We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$351
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$356
$273
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$378
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$156
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$423
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$129
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$132
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,708)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveler rating
740
502
201
125
140
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
502
201
125
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean sideshrimp burgeritalian restaurantsuperior roomheated poolstar resortfamily vacationswim up bargreat vacationalfredomanuelhuberpoolspesosfranciscobellboyliquor
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The management of this Resort is soooo lucky to have such a great crew!! Every single employee here provides, what customer service GOLD Standard should be everywhere, Period!!!
Our stay here was the best!!, love the place, the location, the great view from our room, the amenities and the mexican food served here (yummy!).
They have a spectacular pool with a bar right next to it, where you dont even have to get out of it, so you can continue enjoying it!!!!

I want to thank all the employees at Vamar.......Enrique, Emanuel, Jorge, Alejandro, Manuel, Alexander; God! I wish i could remember every single name. Thing is: We will come baaaaaack!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank SergioOrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamar V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Oscar, is a pleasure to know that your stay at Vamar Vallartar was your total satisfaction and that our facilities, food and staff were the main reason to make your stay great! Your comments will be shared with all of them and once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We purchased this trip on Living Social for $800 (for 2 people) and we blasted it out to a few friends and this turned into a trip for 8 of us.

Because the flights were a little screwy (having us either lose half a day or an entire day), we all concluded that we would arrive the night prior to our reservation and stay at the local COMFORT INN so that we could check in the next day and maximize our relaxation time.

*Airport to hotel*

The cab ride to the Vamar Vallarta from the airport is about 10 minutes and should only cost 60 pesos. However, they will gouge you at the airport and we ended up spending 300 pesos for 6 people. Departing Vamar Vallarta to the airport should only cost you 60 pesos.

*Checking in*

Checking in was easy, breezy. Mirian and Raul helped us out and we were able to check in as early as 10AM with no problems at all. After asking about villa upgrades, we were all offered a villa upgrade but only one set of us (my boyfriend and I) took the upgrade. We asked after unpacking in our original rooms, so be sure to ask about upgrading *before* unpacking.

*Pools*

The main hotel has 2 pools (they go up to 3' - 4' deep). One is on a higher level which was used for pool volleyball and one is on the lower level with a swim up bar.

Across the street is the villa section of the hotel with another 2 (more private, less noisy) pools. This was the preferred section of the hotel and the water goes a bit deeper.

*Towels*

A lot of the reviews say that the hotel is out to get you with the towels...we didn't witness this. We all were accountable for our towels, we put them on our chairs but just never left them completely unattended. Be an adult, hold onto your towel, swap it for your room card or you'll be charged a fee.

*Tipping & Gratuity*

Here's where it gets tricky. Tipping, tipping, tipping. Even though this resort is all-inclusive, that does not mean that gratuity is included. Be prepared to tip your bartenders, bellmen (unless you bring your bags to your room yourself), cocktail/pool waiters and waitresses, restaurant staff, taxi drivers, people who get you taxis, excursion staff, etc etc. It's a pain in the butt if it catches you off guard...so be prepared.

*Bartenders*

One strategy, just as it is in the US, is to tip heavily at the beginning so the bartender will take care of you...however, what if the bartender leaves right after you've tipped and gotten your first drink? Another strategy is to tip at the end before you leave the bar after a few drinks...but this might have your bartender thinking that you're a cheapskate along the way and then be aggravated up until the very end. I suggest tipping at the start and then maybe after the next 2 drinks and so on. Some of the bartenders are the resort are cool and some are grouchy and will not even look up if you call them. This is frustrating. Palmiera, the cocktail waitress by the lobby pool is PHENOMENAL! She walks around the pool taking your drink orders -- stick with her and you'll never be empty. Be sure to tip her well as she is a delight and deserves it.

*Restaurants*

The hotel really misses big time with the food options. There are 2 restaurants. One is the Italian restaurant (only open for dinner) and one is the seafood restaurant (only open for lunch). If you are no longer in the mood for either of these, you're limited to the buffet. The breakfast buffet is under the tent on the northern side of the hotel and the dinner buffet is also located there. The lunch buffets are offered on both sides of the resort. Here's where it gets tricky. Dodging bugs and birds, the assortment of food at the buffets is random. Some of it is delicious and some of it is very strange looking and sometimes seems old. You'll also be expected to tip at every included restaurant as well as every buffet (someone will bring you drinks, collect your plates etc).

In my opinion, food is important. You can have an okay day turned completely around if you have an excellent dinner. The Italian restaurant was my favorite but it gets boring eating there every night.

The hotel also has this reservation system that only allows you to eat at their two main restaurants twice during your stay. We tipped heavily the first time we went to each and were invited back by the staff.

You can always cab it downtown to eat at a more authentic Mexican restaurant or just walk next door to the pizza and taco place for some great food (you'll have to pay for this though). My suggestion to the hotel would be to commission this restaurant as part of the all-inclusive rate because the food was so good.

*Housekeeping*

Housekeeping at the villa was excellent - they came every day at odd times. Sometimes at 8:30AM and sometimes after 10AM and sometimes after 2PM. We tipped them generously at the end of our stay since there was never much to clean in the room each day. Some people opt to tip each day to insure that the proper maid gets the tip.

*The rooms*

The beds were great - ask for an extra pillow or a blanket if you need one. The main hotel's room layout is random with a kitchen and a working stove but no fridge. The villa is a large, more comfortable room with a fridge and a living room, balcony, dining area, closets, and large king size bedroom. The air conditioners in all of our rooms were working excellently. One set of friends had a leaky AC on the last day of the trip but that was the only AC complaint.

*The crowd*

We ran into mostly Americans here -- including some spoiled ones who don't know how to speak to people in the service industry. A group of girls with the hashtag #BroadsTakePV (look them up on instagram) were here during our stay and I think they thought they were at the Jersey Shore (this is NOT the Jersey Shore). The resort offers free weddings and there were 2 happening during our stay -- we didn't see any of them but we heard about them from other guests.

There was a good amount of children here -- some locals and some from other countries. The locals who can pay a day fee to stay at the hotel were NOT a bother at all (as some of the reviews suggest).

Overall, for the amount of money spent, this was just fine. Some of the reviews here are a little silly. The hotel is not that expensive at all. If you want luxury, go to a luxury hotel.

:)

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading to a villa! You'll be grateful if you get upgraded! :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GoingWithEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamar V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

On behalf of the staff of Vamar Vallarta we appreciate that you have choosen and we appreciate your valuable comments about the friendliness of our staff and our service, this is very motivating to keep improving every day.

We look forward to welcoming you again and serve as you deserve.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's a big hotel, with a good restaurant service and rooms that can be really simple and rooms that are really big. The bar service is good and the staff is friendly. It's a beautiful hotel with a nice view of the Marine

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the second part of the hotel are the bigger ones, but they are a little far away of the biggest pool that is where everyone stays the hole time..
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gragope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamar V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

It is very nice to know that you really enjoy your stay in Vamar Vallarta as well as its privileged location in Marina Vallarta.

Thank you for your preference and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

EXCELLENT customer service! US would do well with a few lessons. Everyone was super friendly and we felt it was a place where everyone (staff) knew our names. Returning from a days adventure we felt as if we were coming home. The rooms were clean, but minimal (which isn't a bad thing) the a.c worked like a charm in our room. The beds are a bit hard and we were disappointed that we had a room with two doubles and it was our honeymoon. We learned later that had we said something at the beginning, they would have bent the rules to accommodate us. Food was mediocre, but it was more about the atmosphere and people who were spoiling us. We enjoyed everyone one of you immensely. We enjoyed our experience and will be returning in the near future. Our best piece of advice, TIP! TIP! TIP! These people hustle butt in the heat and humidity doing their very best to make you feel at home. Show your appreciation for what they do.

Room Tip: After checking in, if there is something that you want changed, the staff will bend over backwards to make you comfortable. But, tell them your grievances beforehand, not after the fact.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issaapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamar V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in Vamar Vallarta, we are glad to know that your stay was really pleasant.

We appreciate your good comments about our facilities, services and staff, this motivates us to keep improving and hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Where to start..check-in I guess. What a nightmare! We checked in or tried to check-in on a Friday afternoon, should not be a problem right! Wrong....we were lied to so many times it was disgusting! After an hour wait they ushered us to a room, we opened the door and room was already occupied! Poor lady sure we gave her a heart attack. Back downstairs....go have lunch and we will sort this out the staff tells us. Upon our return and another 45 minute wait....sorry we are sold out they tell us. WHAT!! But we do have room in the villa (we had two rooms) which is across the street. Ok no problem.....BUT there are no places for breakfast or drinks (after 6pm) so you have to walk back to the hotel for a dang cup of coffee or a drink! The villa side is much more cleaner and quieter and the pool faces the ocean. The cleaning staff were excellent! They don't tell you but there is bottled water at the front desk.
Oh one more thought...I had several months prior emailed them and requested the 7th floor facing the ocean. They confirmed my request and sent me confirmation. Bull crap!!

FOOD: Freakin awful! There is one place that serves breakfast for the entire hotel! You have to squeeze in this little HOT place which is outdoors. The food is not properly iced and there are flies on everything! The nice young lady will fry you an egg, which was safe to eat. The Villa side does have a snack bar that serves lunch and it is much better. The Italian restaurant is awful....I had caprese salad...with some kind of awful cheese! Where the heck is the mozzarella cheese!

Friday-Sunday place is packed...then it quiets down during the week. Beware of the people trying to sell you excursions, they will not leave you alone!!

Finally.....our flight left at 3:00pm, so I ask for a late check out...that will cost you $13 an hour says the hotel staff! Are you joking. Take my advise and do not book!

When I read other reviews the staff always replies..sorry to hear we will work to improve. IMPROVE ALREADY!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliewwjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamar V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Let me thank you for sharing your comments. We offer a sincere apology and we regret not having met your expectations during your recent stay.

Thank you again and we remain at your service.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews