We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, but go to town and eat Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Stay, but go to town and eat Dinner”
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We stayed at the Hola Vallarta over Christmas and really enjoyed our stay. We read the reviews and smartly asked for a room on the higher floor, the pool is noisy. We ate breakfast and lunch there, but went out for dinner (La Palapa, Los Xitomatos, de Santos-excellent). Tip the maids and the the beach chair staff well and enjoy the benefits. In the morning we went before breakfast, picked a spot and left the tip, your spot for the day. Location is central and we went out on the town to adventure every night, but one. It is not a 4 star, but is better service via the tips. The money we saved we spend out at nice restaurants and that made the trip. Good food, good sun. Remember nice pants and shoes for the better restaurants, its nice and cool at night for pants and some restaurants require them. Puerto Vallarta is a great vacation spot.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    973
    344
    123
    108
See reviews for
902
984
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Hola! I just came back from spending a week in Mexico and it was amazing!! We stayed at the Hola (formerly Qualton) PV Club and Spa and while it was my first all-inclusive experience, I thought it was wonderful! The hotel staff were always very friendly and outgoing and provided excellent service! The only negative thing I could say is about the front desk staff. They were fairly clueless, but friendly and helpful and the bar, restaurant, cleaning and pool staff couldn't have been better. So, if you are going, have a great time and here are some tips I wish I had had when I went... lol

1. Tip everyone, you get better service. It doesn't have to be a lot and it will greatly improve your experience.

2. There are four restaurants in or attached to the hotel, try them all!

3. The hotel was just renovated and has entered into an agreement with the two neighbouring hotels. You can use their pools and beaches as well as Hola's FREE!

4. Also, if you book your activities through the rep standing at the booth on the corner, it'll save you about 30%. We booked through our Sunquest rep and felt cheated when we found out we could have gotten a better deal and he said nothing about it.

5. There is an internet cafe just outside the hotel. Walk out to the street and turn left. It's right there beside the little convenience store. There is also internet access in the hotel, in the spa area. We brought a laptop but couldn't get a wireless connection on it. It required a code that was not provided, even though we asked.

So, it wasn't prefect, but it was still amazing and there are activites going on every day and night so you never get bored! There was a casino night, a volleyball and aerobics in the pool.

I had a blast and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

After we booked our trip, I came on this site to read reviews. After some of the reviews, I was not looking forward to the trip. BUT once we got there, I was glad we chose the Hola. We had a great time!! The hotel is clean, the food was good, and the staff were wonderful, even the girls working in the gift shop were pleasant!! Sergio, one of the waiters made our trip worth while!! He was pleasant, funny and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable!!!
The only complaint I have is that the drapery in our room had a bad odor to them, so we left them open all the time. They do need to put new ones up. We had a great time, met some wonderful people, and would go back in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishladyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 28, 2006

Have been coming to this hotel for "years". First time 12 years ago was definitely a 5 star. The hotel has, in many ways, fallen in ratings. Food quality needs attention (compared to what it used to be). And maintenance of the rooms also requires some TLC. The lobby used to provide a wide array of good entertainment and it is something that should be reintroduced. But you cannot dispute the fact that the staff are wonderful, the beach (while not huge) always has something going on, and you are steps from your room if the need arises, unlike a lot of larger hotels where a 10 minute walk is the norm. Shopping is excellent and close by, and you are minutes away from some of the best restaurants if you feel you need the change. After sampling many other resorts, despite the small annoyances at the Hola, we will return again, because every year, it is like coming home. You get to know the peddlars and staff and they always remember you from year to year and welcome you back with open arms. Keep filling in the comments cards; it's the only way to get your point across. Remember 5 star in Canada or America is not 5 star in Mexico. Be realistic in your expectations and you won't be disappointed.

From Winnipeg with Love

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKBANK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Stayed at the Hola in Puerto Vallarta (Mar 4-11 06) & loved it!!! Rooms were above average but with the hot sun & fun all around who cares about the room as long as it is clean. Could not ask for better hotel service!!! Hostesses/Waiters/Waitresses/Bar Staff, etc were all very funny, courteous, spoke english well, made you feel at home! The activities staff was excellent & if you spent the day by the pool/beach, you could relax or fill your day full of fun!!!! Food was excellent, never had a bad meal, could not ask for better!!!! Juice bar was great in the morning, restaurant/bar by the pool excellent!!!! Where can you eat breakfast & look out at the ocean only to see Humpback whales putting on a show for you!!!! Could play some newer music from today but otherwise the music brought back lots of memories!!! The spa was fabulous, wished I used it more! Great location for shopping at GIGANTE!!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank susan465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2006

very disappointed - we were on the non smoking floor but could smell smoke entering our rm. Food was discusting except for the Cava which was excellent. The pigeons were very annoying and because I have a fobia with birds it was very unpleasant & we were not allowed to eat at our poolside. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

We spent a week at Hola with 2 other couples and had a wonderful time. It was a great value, and we would definitely return. The staff, from housekeeping to the front desk, was exceptional - friendly and helpful. As an all-inclusive tips are of course optional - but the staff was so fantastic, we actually wanted to tip! Our room and the entire building was very clean. We had fresh flowers in our bathroom every day, which was a lovely touch. We had read the reviews before we went, and were a bit apprehensive because of the few negative comments. The property does need some upgrading, but the positives far outweigh the negatives. The food was fine, the drinks were good -if you wanted them stronger, all you had to do was ask. Obviously you cannot please everybody all of the time - but we were certainly pleased the majority of the time and would recommend Hola Puerto Vallarta, especially if you're looking for the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing