We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here because I found a great deal on Groupon, or so I thought. The ad for this hotel stated it was a 4 star hotel. I think not. 2 stars at best. The "resort" was full of kids when I went at all hours of the day and night. The hotel is dated but clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating when they understand english. So, if you stay here, know your basic spanish so you can get by otherwise you will be stuck with your issue until someone who can speak english shows up. Oh, and good luck trying to get an iron delivered to your room. At the very least, learn the spanish word for iron and ironing board. My toilet paper roll would not stay together and everyday the cleaning staff would put it back together like nothing was wrong with it. They have 3 elevators. One of which is specifically for the spa. The other 2 take you up and down to your rooms, however, 1 elevator was broke the entire time I was there. So we were all stuck using 1 elevator. One elevator + a bunch of unsupervised kids = long waits to get to your destination.

The food was marginal. I had better food at the local restaraunts. One day it rained (actually more than one day) and the buffet room had a leak in the ceiling that just happened to be above the hot food bar. They just put down towels and bowls to catch the water and kept with the same program of serving food. Nevermind that the food did receive a few residual raindrops here and there. I love trying different food but I have to say, this was not something I'd want to eat again. They birds fly indoors and sit on the tables and pick at your food if you turn your back on them for too long.

The beach was fine but you cant relax in peace because every other minute someone is asking you to buy something. If you can afford it, there are much nicer places to stay.

Room Tip: Dont get one near the elevator!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hi Tiffany W!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we regret any inconvenience you had with kids, but they are here only once (not all year). The problem with the elevator has been fixed. Most of our staff speaks English, Puerto Vallarta is a tourist place 100%, therefore speak English has become a priority and an important requirement to work in hotels like Friendly Vallarta. Regarding the food, we have every day different things to please to all our guests, chicken, beef, seafood, pasta, salads, desserts, drinks etc. However always be a challenge for us to satisfy all our guests. We have a beachfront hotel and the birds are always close, Some of our guests give food to these birds, that's why they come to eat, but we have people who are always in control of this situation. We hope to see you once again, you will always be welcome in our hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,153)
There are newer reviews for Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 3,153 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay here.What a wonderful holiday.The staff are amazing,they are the heart of this hotel and make you feel so welcome.The hotel is in an excellent location.You can either walk or take a short taxi ride anywhere,and your right on the beach.Perfect for moonlight walks on the beach.
The food was good.Plenty of variety.I have Celiac and found there was plenty to eat for me.
The hotel room is very basic.But,the maid kept it clean.The pool is lovely and clean,and we loved the infinity pool.Check in and out is easy.
There is entertainment every evening.Mainly done by the wonderful activities staff.
Just a couple of negative things.Take ear plugs to sleep.Its very noisy at night.Also,i did request a wake up call for our excursion and didnt get one.So,a travel alarm would be a good idea to take there.
Overall i loved this hotel and would return there again and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi June R!

Thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy of your holiday. We loved to read about your experience with us. We regret the inconvenience during the shows in the evening, but we try to finish at 10:00 pm, this way all our guests can sleep well. Please feel free to come back anytime! See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have travelled extensively in Mexico and have been to PV many times.. first time to this hotel .. party of 4 .. 2 sharing a room on 5 th floor.. I was disappointed when i arrived to this resort... the rooms are extremely outdated... both bathrooms did not have ventillation .. no fan.. mold in bathroom and floor and under sink was gross.. towels were very old and scratchy on the skin. had to ask for extra towels.. not very impressive.

the food was okay but again not a 4 star.. spoke to many people who feel the same way... not many choices of food...

the waiters.. especially Vicente.. Jose.. and Johnny and Carlos was excellent.. we tipped all the time and got great service from these wonderful guys....

we would not stay at this resort again.. there are too many other choices in PV to stay.. this is not a 4 star .. only a 3 star...

if you have stayed at 4 stars before you will know what i mean by this resort being a 3 star..

very noisey had to close patio doors and put ac on to drown out the noise from below... i stayed at the golden crown last time and am sorry i did not pic that hotel again.. also a 4 star.. but much much better than this one... many restaurants to choose at the golden crown than this one.. the floors in the hotel were not clean... like they should be...

This hotel needs a big overhaul... its a great location.. but needs lots of work... some people saw roaches in their room..... we did not experience that.. had we.... i would insist to be moved to another resort..

I will not stay here again...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catlady051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hi catlady051!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, we regret this unpleasant experience, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with all our staff. We know it will always be a challenge to satisfy all our guests, but we'll keep trying!. We want you to know that in Friendly Vallarta we have a contract with a company dedicated to the fumigation of all our areas. We value your opinion and we will not contradict you, and also appreciate all your suggestions, but this has been a unique case, because we had never received such complaints like this. The name of the company we are working with is "Control Integrado de Plagas del Pacífico" and they use different chemicals in the rooms: Protegonal, Cipermix, Killer 200 among others. Anyone reading this information can verify this with the company. We have remodeled our rooms, we build new bathrooms at the beach, we remodeled the lobby area, restaurants among other things. All this to satisfy our guests. We hope you come back soon, and you can see that what happened will never happen again in our hotel, we guarantee :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my 5th. trip to Puerta Vallarta each at different hotels. Having only a week to stay this time I once again turned to the reviews and chose "Friendly Vallarta" due to the great comments. My travel partner and I (2 gals in early 60's) weren't disappointed by our choice. The staff was amazing - reviews mentioned Carlos and Abraham at the beach, Sergio at Sunrise Grill, Manuel at the front desk - easy to find out why everyone loves them, but the list goes on and on...the entire staff needs commendation!!! My friend had 2 massages at the Spa and would have loved to have had more. We looked forward to each meal, so many choices and something for everyone of all ages...really enjoyed the Gourmet Restaurant. The food at the beach barbecue was something not to miss, including turkey with all the trimmings for US Remembrance Day and entertainment fabulous. For snack treat one afternoon a very large red snapper was barbecued at the beach - lots of cameras came out for that. Many Mexican families during our stay as there was a large youth soccer tournament on and it was the Commemoration of the Revolution - they all added to the enjoyment of our stay - also adding extra Mexican food choices. The ocean water was warmer than the pool - the dolphins were leaping - the sunsets were amazing - the fancy drinks and cervezas were non stop - we were fortunate to be given one of the penthouse rooms with outstanding views - what more can one ask for on a fantastic beach vacation. I will definately be coming back, this time bringing my husband!!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to be on the Penthouse floor, but speaking to other travellers they were happiest...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alberni1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi alberni1950!

Thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy of your holiday. We loved to read about your experience with us, please feel free to come back anytime! See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Friendly was a nice resort to stay at, it was close to shopping and the marina (handy for many excursions) and only a short cab / bus ride to the downtown and the malacon. The staff here are AMAZING and friendly and is the only thing that would make us go there a second time. The food was good but the same every day. It was like a camp food style buffet and by the third day we were all tired of it (3 of our group started getting cramps, not severe but we started eating elsewhere for most meals, even Pizza Hut when we where staying in). If you are an early to bed early riser definitely stay in the tower, the higher the better because it can get loud. We unfortunately experienced a lot of that as the resort took in 600 young college kids who were drinking partying etc for a whole week. At one point they were screwing in the pool and basically took over. We took our young children with us and we just left for the week (just sleeping there) and as soon as the college kids were gone it returned to normal. Friendly is a great stay if you are trying to learn Spanish as a lot of locals stay there and everybody is really social and friendly. Our young children fell in love with the staff and the staff fell in love with them, do it is a kid friendly environment, there is a kids club most days and the kids have a chance to make friends and do activities. Friendly was a good safe spot for an all inclusive kid friendly resort .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolleypop0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi Jolleypop0312!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and also for your suggestions, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon. We will be happy to welcome you back the day you choose. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went to Friendly as part of a vacation package. A smaller hotel but with all you really need. The staff are terrific and work very hard. The hotel has just a few dining options which is fine for me but might not suit those that go to an all inclusive to eat.

Room Tip: Corner suites in the lower buildings have soaker tubs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi dljames!

Thanks for sharing your experience, has been a pleasure to read everything you've written. We have an All Inclusive service with food and drinks during 24 hrs with many options, but certainly always going to be a challenge to satisfy all our guests, we work harder every day to continue offering a quality service and the suggestions are helpful. We would love to see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived on October 10th greeted by a great bunch of staff that made us feel very welcome. All the staff were amazing and even the manager made time to stop and chat with us. The hotel was very clean. The food was ok. We felt very safe on and off the resort. The beach party was excellent with lots of food and great music. We booked the Rhytm Of the Night show and we highly recommend it. Make sure to book all of your excursions through your Westjet representative. Carlos/Handsome deserves a gold star! It's a smaller and older resort but we would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taramisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi taramisir!

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and for sharing this experience, it was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back the day you choose. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $146 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing