We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Our Home Away from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is Our Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We started going to Velas Vallarta when our son was 5, and now he's 18. We have gone every summer since then, and absolutely love it! It's a very kid friendly place at the same time as being very romantic. He tells us that he sees us coming with him and his family when he has one. The view is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are divine, and the food is delicious! There are two restaurants, one right on the beach, and one very fancy inside (although both have cloth table cloths). I always say, and I'm not kidding, "The best Italian food I've eaten is in Mexico!" The pool is huge and has a lot going on if you want it (volleyball, water aerobics, kids games) and there's a really fun water canal between two huge pools. There are peacocks on the property, and iguanas that are adorable (and like pets, not the least bit dangerous), who will be sunning on a huge rock in the fountain part of the pool or on the side. The staff is really amazing and year after year the same staff work there, which is one of the reasons it feels like "going home" every year. We are from the U.S., and we feel completely safe. The front staff always check you in and out as you leave and come back to the hotel, and we've done a ton of day trips, or just gone into town for dinner or to shop. There's also wonderful authentic Mexican things (clothes, jewelry, wood carvings, etc.) to buy on the beach at very reasonable prices. Another nice feature is that Velas is near the airport. It is a little bit farther from the heart of downtown, but it's easy to get there by bus. The only negative is that for part of the day the bay water looks brown due to river water coming in, but this doesn't last long at all, and it isn't pollution, it's just stirring up the sand. Three years ago all 3 of us got licensed to scuba dive through Velas. Our classes ended up being private, just the 3 of us, with a terrific instructor who then took us to the bay to do our non-pool tests to get licensed. And it was MUCH cheaper than getting licensed in the U.S. We travel all over the world, as much as we can, but this is truly a place that we love and plan to spend at least a week at every year. I couldn't be more positive in recommending it! the fitness center is small, but you never have to wait in line, and it's air conditioned and terrific new equipment (and it's free/included in your price). If you want a massage, the massage therapists are fantastic! The rooms are kept really clean, chocolates on the pillow at night...it's just wonderful! Paradise!

Room Tip: typically the higher floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneBelknap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,622
    646
    161
    56
    47
See reviews for
1,420
1,148
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We travel quite a bit and Mexico is one of our very favorite "return to places". We try very very hard to return at least once a year. Over the years our time at Velas Vallarta has gotten better and better. The staff remember us and we them, the accomodations are unmatched anywhere we have stayed and the concierge staff (Geraldine is the girl we have worked with) has taken the time in advance to contact via email, skype, facetime, whatever she can to iron out all our questions and concerns ensuring ahead of our arrival that everything is perfect.

Do yourself a huge favor and try it :)

CJB

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjoanbombardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have vacationed at Velas Vallarta for three years and have been awed with each vacation. The resort, the staff, the cleanliness of the suite, and the ambiance of the facilities are remarkable. We call this our 'Mexican Paradise'. We are treated so well and delight in the food and drink, as well as the gorgeous, well maintained pool. For the time we vacation at Velas, we completely forget about the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the second floor. Views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey4192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved our stay there. After a couple of days we felt like family. Beautiful resort, friendly staff, great food. Don't know what could have made it better. We were there for two weeks and are looking forward to a three week stsy in 2013. Jack and Rebecca Curry. SPOKANE, WA.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackcurry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have had the chance to visit Velas Vallarta many times over the past 10 years or so. The food is excellent and the ability to sit and watch the sun go down at the La Ribiera restaurant is one of the highlights of any trip. Not only did I ask my wife to marry me on the beach in front of Velas, we spend out honeymoon there as well. We are visiting again very soon and bringing my parents along. It is not only a great place for couples, but also a very family friendly place as well. I want to underscore that it is not only a family friendly resort, but also a place you are treated AS family. I always look forward to seeing Pablo (restaurant manager) and Jacinto (pool waiter) each time I visit and am truly treated as an old friend.

Room Tip: I have liked the rooms; however if you have a choice... I would recommend building 3, which is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been celebrating our wedding anniversary on Valentines day at this beautiful resort for several years, and every year gets better and better. What a caring, giving, kind staff. Everyone has a smile on their face, they are more than gracious and no one ever tells you NO. They are always....always accomodating. Always exceeding highest premier expectations. Jacinto at the pool....from day one...knows exactly what you drink...how to make it "your" way...knows what you want before you even ask. What a wonderful, wonderful man. Jacinto makes you feel like a queen. I love him! Geraldine Becerras treated us like magic! Anything you needed....this lovely lady took care of.
Another wonderful man...Luis Miguel....safety is number one with this man. Never intrusive, always kind....but never misses a trick. You are absolutely safe when you see his handsome face. You always feel safe at the resort but especially cared for when you see Luis.

Room Tip: We have stayed in every location...I love the sunset side...higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff and accomodations here exceed all expectations. We brought two families on one trip and stayed in the three bedroom which was perfect. And then just two couple and stayed in the studio + villa plus. Enough privacy and a common area when we wanted to all hang out together.
The all inclusive is the way to go. We just have to show up and it's all taken care of.

Room Tip: The studio + villa plus is perfect for two couples. Enough privacy and common area to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
9.4 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing