We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$602
$244
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$123
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$331
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$616
$270
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$437
$178
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$379
$307
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$132
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$301
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
230
133
71
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
133
71
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay beachgay hotelzona romanticaevery morningpool areayogurtother guestsrooms are basiclos muertos pierplenty of hot watergreen chairssmall hotelking roomromantic zonesmall poolcleaned every dayceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 480 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This was my first trip to Puartavilarta. This hotel made my trip. The entire staff was friendly and met all my needs. Jorge the bartender was fantastic David was great. The breakfast chefs were amazing. The rooms were a bit dated but we're very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the pool. The Sunday beer burgers and boys was a lot of fun. I'm already planning my next trip and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristpd, Owner at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your first visit! It is our goal to exceed your expectations, and we are always looking for ways to improve and add value, services, and comfort... we hope your next visit will be even better!

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

We have always enjoyed the Mercurio but really have enjoyed the upgrades this visit. A chef, a paint job and more along with all the things that have always made this place great. Always meet nice people here as well.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jkzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercuriostaff, Manager at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for your review. Your comments validate our efforts. We look forward to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

I have stayed at the Mercurio ever since my first visit to Puerto Vallarta. Staff are outstanding, always stopping whatever they are doing to say hello and make you feel at home, even the maintenance and cleaning staff. All staff (str8 or gay), make time to learn guests' names and maybe even offer a hug hello. They attract friendly guests so there is almost always someone to talk to or even make vacation friends. Happy hour is low key varying on who shows up, but Jorge, the bar manager and primary tender is fantastic, an instant best friend. Sunday's Beer, Burger's and Boys is a friendly event attracting many ex-pats and locals, as well as guests. I never miss it when there. Staff turnover is incredibly low, a credit to management. The front desk staff keep an eye on you, checking local attractions, making reservations, or just chatting to make sure you are having a good visit. (They take IDs if you bring in offsite guests, being discrete but also screening out known trouble makers, keeping the hotel and guests safe.) Daily breakfasts are fresh fruit, eggs, something special cooked just for that day, plus the regular assortment of breakfast food...simply huge and expansive for such a small hotel (the main cook and server is their food manager so you get lots of specialized attention).

As per my other reviews of the Mercurio, this is a Mexican style hotel, so rooms are basic. That said I am seeing ongoing maintenance and room improvements almost every trip. Shower water pressure has always been good, and as hot as I want. They just added food service but I haven't tried it out too much due to the plentiful restaurants (and beach, shops, ATMs, pharmacies, etc.) surrounding the hotel. The cleaning staff do your laundry for free (but please tip well)with short turnaround, which lets me bring less stuff (or more room in my luggage for shopping). The location is absolutely perfect for a walking vacation (or grab a taxi for the many local tours or attractions).

Unfortunately during this trip there were consistent problems with the wifi. The onsite manager responded really quickly adding an extender to my room as my room might be in the hotel's wifi blind spot. This helped but not enough. The hotel's wifi went in and out from anywhere I tried to access it during the entire trip. Staff apologized, saying it was the service. I bring a computer and smart phone, but don't get a Mexican sim card or phone, and rely on hotel wifi heavily. This needs a permanent solution if the hotel's provider isn't adequate, rather than apologizing for it. This was really the only issue for another otherwise wonderful stay at the Mercurio.

Room Tip: Just tell the front desk if you have preferences. They are very accommodating.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank PennJATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristpd, Owner at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments, and we're very happy that you had another pleasant vacation!

As for the WIFI... We have BOTH phone and cable internet coming in to the hotel...2 Telmex lines and one IZZI cable internet account... triple backup and there is no other internet option in Vallarta. We've complained incessantly to the providers, who come and assure us that our routers are fine, no issues. It's just lousy service because both providers have been very slow to upgrade their infrastructure in the neighborhood as the area has grown and internet traffic has increased. The other problem we have in Mexico is that concrete walls (everything is built of solid concrete and block) do not allow for WIFI signals to pass through very efficiently. We've tried to place WIFI equipment in as many locations around the property as possible to compensate, and when we find weak zones, as apparently you found, we ad more...we're positively bristling, but sometimes even that's not enough. We'll keep trying, though!

Again, thanks for your comments!

Paul Crist
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

Attending happy hour at Mercurio while on vacation is a daily highlight. Jorge is literally the reason! Great personality and charm. This trip was disappointing however. In the past, there has been a great variety of music and videos that keep the guests entertained during the afternoon and evening. This year, it was the same looped video of male models walking down the runway... over and over and over and over and over.... BORING!!!!! I was told that this was the decision made and even though many have commented, they won't change it up. I will admit, after several days, it became much less fun to go, and when I did go, I stayed for a much shorter time. In my opinion, a puzzling and poor decision to make. If there was a loop or theme every day that was different... I get it, but 15 nights in a row????? I hope that owner and management will listen to their customers and make this right again.
I look forward to my next visit, but hope it is like the past and not the recent trip.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank mndavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristpd, Owner at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

We have MANY, MANY hours of videos... I have reiterated to the staff to ensure they are showing all of the videos we have, and so to avoid the situation described (seeing the same video more than once in a week.)

We have changed over from doing only the same old music videos we've all seen a million times at very bar on the planet - and have developed a library of sexy male videos to show instead - HOURS AND HOURS AND HOURS of videos. We play these along with a variety of music from pop, to disco favorites during the afternoon & evening bar, and soft jazz or pop in the mornings during breakfast (who wants to hear jarring beats at 8 AM?)

The format change at the bar - especially the sexy (not porno) videos - was the result of many guests comments and suggestions. I guess it's impossible to please everybody all the time... but we do keep striving to do just that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

We stayed at Hotel Mercurio the last week of May 2017. The room was great, the location cannot be beat and the level of customer service was outstanding. A bonus to Hotel Mercurio is the breakfast provided every morning. The food was excellent. The only thing I would do different is request a room facing the street. Courtyard rooms tend to be a little loud during happy hour times, but other than than no complaints.... we plan on staying at this wonderful hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: room facing street would probably be a bit more quiet
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark777333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel B, Manager at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Your nice comments validate our efforts for our clients to have an outstanding holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews