We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort appears in different web sites and publications as anything from a three star to four star.

The resort has clearly some age and would benefit from some refurbishment and renovation, but this should not detract from the excellent staff and more than adequate food and beverage managed by Jose Luis Ortega.

To understand the reputation of this resort the average visitor I spoke to have returned more than five times. There is a loyalty build on the good nature of staff, good food and the carefully planned and diverse entertainment.
One day there was rain, out came projector screens and movies were run to occupy guests. The theatre was used for the traditional Mexican fiesta which was a great success , the broadway show was very professional, the beach party had a very civilzed dinner dance that had great attendance. No complaints.

The staff made sure that your needs were catered to at all times.

Food was more varied than other all inclusive resorts and fresh coffee replaced standing coffee in the lobby, fresh as you would get at any coffee shop .

I would like to see the lobby furniture recovered, and the painters to clean up paint runs etc, but these are minor details of was a very pleasant resort, this may be why it does not always get a firm four star rating . It is kept extremely clean and care is given in all aspects of service.

You may know this as the Qualton or Hola two of its past names. The management now certainly has their act together and is out for repeat business.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room at higher level. Ours was floor and and had a tremendous view, state if yo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gordon786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hi gordon786!

Thank you for sharing your experience, was very nice to read. We are very happy to know you enjoyed every moment at our hotel, our goal is that all our guests enjoy their vacation. Hope to see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,159)
There are newer reviews for Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 3,159 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

A cosy room, a king bed, good food, hot sun, tons of activities (that we didn't bother to participate in, we were too busy soaking up the rays), wonderful staff, and GREAT guests! All combine to make a fabulous vacay. I highly recommend the Friendly Vallarta.

Matter of fact, we talked to a number of people who said that's they've stayed at other, more 'swanky' resorts, and found the Friendly to be better all around. They said the food was better, the beach area was bigger, the staff far more accommodating, and the rooms bigger.

We were at the Friendly in April of 2011, and again just last week in January of 2013. We were impressed in 2011, but even more so in 2013 because of a few small, but important changes: Peanut butter at breakfast (ask for it), real Heinz ketchup, more fresh food at every buffet, and new furniture in the lobby.

Thank you, Friendly Vallarta!

One little caveat... not specific to the Friendly... is that the first week of January is a Mexican school holiday, which made both the resort and PV VERY VERY busy. I prefer a little less crowds, so next time, I will wait till mid January for a vacay. Just personal preference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karyn-grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Karyn-grace C!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and for choosing our hotel to enjoyed your holiday, we feel flattered with all you wrote about us and is very nice to know how much you love to be here in our hotel, thank you for everything!. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here from January 2 to 9, 2013, and having never been to an all inslusive resort or to Puerto Vallarta we totally loved it. All the staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Hector, Vincent, Double Double, Carlos and Fidel. The property was clean throughout, good food and usually a few different items in the buffet each day and to our daugher, the best hot dogs. We were on the 10th floor, the view was awesome but the entertainment from downstairs was loud when the balcony door was open. Usually it was quiet by 11:00 to 11:30 pm. We were treated like royalty with all the drinks and food offered, to changing our larger pesos to smaller, to getting a taxi, to bus information and to checking in for our flight back. An exellent cleaning job in our room each day. The girls in the lobby were also super in serrving us. We loved the staff and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact, we hope to come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if possible. May provided tips helps with service.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marthajanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi marthajanzen!

Thank you so much for your review, we feel really flattered. All your words are a great reward to us and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for every detail you describe about your holiday, this will be really helpful for others. We hope to see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were there last year with a group of 6 & will be back there on Wednesday with a group of 8. We are all soooo excited! 4 of the 8 were there before, but we know the new 4 will not be disappointed. Where do I start...... Service is excellent, rooms are always clean as well as the entire facility. Food is superb. Everyone working there is so kind & accommodating. Feels like we are going home. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TherealDeborita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi TherealDeborita!

It is so nice to know that we will see you again, thank you for trusting us again and also for your review! We will see you soon, everything is ready for your arrival :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I have travelled to Puerto Vallarta 3-4 times per year for the last ten years. We have stayed at everything from Barcello and Dreams, to the Canto del Sol and Decameron properties.
While the Friendly is an older resort the staff make for any "Physical Plant" short falls. The only word we heard from any staff member was "Yes" to our requests. The food was reasonable and comparable to most other resorts. After all it is Mexico the food supplies and preparation is different - you Think! Nice touch on the nightly 10:00PM to 5:00 AM dining/snacks. The specialty resturant provided excellent meals supported by first class staff. The beach front restarant/snack bar was great and open for breakfast.
The beach was large and accessible providing shady, part sun, full sun areas and a roped area for a reprieve from the beach vendors,
Our room was spacious and clean. Our cleaning staff were efficient and extremely pleasant. The bonus was we enjoyed a fabulous view across the entire bay from our balcony.
The location provides great access to all of the surrounding areas and with a deep setback from the main road all you could hear from the balcony was the sound of the waves.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to this resort. If you are looking for a good resort at a reasonable price with great staff then check out the Friendly Vallarta.

Room Tip: If you want a great view take the main tower floor 6 and above. The higher you go the quieter it get...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mgs195658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi mgs195658!

It was so nice to read your review, thank you so much for everything you say about your experience. We would love to see you once again, please feel free to come back anytime! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

January 13 will be our 4th time to this resort and we can't wait. Sergio, Abraham and the rest of the staff have alway's made our stay's extremely memorable. We went to Cuba last year for a change and we kept comparing everything to the Friendly Vallarta, thus we are are coming back this year.
The house keeping services have always been fantastic with the towels being made into animals, etc everyday.
See you in a few days.
Rod and Judy
Calgary

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Rod L!

Thanks for everything you say about us, it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back anytime! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had been at this hotel twice before and overlooked a lot of things because I found the staff great and the rooms clean. This time things went downhill right from the get go. There were seven of us in four rooms and I had requested that we all have balconies together on the same floor - we booked at the beginning of October for December 21st so I thought that would give them plenty of time. When I called at the beginning of December to confirm I was given the brush of by an incredibly rude person and told if it could happen it would but they would not say yes or no. I thought it was a pretty simple request - apparently not. Two rooms were together and the other two were at the opposite end of the tower on different floors.

The food was eidible. That is the best thing I can say. After the first god-awful supper, we ate down town every night. The liquour was so watered down it was pathetic. The room was half assed cleaned about every other day. One of our travel companions had a horrific sewer smell in his bathroom that was never fixed. The front desk staff were miserable every day. Trying to break larger pesos into smaller bills was painful to say the least. The only way we could get anyone to do it was to subtly threaten not to tip anyone and then, surprise, suprise we got some smaller denomiations. One of our party was ripped off by 100 pesos in doing so by the "Freindly Staff".
Catching a cab anywhere was an experience - I know that it is not the fault of the hotel that the cab drivers did not speak a word of english, but when we stopped at the front gate so that our driver could get some direction as to where we wanted to go the fellow on the gate couldn't help. He just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. So we stumbled through some sign language and got to our destination in the end with some laughs between us and the good natured cabbie.

They finally got a bathroom on the beach (they should maybe spend a little cash on some upgrades to the entire building - get some of the shoes and books and mops off of the roof) but it was always both out of toilet paper and smelled like urine.

The final straw was this - we have stayed in this hotel before as I mentioned, and have had flights leave late and so kept one room so that we had a place to store our luggage and have a nap, etc. We were charged $90 AD for this. When I asked about it at the front desk the day before I was told it would be $175. I was a little surprised, but accepted for the convienence of staying where we were. When I signed off on the voucher it was in pesos and I never thought to question the amount and when I got home and checked my credit card I was charged $282. I have sent email after email after email to have it straightened out and all I get is "You signed the voucher". Now I know that this hotel will make some half assed apology on this sight to make it look like they have made an effort to rectify the situation. They haven't and they won't. Just do yourself a favor and don't stay here. Ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ABSKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi ABSKTraveller,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and also for your suggestions. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay, we will contact you on our own. We have taken steps to ensure that this cannot happen again in the future. Thanks for alerting us of what happened. We hope to see you soon, you will always be welcome in Friendly Vallarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $146 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing