We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad decline”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

That was our last stay at the Mercurio. All we expect in a hotel is a decent bed and shower. The bed left us with backaches each morning and the pillows were like pancakes-- half the height of a beer can. The shower fluctuated between scorching and freezing, not only when someone used the sink, but when the building's AC units turned on. The average age of the clientele is about 60, which matches the Mercurio's rooms very well, and provides income for the hustlers who gather around the pool each night. Everything about the place is awful, except for the wonderful staff. The front desk and bar staff are some of the nicest people in Puerto Vallarta. If not for them, this would be a one star review. It appears that the hotel is for sale, so perhaps there's hope for it yet. Until then, however, you'd be wise to avoid it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

Hi I stay to this hotel for 1 week, it was ok but I will recommand the owner to paint the bathroom because in the room I was #201 it was moisty on the ceilling. The staff was
very nice

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvon_rancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Our group of 6 guys, age range 29-40, stayed at Hotel Mercurio (HM). The hotel is within walking distance to the beach (all areas, including Blue Chairs and other gay areas), gay bars and clubs, restaurants, shopping etc. The location (and a recommendation) is the reason we chose to stay here.

The hotel staff (from the front desk to the cleaning people to the bar staff) are MORE than accommodating and always ready to give options for dinner, shopping etc. Staying true to the other reviews the hotel is not your super fancy Hilton with turn down and room service; but more along the lines of Quality Inn or La Quinta, which is not a bad thing. Honestly, if you are concerned about the way the hotel room looks you're spending too much time in the room...and you shouldn't be in PV. You are going to be (or should be) spending most of your time away from the room anyway, right?

The hotel itself is secure and has a night guard and staffed all day. The Happy Hour is probably one of the BEST in PV. This holds true as even locals come here. The drinks are STRONG, where we found other bars in PV do not serve strong drinks, especially along the beach. The breakfast is a true breakfast, not a continental breakfast. It was great to be able to walk down to pool area for breakfast and enjoy chilaquiles, huevos rancheros, yogurt, coffee, fresh OJ etc.

The clientele range from young guys (us) to older, all were nice and not the leering type. Seemed like everyone was with friends or had been staying at HM for years. Most are from US, Canada or Europe. A few from Asia and South America.

I would most certainly return to HM on any visit to PV. Despite the dated decor, the beds were not bad, the service was GREAT and the location is wonderful!

Room Recommendation:
Rooms on the third floor facing the street are the quietest and have the most natural light. Rooms on the interior (pool facing) are darker. First floor rooms are surrounding the pool area and may be subject to pool noise etc. We stayed on the third floor, #307, great spacious room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Mercurio for a week during a solo visit for my first time to Puerto Vallarta because it sounded like it would be a fun place and could meet some fellow travelers and get advice on things to do. I was not disappointed. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly. The hearty free breakfast at the pool was always first class and a great chance to meet other guests. The happy hour in the afternoon was another chance to meet other travelers as well as locals. I met several people who I have communicated with since my trip and plan to see on my trip to Puerto Vallarta again next year. As far as the accomodations go, the room was small, but adequate. The bathroom was a little rustic, which was the only drawback to the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. I especially liked the fact that there was a free computer station with printer available so I didn't have to take my laptop with me, although other guests took advantage of the free wireless internet. I would especially recommend this hotel to first time travelers to Puerto Vallarta because it is in the center of all of the gay clubs and activities and the staff and other hotel guests are very helpful and friendly. You will definitely find other people that you can party with if you so choose.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Around 30 rooms. The building is a bit older but it is everything you need and more. If you go in expecting the Ritz Carlton, you may be disappointed. You get a great breakfast every morning. The coffee is STRONG! :) The pool is a happening place during happy hour. They have a little bar open afternoon and at night. Fresh towels and toiletries in the room, fridge and a SAFE (always important with passports and money). From college dudes to bears and every age, shape and size, you will feel so welcome with the warm and friendly staff. From Jorge, the bartender, to Chely, the breakfast chef. Cute place with lots of character (and characters).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyschwartz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed here because we didn't want to put up with gay scene on the beach around the Blue Chairs, but we made a bit of a mistake. The great service from the staff and the nice pool area did not make up for the poor state of the rooms. Like other reviews here, they did spell musty and moldy and things are falling apart. The beds are rock hard.

Still, the pool area was nice, the breakfast was fine and the pool happy hour scene was fun as well. if the owners gutted the rooms and started over they could create a gem, but at the present time, I can't recommend Mercurio.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brass612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Gay friendly Hotel Mercurio, Puerto Vallarta.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the included breakfast is good,
the happy hour quite fun. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loudanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing