We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner Neglect”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Owner Neglect”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Its hard to go wrong with such a great staff and location. However, no basic improvements that are long over due. It could be a hidden jewel with basics .
Paint, counter tops and something besides tin foil for cabinet liners.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    128
    66
    25
    20
See reviews for
1
141
172
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just returned from a week's stay at this lovely hotel. It is located right in the heart of the "Romantic Zone" and is very convenient to many restaurants, bars, and, of course, the beach. This was my second stay at this property and will certainly not be my last. I would certainly recommend this hotel to the clientele this hotel caters to. By all means, please give this quaint property and their friendly staff a visit on your next trip to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I made a trip to Puerto Vallarta by myself, and researched numerous hotels online before going. I choose Mercurio and was VERY glad that I did. Many other hotel guests were on their 7th and 8th stay at the Mercurio. The Mercurio is not a resort (like the ones 20 minutes away), but it is a FANTASTIC charming hotel right in the middle of all the Puerto Vallarta action. I couldn't have wished for a better location. A short walk to blue chairs/green chairs, short walk to the malecon, bars... just a great location. The hotel is just enough. Comfortable, clean and best of all very affordable. A treat is a made to order breakfast each morning (rico!). I asked other guests about other hotels, and they told me they had stayed at other ones only once, and always returned to the Mercurio. When I go back I will stay at the Mercurio (hopefully the exact same room!). My room was on the first floor by the pool. I could exit my room (even leave it unlocked) and congregate with others while keeping an eye on my room (very, very safe). I was shocked on a Wednesday when I returned from a Zip Line excursion to an awesome pool party with water baloons and water guns (it was so much fun)... you didn't have to know the people you were playing with... everyone just had a great time. The bar is great (opens at 3)... a beer is around one dollar (WAY, WAY better value than paying an enormous price for an all-inclusive that serves watered down drinks). They'll make drinks on request (and even look them up). I'm so happy I stayed there. I would also recommend booking the Grayline transportation from the Airport to the Hotel (and the return trip). Very nice (they wait for you with your name on a sign and coordinate everything) allowing you to enjoy your time in PV. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!! Awesome people, awesome guests. Thanks Mercurio!!!

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy stairs ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgwtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Comfortable, Calm, and Clean. and that's to say the least. I'm not a resort kind of guy, since I believe small hotels like the Mercurio can provide better customer service, and they sure did. Everyone, and I mean everyone works for the hotel had a smile on their faces all the time, very helpful, and always friendly. Location is great, very low key but still two mins walk to almost everything including, of course, the beautiful beach. Beds were very comfy, but that could also be because of all the happy hourS around town. Overall we had a great stay!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the pool, that's if your planning to sleep at 9 PM, which will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidEastChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 7/21/12-7/28/12 and loved every minute of it! The hotel itself is old but then again most of the hotels in this area are old. The Hotel Mercurio staff were so wonderful to deal with and always willing to help you at anytime you needed assistance.

The morning breakfast usually consisted of: pastries, coffee, juice, egg's anyway you like, a hot cooked dish that changed daily, toat, and other delicious items as well. Rooms were adequate and served it's purpose. Like I said the hotel is old but was always clean and didn't have any odors of anykind.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, I would bypass a fancy resort anytime in PV for the Hotel Mercurio, especially since it is 1 block from the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickleman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It had been several years since I had stayed inthe Hotel Mercurio, but on this visit I needed a room pronto and once again Mercurio exceeded my expectations. The staff is ALWAYS friendly, the other guests who stay here are as well.

It is just a great gathering place for happy hour inthe pool or at the bar and all I can say is BRAVO guys! Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, pool side is ver social and geat access for a dip. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Upon arrival to the airport I was greeted with a VIP attendant to take us to our awaiting van which took us directly to the hotel. The hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of Old Town and the area in which I wanted to be in. The staff are so nice and helpful and the hotel was very clean. I must say, I didn't want to ever leave. It's a short walk to EVERYTHING! The courtyard pool and afternoon happy hour, as well as the morning poolside breakfast made it all the more enjoyable. We made some really great friends on this trip both at the hotel and surrounding areas. Be adventurous, explore!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here...but I'd request one with a pool view. Only a couple of them l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod_SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#60 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Property: Hotel Mercurio
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing