We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Triple C!!”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Comfortable, Calm, and Clean. and that's to say the least. I'm not a resort kind of guy, since I believe small hotels like the Mercurio can provide better customer service, and they sure did. Everyone, and I mean everyone works for the hotel had a smile on their faces all the time, very helpful, and always friendly. Location is great, very low key but still two mins walk to almost everything including, of course, the beautiful beach. Beds were very comfy, but that could also be because of all the happy hourS around town. Overall we had a great stay!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the pool, that's if your planning to sleep at 9 PM, which will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidEastChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 459 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 7/21/12-7/28/12 and loved every minute of it! The hotel itself is old but then again most of the hotels in this area are old. The Hotel Mercurio staff were so wonderful to deal with and always willing to help you at anytime you needed assistance.

The morning breakfast usually consisted of: pastries, coffee, juice, egg's anyway you like, a hot cooked dish that changed daily, toat, and other delicious items as well. Rooms were adequate and served it's purpose. Like I said the hotel is old but was always clean and didn't have any odors of anykind.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, I would bypass a fancy resort anytime in PV for the Hotel Mercurio, especially since it is 1 block from the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickleman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It had been several years since I had stayed inthe Hotel Mercurio, but on this visit I needed a room pronto and once again Mercurio exceeded my expectations. The staff is ALWAYS friendly, the other guests who stay here are as well.

It is just a great gathering place for happy hour inthe pool or at the bar and all I can say is BRAVO guys! Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, pool side is ver social and geat access for a dip. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Upon arrival to the airport I was greeted with a VIP attendant to take us to our awaiting van which took us directly to the hotel. The hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of Old Town and the area in which I wanted to be in. The staff are so nice and helpful and the hotel was very clean. I must say, I didn't want to ever leave. It's a short walk to EVERYTHING! The courtyard pool and afternoon happy hour, as well as the morning poolside breakfast made it all the more enjoyable. We made some really great friends on this trip both at the hotel and surrounding areas. Be adventurous, explore!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here...but I'd request one with a pool view. Only a couple of them l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarrod_SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Mercurio is in a perfect location in Puerto Vallarta. It is only a half-block to Olas Altas, the main street in the city's Zona Romantica neighborhood, where almost all the gay bars and nightclubs are located. The service is great. Issac, Joey, Gabriel, Alex and the overnight crew are great. They serve a buffet breakfast that is far better than the typical continental breakfasts that some hotels serve. They serve made-to-order eggs, plus hot and cold buffet selections including fruit and cereal. The happy hour and breakfast are great ways to meet fellow guests and locals who stop by. The hotel is very secure. They have a good relationship with the police and the local cops who often stop by the lobby to take their breaks. Mercurio is also one of the best values in the city. Had a great visit in June.

Room Tip: If you like to cook, ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwalsh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've stayed at the Mercurio several times. The staff is incredible. Joey, Issac, Alex and Gabriel at the front desk will make sure your stay is the best. They are very knowledgable about PV and the many things to do. They will happily make any reservations you need for any day trips. There is an awesome happy hour daily with Jorge....the best bartender in PV! Eduardo delivers a great (and complimentary) breakfast every morning with egg or meat dish recipes with a Mexican flair. Yes, there are nicer hotels in Vallarta, but a gay traveler can't beat the price, location, and service at the Mercurio. I won't stay anyplace else!

Room Tip: Book a king room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the third time that me and my best friend were at that property and we definetely would like to go back,just few things i think they can work and improve one is that breakast included on the price used to be better and honestly it was awful we were expecting chilaquiles or eggs in different ways not just scrambled with not so many fruits and juice that tastes bad,rooms are good good sleeping quality,and the place is nice because its small so its fun and u feel like in a gay family hehe,one thing that is really fun and cheap its their happy hour at noons we really love it,so u can mingle with another guests,another thing that we dont really like is that theres a lot of old people so sometimes u feel like in a retirement house speacially if u are in your 20's like us i think they can work a little bit hard to promote the place as well for young people,another thing is that the guy that works at night shift is not nice and he doesnt really like gay people the rest of the staff its awesome congrats to very single guy at staff speacially to alex,the made and joey(he is really hot),also the place is pretty close to los muertos beach (gay beach) just few blocks walking,one thing that we really pissed us is that one of our cell phones was stolen at cocos bar which used to be ma�ana club so be careful if u go there because policemen does not work with you,they are a little racist,and we heard a lot of stories regards cops and safety in night clubs,i think that gay people generate a lot of income to puerto vallarta so gay stablishments can work hard or invest on that so that can be changed,anyway we had a good time there,saludos de la ciudad de mexico!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejohnsrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing