We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great repeat visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #19 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great repeat visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just returned from another great holiday at The Friendly.
In our past trips we have been to many hotels but The Friendly is one of our favourites.
It is an older hotel but they make up for that in their friendliness and their effort to accommodate you in every way they can.
Our room had an excellent view and was very clean and comfortable.
The buffet had plenty of variety and the service was excellent.
We certainly plan to return.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and faced the sea and pool. Definitely were more than satisfied with the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear ballbabe.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are working every day to improve our service, to make things even better!!! Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    915
    329
    119
    103
See reviews for
838
946
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd annual visit to the Friendly. It still lives up to its name,the staff remain the same and we still felt very welcome.Our requested room on the 8th floor with a fantastic view was clean and fresh and I believe had a new comfortable bed. Some of the requests for smoke free areas in the lobby area have come about which is a great improvement. However during our first week a large group of Canadians insisted on smoking en masse by the low wall next to the no smoking area. They had in fact moved a cigarette butt/garbage bin to this area.Of course they could'nt have done that in their home country! Thank you Nacho and Pacheli Cadena for listening to us.the tea/ice cream bar is great and very popular. Maybe extend the no smoking to the area by the stairs to the Sunset restaurant too??
During our second week the smoking problem was much less.
All the staff work so very hard and always with a smile. Nothing is too much trouble. The 3 banquets were wonderful and the evening activities greatly improved.
Thank you to everyone at the Friendly.....we will see you in 2015!

Room Tip: In main tower above 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear ottoAlberta.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your suggestions we already have under control smoking areas, remember that we are here to serve you. See you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This year we book 3 weeks at the Friendly. We arrived Jan 18/2014 at the hotel at 1:30.Walking into the lobby we were greater by our friends ( the staff) welcome home señor Ken And Debi. Big hugs and kisses from everyone ,I always say the the staff is our Mexican family. The rooms we requested were ready. A beautiful view from the 8 th floor. The hotel has done some repairs ,our room now had card key and new doors.One week into our great vacation the hotel was making repairs ( replacing) all 3 of the main elevator .The guest had to use to the service elevator which the hotel had made look appealing with big pictures of the staff, and had painted the stairwells .On the main floor staff had set up coffee and juice ,also every hour a different employee was operating the elevator.The staff made it fun while we had to wait a short time for it ,to make its run.Think of it this way ,sure it was slower but replacing the old elevator with new ones is all worth the safety of the guest! We're on holidays anyways no rush to do anything.The buffet was even better, the caving station was really good ,turkey,ham,beef and leg of lamb.Thanks to Juan and all the cooks for doing a wonderful job. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful !The hotel name says it all Friendly!

Room Tip: Request a room on the fifth floor or higher super view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longcoat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Longcoat63.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy of your holiday. We loved to read about your experience with us, We are very pleased to know that everything was perfect during your stay. And we are so glad to hear that you were treated like you deserve and you enjoyed every detail in our hotel. Please feel free to come back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have to give it a 3/5. Like other reviewers, I'm torn about this place.

The Pros:
Staff is super nice and super helpful.
Drinks flow freely and you aren't left waiting.
Food was above average and the beach food was perfect.
They have a roped off area on the beach so the vendors can't hassle you.
A volleyball game could always be had.

The Cons:
I requested ahead of time a room on a high floor. They gave me the lowest possible with next to no view.
I requested a king bed. I showed up and it was two queens. Their solution was to put the two beds together. It was also incredibly stiff even with the pad.
It was basically only older canadians. There were less than 5 people under 28 on any given day. It also seemed like many of the people that come to this hotel had been there multiple times before.
Spa services are expensive compared to others in area.
For some reason, I seemed to always arrive in the odd hour where they were in between meal servings.
The room was bare bones and the bathroom reminded me of a dorm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evan_h20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear evan_h20s.

Thank you very much for highlighting the positive aspects of your stay. Regarding the requests made in advance of the rooms, this depends on our availability, we never guaranteed. We receive many Canadians every year, which like all our other guests are treated equally, with the best care and respect. We are doing renovations in our rooms and we hope that on your next visit you can see all these changes. We hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Reading some of the reviews... Just got home to minus temperature blowing snow.... Really you are complaining ??? We had a wonderful time! Great food great company wonderful staff, variety of food, clean resort, close to everything off the resort... People if you find something to complain about... Stay home and freeze your ...off!! Love you guys at friendly, your very entertaining!!! Michelle & Maurice Espenell Manitoba, Canada

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest.

Thanks for sharing your opinion, we really appreciate it. Thank you also for all the good things you said about your stay, this will help to others. Please feel free to visit us anytime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am 36yrs old.

I Enjoyed myself thoroughly.

Pros:
Awesome service and staff
Regular drink service on the beach
Great food
Beautiful dinner set up on the beach twice in 1 week (although Valentine's might have been an exception)
Barbequed mahi mahi cooked and served to you on the beach
Walking distance to quite a bit


Cons: (maybe pros for some people)
Smoking permitted everywhere, you can't even walk through the lobby without inhaling a few drags
Lack of food selection for late night
Lack of music and entertainment in the evening
They play Roy Orbison and Elvis Presley and Mohney Mohney a lot
(I really wanted to hear latin music and dance salsa but I had to go out for that and clubs don't start going til about 11:30pm. The one I went to (J & B) had a band starting at 1am!!!)
Only 1 kayak in "servicio"
Lots of vendors

Room Tip: Middle tower 5th floor was ideal for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear ScubaSelena.

Thank you very much for highlighting the positive points about your stay, also for giving us suggestions; regarding smokers, we have designated areas for them and this situción is now under our control. We hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

First timers for PV and the Friendly Hotel was recommended. I went with my elderly mom and we had a fabulous time. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, all organic juice and the beach and pools where amazing. The gourmet restaurant was fantastic. Wonderful entertainment and close to bus to travel into town for exploring. The hotel accommodated us with a wheelchair and the staff where so nice. Maid services where wonderful. The hotel is tired but not a spec of dirt or dust anywhere. Very clean.
Loved the everyday activities of Spanish lessons and pool aerobics. Can't wait to go again next year but longer next time!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the best as you can utilize the stairway if you want as the elevators get busy. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastrider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Coastrider01.

Thank you so much for your review, we feel really flattered. All your words are a great reward to us and we are so happy to know that everything was perfect during your stay. We hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#13 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing