We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Amazing Service”
Review of El Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Pescador
Ranked #71 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I have stayed at El Pescador two years in a row. Yes it is cheap, it may look a little run down from the outside, but this place was amazing. The employees were all very friendly and helpful, and they really go out of their way to make you feel at home and important. We had a very nice room- it actually had about 4 beds in it and it was just my sister and I traveling together. The location was so great, we never stepped foot in a cab for sight seeing because we were able to walk everywhere. This is a great way to escape the resort and truly experience the culture and the beautiful city. It's just a few minutes from the boardwalk (the bars/restaurants/etc).

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rosita, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments.
As a 3 star Hotel we are glad to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.

Kind Regards
Claudia Guzman
Sales Manager
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 283 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

Just got back from puetro and I had such a wonderful time.

The staff at the El Pescadore took great care of my grilfrind and me. Our room was spacious and clean ... lots of hot water ... tv worked well ... lots of room at the pool ... very good dinig room ... lots of staff who love to help.

The hotel is very airy but the sound does travel ... gets a little noisy at about 8am but is quiet at night. We got luckey and had three beds in our room ... no balcony, no view, but large and the view is just steps away. We were out of the room most of the time anyway.

The location of the hotel is wonderful ... 2 blocks away from the Malecon ... off of the main road ... oxxo and taverna a block away. The airport is about 20 bucks away and you don't need a taxi to experiance old town and you can spend 3 days doing it easily.

The price was great ... the room worked for us ... the staff got us to where we wanted to go and the other guests were friendly (great tips on resturants).

Have a great time
Bueno Noches

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aress60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rosita, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments.
As a 3 star Hotel we are glad to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards

Claudia Guzman
Sales Manager
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I booked a room on the internet for $57/night. I requested an oceanview room. When we got to the property, we were shown an interior room with a view of a decrepit apartment across the street, grimy, fingerprint-filled walls, no toilet paper, a broken balcony door handle...

We asked for a better room. We were told that an oceanview room was $20 more per night. It was marginally better, so we paid the extra fee.

Front desk staff told us that the internet rate is for an interior room. NOWHERE on the site did it say that if we are booking the "internet rate" we'd have to stay in a HORRIBLE room. I'm thinking it was the old "bait and switch."

Turns out, we could barely stay there one night. The airconditioning did not cool the room at all -- no ceiling fans meant air was not circulating, and the air coming out of the unit was not cold at all. (We even had hotel staff come up in the middle of the night to check it and we were assured it was working properly.)

We left the hotel the next day (getting a refund, less the night we stayed there), and moved to a palatial two-bedroom condo for $105/night that we found via a vacation-rental website. SO WORTH IT! Never again will I book a budget hotel in Puerto Vallarta. And definitely not the Hotel El Pescador.

I've got photos of the horrible, scary, icksville room posted at my blog, TravelingMamas.com (do a search for El Pescador) if you'd like to see them.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karaesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2011

Dear Guest,
We really sorry about your bad experience that you had with us.
Just a short note right now you have the option to reserve online Ocean View Rooms
We will take care about your comments so we hope that you bring us the opportunity to host you again.
Kind Regards

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We have nothing but good things to say about El Pescador. The next time we go to PV, this hotel will be our first choice. The room they gave us had 4 beds and there were only two of us! 1 king and 3 singles and the square footage of the room was probably about 700 square feet or more! Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and there is bottled water on every floor. (Yes, they only rinse the glasses but the hotel water is okay to drink) The restaurant has good breakfasts but we didn’t try any other meals there. Check-in and out were fast and the hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. Internet access is 15 pesos an hour. Excellent location with the Malecon a 5 minute walk and Taco and fresh seafood stands within a 5 minute walk from hotel. There is a large grocery store within a 2 minute walk and groceries in Mexico are cheap compared to Winnipeg. We bought fresh buns and cheese and bananas for lunch one day. Ev brought back a ton of different kinds of coffee she bought there as well. The bus from the airport picks you up outside the airport and takes you downtown within 3 blocks of the hotel for 6 pesos a person (compared to 20-25 bucks for a cab). Make sure it says centro on it.
The happy lobster or La Lagosta Feliz is an awesome restaurant (go there every time we visit PV) has FRESH seafood and the mahi-mahi ceviche is to die for. Dinner for 2 cost 79 bucks before the tip. It has some of the best service of any restaurant we have eaten in anywhere and the view is spectacular. When they found out we were repeat customers a free bottle of wine and a plate of ceviche showed up---no charge. Then the owner came over and introduced himself and we chatted for 5 minutes. He is a working owner, not just a figurehead. He has worked in the restaurant business all his life and it shows.
The bus will take you to the interactive zoo. Ev got to hold and play with a 4 month old panther for ten bucks and we could take as many pics of her and the panther as we wanted. You can buy a bag of food to feed the animals for 5 bucks when you enter the zoo. Allow 3 hours to see it properly. 2/3 of the way through the zoo is the zoo restaurant. We recommend the soup.

You can find many beachside restaurants offering a bucket of beer (4) for 5 bucks if you walk past the end of the Malecon. There is live entertainment in many of the bar/restaurants on the beach. T-shirts are 5 for 10 bucks if you look hard enough. Some days we would eat at a taco stand at 400 pm or 500 pm and would be full for the rest of the evening. 3 tacos for 5 bucks for me and Ev had 12 very fresh oysters and a pop for 80 pesos! Maybe a crepe on the Malecon later. These should be tried at least once. You get to watch them make it right in front of you. Very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairiegal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rosita, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments.
As a 3 star Hotel we are glad to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.

Kind Regards
Claudia Guzman
Sales Manager
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

This place was not very "POSH POSH" in the least. It was OK but the sinks were chipped and cracked. The Beds were hard as rocks. They did have clean linens, and the rooms were clean. The pool was clean and nice. The Restaurant was nice and had good food. They have a happy hour from 1pm-3pm and again from 5pm-7pm. The drinks were good. Its really close to the grocery store and several eateries. The police patrolling was very good they patrolled all night long, no problems at all. My sister in law and myself walked around all night, and no one bothered us or approched us. I heard no noise and we had the streetside of the hotel. We sat on the nice balcony at night and watched the people go by. We went to the tequila shops and they wanted $35 american dollars for a bottle, and went to the grocery store and bought the same bottle for $9.80. It is within walking distance to the Malecon, and Hard Rock, the Cathedral, which by the way was beautiful. The hotel is beachside, we did get into the water, and they have parasailing right next door for $35 USD. The price was good, I just wish they would have had better beds, and maybe update the rooms just a tad. We got a tax ride from the airport for $20 and that was walking over the bridge to the yellow taxis, but later found out we could have gotten it for $10, the ride back from the hotel we did get for $10. Over all it was OK, but my back was killing me and we all tossed and turned all night. If you like hard beds this is the place to go. They did have TV's with 74 cable channels and had english stations. They also had bottled water in the hallways to drink which was nice. We did take the bus for 50 cents to the Malecon a few times, but got lost coming back, we asked the driver to help but he forgot us. Dont go to Puerto Vallarta between June and October, its their rainy season and it was raining like crazy and the streets were like rivers as they have no sewer system. Our feet were drenched and we had to cross those streets that looked like rivers. During the day we had a few non rainy hours and went to the flea market over by the malecon and got some good deals. They had a swinging bridge and were cutting down coconuts which was very good and pretty cool to watch. They also had some good eateries on the top floor of the flea market which they call the Marketa Municipal. We ate at the Cocina Economica, and all three of us ate for $10 with drinks and lots of food. Their salsa was the best we had there and their Caldo de Res (Beef Vegetable Soup) was awesome. They had a lady making fresh corn tortillas, wow they were awesome, and cheap too. Their orange juice was fresh squeezed and their fajitas were really good too. All in all, the vacation was OK too much rain, and the room was not that comfortable, it was not even as nice as a super 8, it was just OK, the beds are what really killed me, but the location was great for walking around and hitting the town, and the grocery store, but is it worth your back? I think I would look for something nicer. Hotel Suites Nadia is right next door, and it looked awesome, but only 10 rooms and they had an infinity pool on the top floor, I would look into that one, cause it looked really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rrortiz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your greats comments to Hotel El Pescador and Puerto Vallarta.
We are glad to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I stayed there one day and had a very pleasant stay. It is in prime location, right on the beach and 2 blovks away from the famed Malecon boardwalk.
The hotel is not big, but it offers all the amenities. A restaurant is located on the premises that offers delicious Mexican dishes at a decent price. But you can easily walk a block onto the main street and hit a handful of other eating spots for a cheaper price.
The pool is large and the environment is friendly and relaxing.
I totally recommend this place. I will now consider staying here for future trips... it's a bargain!

The staff are very generous and are avid English speakers, but I speak Spanish myself. The elevator is a bit snug, but at least there 's one.
They have a sister hotel, Rosita's, that is at the start of the Malecon and offers a cheap breakfast buffet...
If you stay there, remember that's it s budget hotel, so don't expect spacious rooms, however, the room looked clean and in order. The TV had cable channels so you're set.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brownybros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your greats comments.
As a 3 star Hotel we are glad to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We still working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This is our second visit to the El Pescador. Excellent location on the ocean. A little quieter than the sister Hotel Rosita, with the front of the hotel off the main street. Nice pool with bar close by and easy beach access. Rooms have million channel sat TV and A.C. They also have a small, private balcony with a couple of chairs. Elevator for those that need it. Flexible check-out hours. English is fairly well spoken at the front desk. Agent available most of the time for booking rental cars, tours, etc. Make sure to ask for a room with a pool/ocean view. Booking at their website was $57 inclusive compared with the posted (rack) rate of $80. Happy hour includes the strongest Margaritas I have ever had. Decent restaurant. Easy 15 minute walk to the Romantic Zone or catch a bus for 5 1/2 pesos ($0.55, new higher fare) Big tip: Just walk outside the airport and catch a bus (before 10pm) to downtown and the hotels for .55 cents compared to $24, yes $24 for a taxi. This is an above average hotel with an excellent beach location but still a feeling of privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank E Pierce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your greats comments.
It is glad for us to know that you had a good experience in our property
As a 3 star Hotel we are happy to know that our service, clean and location was good for you.
We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest.
We will happy to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards

Sales Manager
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#55 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suites la Siesta
Hotel Suites la Siesta
#79 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#104 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#73 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vallartasol Hotel
Vallartasol Hotel
#80 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador

Address: Calle Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $44 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pescador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing