We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Puerto Vallarta; I got lucky choosing Mercurio!”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #60 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I made a trip to Puerto Vallarta by myself, and researched numerous hotels online before going. I choose Mercurio and was VERY glad that I did. Many other hotel guests were on their 7th and 8th stay at the Mercurio. The Mercurio is not a resort (like the ones 20 minutes away), but it is a FANTASTIC charming hotel right in the middle of all the Puerto Vallarta action. I couldn't have wished for a better location. A short walk to blue chairs/green chairs, short walk to the malecon, bars... just a great location. The hotel is just enough. Comfortable, clean and best of all very affordable. A treat is a made to order breakfast each morning (rico!). I asked other guests about other hotels, and they told me they had stayed at other ones only once, and always returned to the Mercurio. When I go back I will stay at the Mercurio (hopefully the exact same room!). My room was on the first floor by the pool. I could exit my room (even leave it unlocked) and congregate with others while keeping an eye on my room (very, very safe). I was shocked on a Wednesday when I returned from a Zip Line excursion to an awesome pool party with water baloons and water guns (it was so much fun)... you didn't have to know the people you were playing with... everyone just had a great time. The bar is great (opens at 3)... a beer is around one dollar (WAY, WAY better value than paying an enormous price for an all-inclusive that serves watered down drinks). They'll make drinks on request (and even look them up). I'm so happy I stayed there. I would also recommend booking the Grayline transportation from the Airport to the Hotel (and the return trip). Very nice (they wait for you with your name on a sign and coordinate everything) allowing you to enjoy your time in PV. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!! Awesome people, awesome guests. Thanks Mercurio!!!

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy stairs ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgwtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 460 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Comfortable, Calm, and Clean. and that's to say the least. I'm not a resort kind of guy, since I believe small hotels like the Mercurio can provide better customer service, and they sure did. Everyone, and I mean everyone works for the hotel had a smile on their faces all the time, very helpful, and always friendly. Location is great, very low key but still two mins walk to almost everything including, of course, the beautiful beach. Beds were very comfy, but that could also be because of all the happy hourS around town. Overall we had a great stay!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the pool, that's if your planning to sleep at 9 PM, which will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidEastChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 7/21/12-7/28/12 and loved every minute of it! The hotel itself is old but then again most of the hotels in this area are old. The Hotel Mercurio staff were so wonderful to deal with and always willing to help you at anytime you needed assistance.

The morning breakfast usually consisted of: pastries, coffee, juice, egg's anyway you like, a hot cooked dish that changed daily, toat, and other delicious items as well. Rooms were adequate and served it's purpose. Like I said the hotel is old but was always clean and didn't have any odors of anykind.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, I would bypass a fancy resort anytime in PV for the Hotel Mercurio, especially since it is 1 block from the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickleman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It had been several years since I had stayed inthe Hotel Mercurio, but on this visit I needed a room pronto and once again Mercurio exceeded my expectations. The staff is ALWAYS friendly, the other guests who stay here are as well.

It is just a great gathering place for happy hour inthe pool or at the bar and all I can say is BRAVO guys! Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, pool side is ver social and geat access for a dip. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Upon arrival to the airport I was greeted with a VIP attendant to take us to our awaiting van which took us directly to the hotel. The hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of Old Town and the area in which I wanted to be in. The staff are so nice and helpful and the hotel was very clean. I must say, I didn't want to ever leave. It's a short walk to EVERYTHING! The courtyard pool and afternoon happy hour, as well as the morning poolside breakfast made it all the more enjoyable. We made some really great friends on this trip both at the hotel and surrounding areas. Be adventurous, explore!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here...but I'd request one with a pool view. Only a couple of them l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarrod_SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Mercurio is in a perfect location in Puerto Vallarta. It is only a half-block to Olas Altas, the main street in the city's Zona Romantica neighborhood, where almost all the gay bars and nightclubs are located. The service is great. Issac, Joey, Gabriel, Alex and the overnight crew are great. They serve a buffet breakfast that is far better than the typical continental breakfasts that some hotels serve. They serve made-to-order eggs, plus hot and cold buffet selections including fruit and cereal. The happy hour and breakfast are great ways to meet fellow guests and locals who stop by. The hotel is very secure. They have a good relationship with the police and the local cops who often stop by the lobby to take their breaks. Mercurio is also one of the best values in the city. Had a great visit in June.

Room Tip: If you like to cook, ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwalsh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've stayed at the Mercurio several times. The staff is incredible. Joey, Issac, Alex and Gabriel at the front desk will make sure your stay is the best. They are very knowledgable about PV and the many things to do. They will happily make any reservations you need for any day trips. There is an awesome happy hour daily with Jorge....the best bartender in PV! Eduardo delivers a great (and complimentary) breakfast every morning with egg or meat dish recipes with a Mexican flair. Yes, there are nicer hotels in Vallarta, but a gay traveler can't beat the price, location, and service at the Mercurio. I won't stay anyplace else!

Room Tip: Book a king room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#33 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#105 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $82 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing