We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very Nice Time"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Pescador
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winnipeg, MB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Very Nice Time"”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I knew when I booked the El Pescador that it was an older hotel and may not have all the amenities we were accustomed too. We went in with an open mind and were very pleased with our stay. From the get go the front desk staff (Ricardo greeted us) was welcoming, professional and understanding of our needs. Each time we had a request it was handled within a few hours. All the staff were friendly & hardworking. Our maid was Gloria, she was always smiling and did a wonderful job.
The pool area was comfortable - lot's of chairs, could have had a few more umbrella's. Unfortunately no chairs allowed on the beach, however there was a woman who rented umbrella's and chairs close by.
Bring a beach towel as they do not provide them.
The breakfast included was average - could of had a bit more of a variety - 6 items that rotated every 3 days. Toast would have been great!
We wanted a very relaxing vacation after a long cold, stressful winter and that's what we got at the El Pescador. Thank-you!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glorrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy because you had a good time with us and all this information help us to still offer a best services.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    119
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
50
103
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

3 days at El Pescador, booked an ocean view room and was very pleased, clean comfortable room with a great view, great location close to everything. nice pool and beach, good service at the restaurant, a very pleasant stay in PV,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossone42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service,staff and location was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We come to PVR a minimum of once a year and try to stay in different hotels or condos every time. This was our first time at the El Pescador.
The location was perfect for out needs..short distance to the malecon and old town. Booked an ocean view room directly with the hotel on their website for $10 more per night...very reasonable. When we checked in they took us to a room on the north side of the building overlooking parked cars and taxis in the alley. Before we even opened the door we told the bellman we were on the wrong side for an ocean view room. The room was awful. He told us we would have to call room reservations. We called the front desk who connected Us to el pescador room reservations located offsite...ridiculous. The consensus was they had no rooms available and we had to check the next day. After speaking with several other guests, it seems this is pretty common at this hotel. A bit of a bait and switch tactic hoping we wouldn't notice or complain?!? We didn't back down and had to become somewhat assertive to get the room we paid for. Btw...no refund of the extra $10 we paid for the first night in the non ocean view room. Not a lot of money...but no one likes to feel taken advantage of while on vacation. We were moved to a much better room the remaining night with an ocean view. However, no hot water. But, hey you have to pick your battles. My advice...ask to see the room before you accept it. Probably wouldn't go back...sorry El Pescador.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments all this information we will help us to take care
about some change in our service.
We hope that we will have a new opportunity to host you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here since 2006, and have always appreciated the great prices and location. This year was no different. A 5 minute walk to the Malecon,access to a great ocean beach, and very reasonable prices all made for a great stay. Staff were hardworking, especially during the afternoon drink specials. While they dont have a compute/printer on site to print off boarding passes, there is an internet cafe 200 yards away ..
Recommend you get a room in the away from the neighbouring beach

club to the north of the hotel....it plays annoying electronica music during the day and into the night, and this year, we did relocate to a different room after a couple of days... Loking fwd to next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service and all the staff was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed at el pescador many times. Every time was a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We like the club sandwich for lunch. Rooms are simple but clean. Walk in shower good for seniors. Close to Malecon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janetswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service and the rooms was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel may be considered well located by some. It is close to the Malecon and downtown but the beach is treacherous. Not suitable for children and perhaps not for anyone but a strong swimmer. Pool is fair. Restaurant is fair. Rooms are fair but no way to make ice and store soft drinks and juices. No beach toys but your could probably not use them anyway. Suitable for adults on a lazy holiday who want to be close to downtown.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get an ocean view room. Avoid at all costs the rooms that have no balcony or outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We will take care about all the information in order to offer best services.
We hope see you in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Previous two times we were in the south wing over the restaurant. Only negative we noticed was there were not enough pool chairs. So then and now we need to get down there early to reserve a couple.

This year there are fewer pool chairs and many are broken. There are no drawers in the room and the closet doors are almost impossible to move to get to the 4 hangers in it so we are living out of our suitcases. There is a new flat screen TV mounted high and not tilted so we can’t see the picture well unless standing up so it is very dark from the bed. The shower water pressure is non-existent and it takes 10 to 15 minutes to dribble hot water, at least eventually it is hot. The Mango club is next door and they start the music at 9:30 AM and goes until about midnight with a magnificent bass system so the room has a constant heart beat but no music unless sitting on the balcony, I think I am going to scream. The servers no longer speak English and always get the restaurant and drink orders wrong. Pointing to the menu didn’t work. I went to the bar to get some orange juice because I was going hypo-glycemic and thought I was going to pass out before I got the message across and they brought it. It is no longer a place to come if you don’t speak Spanish. As a service to the community or to make more money they provide day passes to non guests. This is nice and I love kids but now the pool is loaded with screaming kids having fun.
I would comment or complain to the hotel about the room but the only person I can find that speaks enough English is the guy hawking tours in the lobby. We will be back to Puerto Vallarta next year but El Pescador is on the never again list.

Room Tip: High on the south side with ocean view is recommended. North corner should be refused. Right now I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We´re so sorry about your experience in your last stay with us.
We will take care about all this information in order to offer best services.
We hope see you in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#51 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#33 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#69 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#79 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador

Property: El Pescador
Address: Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pescador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing