We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
OAKBANK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Bang for your buck”
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Stayed at the Hola in Puerto Vallarta (Mar 4-11 06) & loved it!!! Rooms were above average but with the hot sun & fun all around who cares about the room as long as it is clean. Could not ask for better hotel service!!! Hostesses/Waiters/Waitresses/Bar Staff, etc were all very funny, courteous, spoke english well, made you feel at home! The activities staff was excellent & if you spent the day by the pool/beach, you could relax or fill your day full of fun!!!! Food was excellent, never had a bad meal, could not ask for better!!!! Juice bar was great in the morning, restaurant/bar by the pool excellent!!!! Where can you eat breakfast & look out at the ocean only to see Humpback whales putting on a show for you!!!! Could play some newer music from today but otherwise the music brought back lots of memories!!! The spa was fabulous, wished I used it more! Great location for shopping at GIGANTE!!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank susan465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    939
    337
    121
    104
See reviews for
869
978
89
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2006

very disappointed - we were on the non smoking floor but could smell smoke entering our rm. Food was discusting except for the Cava which was excellent. The pigeons were very annoying and because I have a fobia with birds it was very unpleasant & we were not allowed to eat at our poolside. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

We spent a week at Hola with 2 other couples and had a wonderful time. It was a great value, and we would definitely return. The staff, from housekeeping to the front desk, was exceptional - friendly and helpful. As an all-inclusive tips are of course optional - but the staff was so fantastic, we actually wanted to tip! Our room and the entire building was very clean. We had fresh flowers in our bathroom every day, which was a lovely touch. We had read the reviews before we went, and were a bit apprehensive because of the few negative comments. The property does need some upgrading, but the positives far outweigh the negatives. The food was fine, the drinks were good -if you wanted them stronger, all you had to do was ask. Obviously you cannot please everybody all of the time - but we were certainly pleased the majority of the time and would recommend Hola Puerto Vallarta, especially if you're looking for the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Not a bad place to stay if you bring your own beer mug and don't have to drink out of dixie cups. We ate in town everynight but once, and dinner once at the hotel was enough. They ran out of some food even though we did have a reservation; I hate to think how long the food had been sitting there.
I was disappointed at the lack of amenities in the bathroom. The hot water in our bathroom sink didn't work, and we had to ask a few times for extra pillows and towels.
The service was good; we always had pleasant and friendly servers.
I was disappointed that although Hola is advertised as having "unlimited domestic and imported alcohol" we did not see anything imported and were told only mexican was available. False advertising? We were also told that bottled water would be provided, but we had to buy ours...it was not complimentary.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ErinIssler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hola/Qualton for a couple of nights in late February prior to moving to our regular two week time share at another resort. I was frankly intimidated to the point of considering cancelling our reservations (which were pre-paid) because of the dire comments from other reviewers.

The Ritz it ain't, but my picky wife and I agree it certainly was a good value for the money. Further, none of the horror stories I read happened to us while we were there.

I guess some people just like to get their shorts tied in knots over things of little consequence.

We go to PV every year and will probably stay at this resort again because of the flexibility it gave us with time share check ins and air fares.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 11, 2006

We have been avid travelers to PV for many years. The "Hola" IS A "HOLATA crap" is what this hotel is. The front desk is rude, they think they are the guests and treat you as if it is a priviledge to stay there.

The food is the worst, WE don't expect much but there is actually nothing but bland food. We had to get out to get something with some flavor. Lunch left overs or FATTY HAMBURGERS and maybe fries and beans.

The towels are guarded like gold and the hotel is one that still uses keys to enter the rooms which do not seem safe. Good luck if you lose any of these.

The beach is small and crowded, with only a few comfortable louge chairs the rest are cushion with backing. If you get down early you can get the lounge chairs by 7:30am, if you can make it by then but you are not allowed to get a chair or cabana with shade until 8:ooam.

OUR ADVISE: Go to the Holiday Inn ..... its the best pool and beach and the staff there are extreamly professional.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Every year I read reviews on resorts before I book. I do rely on them, but keep in mind these reviews are from all diff/people! Some who expect too much or want a 5 star + service for a low price etc.. My reviews for this resort is very good for the price I paid far better then expected from the reviews I read.We had a wonderful time,the staff are great the food ( we are not picky eaters) loved it, Le cave is exquisite, fantastic! Loved all the food, tried everything. The complaint about the beds to hard, well I slept "great" I had back surgery and beleive me I would have felt it the beds are not as they say "hard" like a board. Yes indeed the resort needs upgrade but I will tell you this it is spotless, we stayed in the building #3 tower building in the middle "wonderful view breath taking view" you cannot go wrong in this building, and the side building either you do have a view of the ocean. Yes I admit there may be rooms the bathroom are old but if you go to the front desk and ask them for another room, they will be pleased to change you to another room with no problems! In our group of people on our flight a hand full asked for another room... I would go back to this resort in a heart beat!! The intertaiment "yes" compare to other travels as they say on the reviews could be more! But I enjoyed what they did have, but we retire early, and up early so our vacation does not involve staying up late hours to party, for us it was wonderful! You can walk out of the resort to a mall approx 3 blocks away, such a big mall, and "yes" to boot there is a Walmart not in this large mall, walmart is at the other end, a 3.00 us fare will take you to Walmart by taxi.We prefered the mall it had all what you need and more! The Taxi to a large "flea Market" in Puerto Vallarta is amazing, we could not do all the shops it is so large, taxi 4.00 US be prepared to shop, loved the shops, and do try to get the price down it is a flea market, when you do plan to go make sure it is a day no cruise ships are docked the best time. Less people and lower price we asked and it was Friday & Saturday no cruise ships docked!! You also from your balcony if your in the no #3 building middle one, have a wonderful view of these cruise ships, at night all "lit up" beautiful sight! In the morning very early look out to the sea you may see whales or dolphins. The beach is small but I have not heard one complaint from the people, the chairs are better at the pool I admit, but I had no compalint of the older chairs at the beach at all.
The workers are always willing to please, and wonderful personality always smiles! Yes alot of them do not speak english, but remember your in there country and they do love to try to understand and help the best they know how, I never had a problem!!
The boy on the beach is there at 8 am to get your Beach chair and umbrella for you where ever you want it, a wonderful boy named Abraham, we tipped him on our last day he is always eager to help you get comfortable. If you go outside the resort bring some kleenex with you the washrooms are out so just in case good to have that on hand for the public washrooms! We had a wonderful Time and sad to have read so many negative reviews on this resort, and pleased once again that we made a wonderful choice for the price we paid!!! After so many years travelling you get to know what reviews to take seriously *smiles* "Hola" and I applaud the resort and the people who work there!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SeniorDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing