We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really is Friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friendly Vallarta Resort
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really is Friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent one week with my sister in March. We had amazing service and very friendly staff that took time to talk and laugh with us! The beach area is fantastic and the staff was super accommodating in getting chairs and umbrellas set up quickly. Make sure to get to the Fiesta night on the beach!

Like others have said, the only negative was not having a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Try a room on a higher floor. We were on the 11th floor and had an amazing view of the bay. We even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi dnni.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to read everything you say about your experience, and we are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please come back soon we will be here waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    796
    291
    115
    100
See reviews for
710
812
83
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Friendly Vallarta from April 8 to 15th 2013 on a recommendation of a friend whom is an annual 2 week guest and we were not disappointed. Our room was 3803 and was clean and well maintained by our maid. The view was magnificent from the balcony and the 8th floor is far enough away from the entertainment area to be quiet when you need to rest up for an active day of excursions the next day. The food was always fresh at all restaurants and the staff was constantly attentive to our every need. We loved the drinks made with fresh fruit juices especially the coconut daquaris and pina coladas. Thank you Friendly Vallarta for making our 7 days a terrific time and we hope to see you again in 2014.

Room Tip: Tower rooms provide a great view of the bay and shoreline, the entertainment area is on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 90Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi 90Susan.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion here on TripAdvisor, this will be very helpful to our future guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we'll see you soon, please keep in touch and do not forget about us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I never do reviews BUT after reading some of the reviews about Friendly Vallarta we feel the need to support this resort.

Let it be known that the people who say they are NOT complainers definitely must be.

STAFF
First and foremost the staff are some of the most hard working genuine people we have come across, always willing to go above and beyond. Also we aaaallllll know that an all inclusive really isn't an all inclusive.....meaning don't be cheap and put hand in your pocket and tip the staff, perhaps you will get the shrimp. It's still a decent price for the week.

FOOD
The food is not a 5 star but its definitely edible. If you like mexican food its great, go figure you are in Mexico. We went to the a la carte twice and both time we had the shrimp with a curry dressing which was delicious! We also had the rib eye, it wasn't Alberta beef (again go figure) but still tasty and cooked as we as we asked, we've been to steakhouses in Canada where they manage to screw that up. There is plenty of choice but by the end of the week one definitely would need a change.

CLEANLINESS
The hotel is old and could use a facelift however our room was beyond clean. I too would smell the must but defiantly not overpowering. We always saw staff mopping or cleaning.

ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment is lacking however I suggest mixing it up and go into town (its a 50 peso cab fare) in the evening once or twice during your stay. We went to a karaoke bar, coronas were 20 pesos and saw a reggae band in a bar. We felt safe and welcome in both locations.

Depending what you want from your holiday, this is a fun, relaxing experience. You will get out of it what you put into it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9coronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi 9coronas.

Thank you very much for taking time to write and tell us about you experience. Thank you so much for your support! Your opinion will be very helpful for many people. We hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were at the Friendly Vallarta from April 12-19 2013 with our daughter. Well to start off, the staff is not all that friendly especially at the reception. We chose this resort because of the good reviews and we have never been so disappointed. This resort allows smoking everywhere. I asked for a non smoking room at the reception and was told we could not have one. They had closed off some floors due to low season. Our rooms smelled sewage and moisture. The beds are hard and the pillows are even harder. Our air conditioner only worked when it wanted to. The food is so so and you can get tired of eating the same food everyday. There was only one a la carte restaurant open that week. The food there was good. Our daughter got sick and we tried to order room service and we were refused. We also tried to get a reservation at La Leche Restaurant and we were told its only available till march 30th. Our Sunquest rep didn't even know about this. The bacon is hidden behind the counter and you need to pay the chef to get shrimps. Don't go there if you expect a 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Michel B.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, we regret this unpleasant experience and really appreciate your opinion, will help us to have a better place. We don't have room service because we offer an all inclusive service, which means that all our guests have food and drinks during 24 hours but only in our restaurants. We have different options for food, chicken, pasta, seafood, meat, desserts and various drinks, but will always be a challenge for us to satisfy all our guests, but we will continue working hard on that. We hope to see you soon, you are always welcome in our hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We travel every year in April and this was our first time to PV. The hotel was great...food.staff.cleanliness all was exceptional. The most amazing thing was how many repeat guests there were and how the staff remembers them. We would definately come back!! Loved the service on the beach and the beach vendors

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skodagoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Skodagoog.

Thank you! Was so nice to read your experience, thank you so much to share it. We loved to know how much you loved all our little details we made for you during your stay. Please come back soon, we would love to see you one more time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march 2013 my wife and myself along with our two children 4 and 5 years old boys. We had a great time and the workers are the friendliest at this resort that we have ever been too. The lobby area is a little out dated with the couches. The pool and ground are very well kept and cleaned daily. The room we had was on the 11th floor facing ocean, could not asked for a better room and view. The rooms area very clean and updated. No fridges in the room and beds are hard as every resort. But I did talk to Fernando and with a little $ was able to get a fridge and some foamys for the beds. Definatly worth going to for the right price as we did get a good deal.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Logangp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Logangp.

It was wonderful for us to read all about your experience with us. Thank you for sharing this review, it will be helpful to others. We are pleased to know how much you enjoy our hotel. Please feel free to come back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We, like many others read a lot of these reviews before booking this trip. In all honesty our group feels that many of them are fake because there's no way that people could rave about this hotel! We went for 5 days and were ready to leave by about day 3. There really isn't much to do at the resort at all and the best part of the trip were the two whole days that we spent in town. The staff really aren't that friendly, other than a few bar tenders. We actually found the girls at the desk to be slightly rude and acted irritated to be dealing with us. We asked for a safe and a fridge at check in and received neither. We didn't ask again because we used our friends' safe instead but at check out they had a hard time believing us that we were never given one.

The beds are the worst we've ever slept in and we're really not that picky. One of the woman in our group had back and shoulder issues because of these beds and barely slept for the whole trip. My husband and I slept relatively okay but that's not that hard to do after consuming a large amount of alcohol. The hotel is older but very clean just like everyone else has said. The entertainment is lacking. The beach was fine for the pacific coast but there is a much nicer beach about 400 feet to the right of the resort. The hot tubs had a green scum floating around the water surface daily. At one point we ordered a round of drinks on the beach and the staff member took our tip and never returned until we flagged him down 30 mins later. The Melecon was so much fun, we walked the whole strip twice and had a blast. We had a great time at the flea market and bought some neat things to bring home. La Leche is a restaurant a few doors down from this resort and it was amazing! The Blue Shrimp in town is also one of the best meals we've ever eaten in our lives!

So let's get to the absolute worst part of the trip by far.. the food. TERRIBLE. The most inedible I've ever experienced in my life and we're seasoned travellers. I actually lost weight on the trip. The omelettes at breakfast and the fish fingers at the beach restaurant were about the only thing any of us ate. We were all really excited to try out the a la cart restaurant and got dressed up twice to go. We went twice because we had nothing else to do and we thought the chef must have called in sick or something the first time. We tried 8 separate mains and appetizers and none of them were edible. My husband had the tomato soup as an appetizer and everyone at the table agreed that there must have been a mistake made when they poured it because it was actually gravy instead. This same "sauce" was poured over shrimp for one of our mains. We love seafood and everything we tried was very fishy tasting and was obviously frozen at one point. We are not food snobs by any means and happily eat at any regular Canadian chains and have never sent a dish back or complained in our lives.

I'm a positive person and have never written a review online about anything before but our whole group just felt so strongly about this experience that we needed to share. It blows my mind that there are legitament positive comments about the food, and the staff really aren't that friendly!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N0tAPickyPers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi N0tAPickyPers0n.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, for sharing your experience and suggestions. TripAdvisor does not allow false reviews and it is impossible for us to make our own reviews, we love to read and learn from all the opinions from our past guests. Regarding the refrigerators and all the speacial requests, everything are subject to our availability, for example: our service is all inclusive, food and drink for 24 hours, that's why we do not include in-room refrigerators, but we have a few ones. All our guests can have food and drinks during all their stay. Our staff is responsible for cleaning swimming pools and hot tubs at night, so the next morning are clean and ready for use. Thank you very much for all your suggestions, we will not contradict you in any of your opinions because they are all important to us, and help us to improve. We hope you come back soon, you will always be welcome :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#6 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing