We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

1st, I didn't like the fact that the hotel caters to a lot of locals. Only because I miss meeting new people who are also on vacation. The locals seem to be in groups which can make you feel like an outsider. I don't think its because they are not friendly, just don't speak the my language. I also found out from people staying at other resorts they had the same issue. Maybe its a PVR thing!

STAFF- is friendly! Ive been lucky to always have stayed in resorts where the staff is friendly.

FOOD- I want to say that when the resort cleared out of the locals, food got better.

DRINKS- Again got better when they did not have a full hotel to service. At first I couldn't drink them, they were very tart and made from some type powered drink mix which gave me bad indigestion. They do have Corona's but only on tap!

ROOMS- Clean!

I haven't stayed in a resort in a long time. I have been renting condo's. I ate breakfast and lunch at the resort but mostly went out to dinner downtown. I am happy that I did stay at a resort, because now I have no reason to think I am missing anything by renting condo's!
My stay was Wednesday May 29 - Wednesday June 5. The best days for me was Monday and Tuesday.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alad222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Alad222.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy of your holiday, sorry you felt that way during your stay, maybe socialize a bit more on your part the next time you are here, all our guests are friendly people!. About our beer we do have Corona and Negra Modelo in the bottle, in your next visit do not hesitate to ask for one :). Please feel free to come back anytime! See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    939
    337
    121
    104
See reviews for
869
978
89
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited The Friendly 5/26/13 -6/2/13.Hotel was virtually empty until Thursday late afternoon. Staff went out of their way to make you happy. At this time of year, the hotel relies on local weekend conventions, weddings and folks from Mexico City. Although the numbers swell, they are nice and seem to have a lovely weekend at the beach. Other than losing the peace, quite and feeling of being the only people there, the service and attention remain the same. The staff makes this hotel!! They are obsessive about cleaning. It is an older hotel and could use some money pumped into it, but it is kept clean and has some of the best staff around. The location is good, beach very nice. The food becomes monotonous, but you will always find something and we enjoy going out to eat in the evenings at the local restaurants. Most restaurants run specials this time of year and you can get some great dinners. I would come back at this time of year again. If you are looking for a slick newer Americanized type hotel, like the NOW Amber, this is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Valerie E.

Thanks for everything you say about us and about your recent stay. Hope to see you soon, to continue treating you as you deserve!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went with my girlfriend for 7 days, nothing to complain about at all. Hotel is older but clean, they work really hard to keep everything nice. We flew westjet from edmonton Canada, great non stop flight, at airport westjet also provided a van to the hotel and back to the airport, they are the best airline, also free checked bags.
It's very quiet in PV right now, off season. We were almost the only English speaking people there at the hotel, but we didn't care, week days were quiet, weekends the locals came and about half full or more.
Big pool we didn't like, many kids, adult pool and beach good. Food was good, although we did go downtown several nights and eat. Walking to town about 45 min, take cab at night, 6 bucks. Restaurants in romantic area are very slow, some even closed. We found some good places and had lots of fun. Watch the tequila drinks, some are very strong!
People on the beach and downtown get on your nerves, trying to sell you stuff. They are relentless sometimes. We didn't want any of that crap.
Took a excursion snorkeling and old fishing village, it was all good, got us away for a day.
The reviews for friendly are very accurate, trust them, we would go back, the price and service is un beatable. Being the only offseason person from westjet, we got penthouse room in the tower, they seemed to treat us like gold?
Last thing, they give you 2 water bottles and that's it, save them and fill up in restaurant lobby, no fridge in room, we only drank bottled water, but if you didn't fill your bottles, nothing in the middle of the night to drink.
Hope this helps you decide, we liked it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi David K.

Thanks for sharing your experience it will be really helpful to others, we value your opinion and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, that is our greatest reward.!. Regarding the fridge, you can requested during the arrival date, and this service is based on our availability. We have an All Inclusive service with food and drinks during 24hrs and you will find all this in our restaurants, that's why we don't include fridge or bottled water in rooms, you can take anything you want to your room. We would love to welcome you back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff are amazing - hotel is my favorite in PV so far - Location is perfect...close to downtown but also close to all the other areas. This was my 3rd trip to this resort and I'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi tandr2.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and for sharing this experience, it was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrderthnu
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Friendly 2 times now and even talked friends of our into having there wedding there. All 100 guests had a great time and were amazed by the level of service. I regret not coming there this winter as I was talked into trying another hotel in the mayan. It was horrible when compared to the Friendly. I would say this hotel is great. It is not the biggest or the nicest hotel we have been to but it is 100% by far the best level of service and we had nothing bad to say at all. Even the guys selling stuff on the beach were great!! They asked once and left if you said no.. Hey everyone has to work!!! If you are debating on the friendly I would say DO IT!!!

Room Tip: Try to requst the upper floors. THE VIEW IS AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrderthnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi hrderthnu.

It was so nice to read your review, thank you so much for everything you say about your experience. We would love to see you once again, please feel free to come back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Level, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my husband went here last April. It was both of our first times leaving Canada. We really enjoyed the beach life however the beach isn't the best in PV. The staff at the resort were great. Also trying to help when you need it. Sergio was the best. You cant miss him as he also says "double double" whenever you have a drink in your hand or when ordering from him. He always made us laugh and would do funny dances. The food was ok but eventually got tiered of buffet as there is only one a la carte restaurant. The best buffet is the one indoors with the view of the pool. Do not leave your towels on the beach here to save ur chairs. We had someone else take ours and replace it with a stained one. When we explained to the hotel what had happened we demanded we did not pay for them as we were never informed we would have 2 pay for them if they were damaged. The hotel complied and we were never charged ($100 a towel!!). There where a few problems with the room. The safe did not work when we arrived but they came up and fixed the problem immediately. As well the toilet would get clogged alot but they were always fast to fix it. Overall staff A+, food B-, rooms B-. You get what u pay for but the staff made all the difference to make up for it being a older resort. Another good thing was that the resort was not so huge that u get lost. We prefer more intimate settings.

Room Tip: Great view from 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Autumn S.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on our TripAdvisor, we are pleased to read everything you say about your experience, all your suggestions will help us to have a better place! We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable, please come back soon we will be here waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our stay and we had a great time. I know a lot of the reviews mention how great the staff are, and it truly cannot be overstated. By the third day we had waiters that would actively seek us out and offer us drinks, and by the last day most of them knew our names and would sit and talk to us. We speak very broken Spanish, but almost everyone there spoke perfect English and were more than willing to try to teach us Spanish. The hotel itself was very pretty, we stayed on the 12th floor and the view was spectacular. The only downside was the bed, which we will not miss at all. The food was decent, though I would recommend going to the nicer restaurant at least once during your stay. Overall our stay was wonderful and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Ollie K.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are very pleased to know that everything was perfect during your stay. We are so glad to hear that you were treated like you deserve and you enjoyed every detail in our hotel. Come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing