We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time there....won't be there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed March 2, 2014

So this was our second time at this particular hotel. I'm giving it a three-star although I think it is between two and three star
Let's start with the positive things…
As everyone says very good service. That staff are always friendly.
The infinity pool is very nice.
Two hot tubs a different temperatures which is very nice.
They had a fairly good variety of entertainment including dinners on the beach. The atmosphere was nice but the food sucked.
Now for the negatives...
We are not picky about food but this has to be the smallest and worst buffet we have ever been to. We ended up eating out most of the time.
On several occasions I noticed that they reuse the ice from somebody else's glass and served it to other people. This was not a one time observation but I seen it on several occasions. Always ask for fresh ice.
By the way the elevators are still not finished on the day that we left. They have been up for sometime and they always say next day next day.
I have never been to a hotel that the lobby bar is not open during the day. You have to walk all the way down to the pool bar in order to get a drink during the day.
Our maid was certainly not very friendly even though we tipped her everyday.
The only selection of beer was Crona and dark Modella.
The rooms are okay as the hotel is called but they are dated and could use some refreshing.
There are a large quantities of Mexican people coming into the hotel. Not that that bothers me but I seen them blowing their nose into the linen napkins. Disgusting. I think some of the forks and knives and napkins were being reused.
The first time we stayed at this hotel we did not notice these things because we were never on the resort. This time we were there for two weeks and spent some time on the resort but I will not be back again.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Joy T:

Thank you very much for choosing Friendly Vallarta to enjoy your holiday. Was definitely surprising to read some aspects of your experience, especially about the ice and napkins, we reported this, we do not doubt your word but we are sure that this is impossible, is not a practice of our hotel and we will be honest with you, this is the first time that someone reported this. However if this happened will not happen again, we guarantee it. Our hotel is different in many ways and we know that, we are remodeling our rooms and also we were changing the elevators (but during those days we had one in service, so there was no problems with this) today we have already the new elevators working perfectly. This is for the sole purpose of our guests are happy and enjoy their stay even more. We regret not having met your expectations, however we welcome your suggestions, help us to be a better hotel. We thank you for highlighting the positive points of your stay, that speaks highly of the quality of person you are. We hope to see you again for you to realize how much we value your opinion :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 3,417 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We vacationed at the Friendly Vallarta from January 4 to February 1, 2014. This was our 10th visit to Puerto Vallarta and our fifth time at the Friendly. Why do we keep coming back? This hotel boasts a large beach area with a breathtaking view, a large sparkling clean swimming pool with comfortable water temperature, clean spacious rooms and entertainment nightly. There are many dining options at the resort, each serving an extensive variety of well-prepared food. Each week there is a beach party supper and a Mexican Fiesta. The snack bar in the daytime is converted several nights a week into an outdoor dining room and a second rooftop dining area serves breakfast and supper. The 5-Star Gourmet Room is simply the best! But what makes this hotel special is the staff who are very friendly, helpful, fun to interact with, and will do everything they can to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The best recommendation for the "Friendly" in our opinion, is the number of people who return year after year to this little spot in Paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Sharon T:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and for choosing our hotel to enjoyed your holiday, we feel flattered with all you wrote about us and is very nice to know how much you love to be here in our hotel. We are working every day to have a better place for all our guests!. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

First time here. The rooms are a little old but the hotel and rooms are clean. Beds were comfortable. The staff is outstanding. The service is excellent . The food and drinks were top notch.
Many guests were repeat stays and know I know why. We will be a repeat guest soon.

Location is great and the beach is outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear BobF40:

Thanks for sharing your experience it will be really helpful to others, we value your opinion and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, that is our greatest reward.! We are renovating our rooms, we hope that on your next visit you can see the differences. We would love to welcome you back anytime! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our first vacation outsde of Canada,what an awesome first experience.The staff was amazing,the food was excellent,and the drinks were flowing.We had a beautiful view from our room,that was very clean.We loved it so much we are going back with our kids next year.We highly recommend this resort.And can't wait to see doubl double again lol.

Room Tip: we were on the 9th floor ocean view beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Veronica K:

It has been a pleasure to read all about your experience with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! See you next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I am a little reluctant to type this review because if too many people decide to try Friendly it might get overbooked.
My husband and I stayed at Friendly for the second time this year and we plan on going next year also. The staff are excellent, the food is great and the service is unbelievable. My co-worker has been staying at Friendly for many years now and keeps going back. We are scarred to try anywhere else because we might be greatly disappointed.
There are tours you can go on but even if you don't you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Both times my husband and I stayed at Friendly we were in the tower. Room 3606.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Bev B:

Thanks for sharing your opinion, we really appreciate it. Thank you for all the good things you said about your stay, this will help to other futures guests. Please feel free to visit us anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My favorite thing about this resort is the staff! that staff are so welcoming, funny and entertaining. The food is also very good being a fairly picky eater, i always found a few things to eat ! The rooms are not overly nice though, the renovations where poor. When we showered there were puddles on the floor. the bathroom drains also stunk. there where tiny bugs living in the nightstand in the room to. Some of the nightly entertainment was good but not all of it. but all in all it was a good trip and the staff were great !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coley12b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear coley12b.

Thanks for sharing your experience and for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We regret any inconvenience during your stay. Your opinion is important to us and will help us to be a better place. We are still doing renovations to our rooms, and we hope your next visit you can see these changes. We hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have returned from the Friendly Vallarta with mixed feelings about this property.
Pros:
The resort is small and is perfect for people who have trouble getting around, older people or peole with small children.
The security is excellent, never worried about my girls going to the pool or an evening activity without us.
The activities were great for young and old and the staff were fantastic.
The food was good for resort food and the staff were very friendly as they are known for.
Cons:
When I checked us in they put a $1000.00 charge on my credit card for the duration of my stay. I had no idea that was a common practice. Never had that before in Mexico. They did reverse the charge when we left.
We had adjoing rooms facing the back of the other resort on the main floor no ocean view.
Our room had a musty, moldy smell to it.
Our phone in the room didn't work so we had to use our girls phone next door.
Our patio door was broken and wouldn't lock. On our first day we waited for two hours for maintence to come and fix it but we couldn't use the door after that.
There was a hole the size of a toonie on the bottom left side of the glass door and a hole on the top left side. I used a bandage to cover that so we didn't have extra visitors.
The taps on the shower leaked and the sewer water would come up through the floor drain during our shower or when the people in the room above showered.
When the toilet would flush in the room above us the sewer water would bubble up in our sink too.
Air conditioner did work but only on high. If we shut it off the room got horribly smelly.
The maid threw our water bottles away and we asked front desk for water and they told us that water in our room was our problem and if we wanted water to go buy some.
Instead of a king bed we had double beds that were hard and lumpy like the pillows.
Asked to be moved three times during our two week stay.
Enrique at the front desk said they can't please everybody and we were stuck where we were.
We were then told if we would have tipped him he would have moved us. We offered to pay but still no move. Other guests told us they were moved due to room issues and you could have one move during your stay that was the policy there.
Certainly cannot recommend this resort with them calling it a 4 star.
We have been to 3 star resorts that have more food options, better rooms, better beach and pools just all around better amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear cathy h.

Thank you very much for highlighting the positive aspects of your stay will be very helpful to other people. Thanks for all your suggestions, we are doing renovations in our rooms and we hope that on your next visit you can see all these changes. We regret any inconvenience that occurred during your stay, it is often impossible to change our guests to other rooms due to availability. Please do not hesitate to visit us on your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $153 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing