We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Better than perfect”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've been there twice now and going again today. The first time for a week with my son and his family and then 2 weeks and now 2 weeks. It is the best all inclusive we have ever found to stay at.The staff are the best from check in with Manuel to the setting up your chairs with Abraham to getting you drinks delivered to you on the beach. They even serve snacks and wet cool down towels on the beach. We have been to all inclusive resorts in Dominican, Varedero, Cancun, Cayo Coco and others in Peurto Vallarta and the Friendly is the best. We communicate with them by e-mail and also on Facebook and they're always filling your requests within reason to please you. We ask for the same room all the time and Manuel makes sure we always get it. We plan to not only go there today and in the past but also in the future. We know a lot of people from Calgary and area that continually go there as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Bruce M.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It has been a pleasure to please you in your holiday, we will be waiting for you on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    939
    337
    121
    104
See reviews for
869
978
89
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Friendly Vallarta, having accessed
a ‘package’ flight/accommodation/meals ‘all inclusive’ offering. This was our second stay at Friendly Vallarta; obviously we liked it well enough three years ago, hence our decision to return. By the standards of these vacation complexes Friendly Vallarta is not overly large; their website notes 200 superior rooms. I will try to be as clinical as possible, writing to the various categories of interest a prospective traveler might want to know about.

The rooms: there are rooms in two low wings that border the pool area and in a thirteen or fourteen story tower. The rooms in the tower seem to have a nicer ‘feel’ to them. I recommend you ask for the ‘tower’ and, for view and noise reasons, the higher the better. The view looking out the double sliding doors or from the decent sized deck is spectacular, with the ocean in front and a vista of the Bay of Banderas and Puerto Vallarta on the left. The pool and the grounds are pleasingly presented below. I roughly paced the dimensions of our room—including closet and bathroom I estimate 14 feet by 30 plus feet. The deck is beyond that. Our room had a king size bed , a couch (that would pull out into a bed), a sitting chair, an armoire, a chest of drawers and a desk/mirror area. The bed was good (though the pillows were hard) and the furniture of a basic quality, old style/not flat-screen TV in the armoire and if you don’t speak Spanish fluently then not much of a selection) The bathroom is a good size with a tub/shower and ample flowing hot water available. Everything was really clean and kept that way on a daily basis.

The food: There are four places to eat: one is cafeteria style by the pool with some freshly cooked options; the second is the beach area with some good choices (the chicken fajitas were especially good). At dinner this sometimes functions as an a la carte; the third is the balcony area which overlooks the pool and the ocean beyond. Enjoy your breakfast on this veranda; this venue also has a nice menu selection in the evening. There is a specialty restaurant which requires reservations at the desk. All options were good to very good. We have been to a few ‘all inclusive’ types in the past and sometimes the food is disappointing. Not so at Friendly Vallarta. In the course of a week they also scheduled a beach night with entertainment and a well-received assortment of dinner foods and a ‘Mexican’ night with a wide selection of Mexican dishes and people to explain each one. This night comes with many of the staff putting on cultural dances and performing with songs and so forth. Lots of fun! Friendly Vallarta also has an association with La Leche restaurant which is next door to them. This is a good place to eat. Ask at the front desk for the possibilities of experiencing this within your ‘all inclusive’ package.

The beach is nice with expansive sand and numerous sun and shade options for sitting and lying about. There seemed to be enough lounge chairs for everyone. Vendors are, for the most part, respectful of the roped section as being out of bounds. I was in the area where they could freely walk and I did not find them the least bit aggressive. Some people swam but the ocean does not appear to be as inviting as the Caribbean. You can go quite a ways walking north along the sand. There are two, in close proximity, pools, one is more for lounging around with a drink and the other is for activities. An ‘adult only’ area does not exist but there is no need. This is the ‘Friendly Vallarta’ and everyone, including the patrons, was friendly and accommodating. There is also a hot tub area .

The Staff: As noted we were at ‘Friendly Vallarta’ three years ago and much to my delight most of the staff that were employed then are there now. I believe they enjoy their profession. They are friendly and accommodating and will do everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. I overheard so many comments about the ‘friendly’ and ‘genuine’ nature of the people who work at ‘Friendly Vallarta’. The importance of this cannot be underestimated.

Getting around: (Tips) Tours are sold by licensed operators at a desk in the lobby. We chose one which took us to San Sebastian (an old silver mining location in the Sierra Madre.) The bus was full, however, the tour guide was awesome. San Sebastian is a destination (as it takes less than an hour to see everything) but getting there was a big piece of the experience. If you want to go to Puerto Vallarta (and I recommend you do): just take the local bus, (right outside the entrance) it will get you there in about ten or so minutes. (and they appear approximately every five to ten minutes) Make sure the bus says Centro somewhere on the windshield and sit down quickly because the drivers want their buses to be in perpetual motion and these vehicles are seemingly without shocks or brake pads. The driver will give change so you needn’t worry on that account. I think the cost was about six and a half pesos one way. Don’t forget to make a mental note regarding some site or building, so you will know where to get off on return. The previous time we took the bus north to WalMart, and then another to Sayulita (a small village). Do your research but, to me, local buses are direct and cheap and who needs a tour when all you want to do is walk around and have a cerveza on the beach.

I digress. Bottom line is, the Friendly Vallarta has quite nice (though not palatial) accommodations and an excellent beach area. It has (for an ‘all inclusive’) good choices for eating and also boasts the best staff in all of Mexico.

Room Tip: Choose the tower, ocean view, the higher the better. (goes up to floor twelve and then the penthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi John K.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on our TripAdvisor, we are pleased to read everything you say about your experience, and we are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please come back soon we will be here waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Friendly staff, cheap, nice beach with water that you can swim in, decent pool and hot tub. Food is pretty good, rooms are clean and hotel is generally safe. As is in Mexico, tips go a long way and are very much appreciated. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach and higher up are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Christopher K.

It is wonderful to know that everything was perfect during your stay, please come back soon we'll be waiting for you. Thanks for sharing your experience :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the second time i've stayed at ths resort and overall it was a really good experience!!!!! Very clean and the staff were very friendy, not however compared to the last time I stayed here. Food was fantastic and especially at the shows! Met alot of really nice people. The room was kept imaculate, and I only had them clem every 3rd day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 210MariaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi 210MariaS.

Thank you for sharing your experience, it's always a pleasure to know how much our guests enjoy their stay, hope to see you once again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We love staying at the Friendly, awesome location, staff are very friendly and hard working. Great selection of food, and drinks. Great variety of food to choose from daily and lots of variety during the week. Had 2 suppers on the beach, which were awesome.
The resort is older but kept up, the mattresses are hard, but they are all that way. There is a safe in your room, which is great to lock up valuables.
No timeshare on the property, a big plus.
Great location, the local bus system is amazing, never have to wait for a bus. No problem going off the resort, the local people are very helpful and friendly. You can take the local bus anywhere around the Puerto Vallarta area, for very cheap, and safe.
Definitely going back a fourth time to the Friendly. The beach has nice sand on it.
Lots of entertainment in the evenings, which is awesome.

Room Tip: High floors on the side of the building have less A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovepv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi lovepv09.

It has been a pleasure to read everything you've written about your stay with us, this will undoubtedly be very useful for our future guests, thank you very much and hope to see many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked a last minute trip from March 25 to April 1st and We loved it!! The staff alone is a five star in our eyes. I am so amazed at how awesome the staff was. When the bus was pulling away to go to the airport, there was 3 or 4 of the staff waving at us. Made it feel like they really cared about us!! The fact that they spoke both english and spanish was a great thing for me. The rooms were a little outdated but were VERY clean! The food gets a bit repetitive but I am picky. My fiance loved the food, he found there was plenty to eat. The drinks..they don't skimp on alcohol thats for sure! Thats always a plus. Make sure to get a tower room floor 5 or above. We had floor 11 and the view was amazing. They have some night life if you are interested in it. They try to make it fun for everyone. The bed...sigh, that was the only thing they need to work on. The bed is so hard and the pillows suck. LOL, but besides that I do not have any complaints!!The guy at the beach who gets you the chairs and umbrella is awesome, what a hard worker oh my gosh!!! Have fun and go to Friendly!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leela20_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi leela20_999.

Thank you very much for everything you've shared about your stay, for us it was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope you come back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent a week from March 14 - 21. The staff and tourists were ALL so friendly! The staff was also extremely accomodating! Good size room (infact bigger than some 5 stars hotels where I have stayed). Would have liked a coffee pot in the room - I like to sit in bed, read, pray and have a cup of coffee before getting my day started. We were on the 11th floor and our view was spectacular! Our room was cleaned everyday and lovely little towel decorations were left for us - so cute. Food was good and plentiful - the guacomole and chips (both made right at the resort) were especially awesome! Different yummy homemade soups everyday. Omelets, sandwich and pasta station - made to order dishes. Some food was the same everyday but there was enough variety at each meal so that it didn't get boring. The gourmet restaurant was delicious too! You do not need to wear long pants (guys) or closed toed shoes - the dress restrictions have been eased. Still should look nice. The Mexican fiesta was AWESOME! The beach dinner and party fun!
There is some type of entertainment every night.
Drinks were refreshing and made to my liking - I am not a big drinker but staff would just as cheerfully bring me soda or water as I sat by the pool.
Hotel, pool, beach very clean! I never had a problem getting a chair by the pool. Staff would move tables and umbrellas for you if desired. Aerobics and other activities in the pool everyday as well as activities by the beach.
The staff by the entrance very prompt in getting us cabs and answering questions about how much the trip should cost
In an effort to be "green" only given 2 bottles of water but there are water coolers in a couple places to fill up the bottles as often as you would like.
I am a tipper - However, I received the same wonderful service whether I tipped or not.
We would definitely return to this resort if in Puerto Vallarta again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlkpws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi mlkpws.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to spend your holiday, we loved to know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are working every day to improve our service, to make things even better! Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing