marcelino and Reyna, knew what we wanted before we did and they were never wrong. For us the ultimate service experience was provided by Ivan and his assistant, Miguel (my husband's "tocayo") our servers at Andrea. We have eaten at Michelin rated restaurants and it was to our delight that, at an all-inclusive, Ivan and Miguel could bring to mind some of those experiences. They made our last night a particularly memorable experience. The food itself was very good and the menu changed each night which ameliorated the fact there are only two restaurants from which to choose.

Our days began with omelettes (created with a smile and care by Aurelia) and mimosas overlooking the beach. A walk on the beach, some water aerobics with Christian or Fernando and before you know it, it's banana colada time by the pool. There are more than enough lounges available in the sun or shade that there is no need to "reserve" them with your towel although it appears a few people can't break that annoying habit. The afternoons were filled with some Spanish lessons, some Mexican crafting, bingo and card games amongst other activities. Lunch was casual by the pool served by our waiters or occasionally at the beach-side restaurant. We enjoyed the included city tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide, Jessica, and highlighted by a hilarious (if maybe off kilter) trip to the tequila shop. There is evening entertainment with some very colourful Mexican entertainers and we particularly enjoyed casino night (play money) where we were able to make lots of new friends. Many of the guests are enthusiastic repeats which obviously speaks well and the staff, for the most part, seem to be dedicated, happy long-term employees. You can count on a friendly "hola" from all of the staff whether they are front desk staff or gardeners.

The whole resort is spotless and well-kept. Gardeners are busy every day; the maids not only clean your rooms each day but they sweep and wash your balcony every day as well! The "owners" of the gardens, the iguanas and the peacocks, are more than happy to share their abode and keep you entertained by their daily unscheduled visits. We highly recommend this resort to all - singles, families, retirees.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the south side - easy access and shaded most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESCOTT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was an all-inclusive timeshare trade experience for us. Everything about this resort (physically) is first class. The grounds are immaculate. There are peacocks and iguanas that share the gardens with the guests - a unique experience. There are plenty of shaded areas for the benefit of those who are sun restricted.

The accommodations were of an adequate size with daily maid service. The fridge was kept supplied with soft drinks, tea and beer. The snacks in the room were also refreshed daily.

The restaurants were the downfall of this resort. The service though was very attentive, sometimes too attentive. We had three steak meals at La Ribera Steak House that did not impress. All steaks were tough, stringy and overcooked. This included Filet Tenderloin, Rib Eye and New York Striploin. Why can't a so-called Steak House hire a chef who knows how to cook a steak? On another occasion, I had Scallops. They arrrived cold and basically raw. They were sent back only to be returned still raw, but warmer. Again they were sent back. This time they came back grilled but still not as cooked as they should have been.

We only had one situation at the Andrea Restaurant but it turned out ok. I ordered a Filet Tenderloin rare. It arrived almost blue. I ate it that way and it was wonderfully tender.

The rate paid for the all-inclusive was not warranted for the quality of food received.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RON K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to put your comments in public as our client feedback is imperative for us to grow and to perhaps make corrections to our service and product. You are correct when you mention the grounds and the user friendliness of our public areas. In question to the quality of our dining product I only wish that I had known of your dissatisfaction while you were here with us as we beleive that everything has a solution.
Again, thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been at this resort for 3 years in a row, every single time the service by all personnel has been outstanding. Pablo and Cristina restaurant chiefs, Marcelino on the pool deck, two Rafaels at the front desk, and the one that makes the impossible happen is Antonio; concierge
I am sure I am missing a lot of names, my apologies because everyone does their best to make guests feel at home, what Am I saying, better than home.
Every time we have been at this resort, has been in company of friends, so we are a group of 6 to 12 people at a time, we all have great stays here.
If you participate in the yoga class, beach volleyball, other games, and aquaerobics Christian makes you enjoy thos times to the max, He also hosts other night activities, always respectful and witty when possible and appropriate, very enjoyable young man.
The maids are prompt, discreet, and make sure you get whatever you ask or need, the nightly "courtesy: chocolate, bathrobes, extra towels or toiletries check gives an elegant touch to the bed and bathroom.
The cost per person is a great value with the ALL INCLUSIVE plan.
They made my wife's surprise birthday party a night to remember forever.

Room Tip: Call in advance if you are looking for specific location in the property
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HumbertoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a wonderful massage oceanside. Beautiful surroundings..gentle breeze..sounds of the ocean lapping on the beach. Jacinto waiting poolside with our specialized drinks. Friendly beach vendors. Awesome local bus right outside the front of the hotel. We love the Velas!!! In 18 days we will be returning to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary on Valentines day. Thank you Donald for making this upcoming visit and celebration so special. See you soon. Our love...Dana & Carolyn

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I researched several all-inclusive properties in and around the Puerto Vallarta area before our family vacation to Mexico. Once I compiled all of the information (room rates, amenities, all-inclusive specials, activities, etc.) I was pleasantly suprised to find Velas Vallarta offers the best "bang for the buck" when it comes to an all-inclusive family vacation. We've visited this property several times over the past few years and have always been very impressed with the grounds, the wonderful food and the friendly staff. I would recommend this property to other families planning a trip to Puerto Vallarta in 2013...enjoy!

Room Tip: Higher is better...the views of Banderas Bay are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenorGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,545 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing