We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for families and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great for families and great location”
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed here with our 2 teenagers. It is so close to town you can walk, but a full kitchen means you can eat some meals in room. Restaurants and service are excellent. We have stayed more than once over the years. The kids liked it when they were smaller and still do. New internet center was a big hit for the "facebookers".
Kids did the swimming with dolphins and loved it.
Can't beat the location and value and LOVE the spa.
Also-seems many of the staff are there when we return.
GREAT sunday brunch and fiesta night!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    1,097
    443
    176
    151
See reviews for
1,095
1,201
125
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We have stayed here twice per year for the last few years, and have come to love our time at the Sheraton. It has an ideal location, being close enough to walk into town, even to Old Town in ~30 minutes or so. Or it's only a 50-60 peso taxi ride.

The hotel grounds are simply beautiful, with exotic tropical plants everywhere. This is a large hotel, but with so many gardens, it seems like you've got the place to yourself at times. The rooms are very quiet, so sleep comes easy. We particularly liked the service of our housekeeper, Maria. One of the managers, Rodrigo, was also especially helpful, courteous, and friendly.

I am already looking forward to my next trip back to the Sheraton in the fall. Ahhhhhhhh...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Lulu Becerra and Carlos Alvarez of the Concierge Staff at the Sheraton made our stay personal and enjoyable. Both are extremely knowledgeable about Puerto Vallarta and other areas of Mexico and had suggestions which were very helpful and informative. Rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and all have an ocean view with windows that open! Very enjoyable stay and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel was very nice. I was pleasantly surprised with the view, the rooms and the staff. The only downside was the timeshare harassment. Myself and 2 of my friends was told the presentation was 1.5 hours...when in reality, we were there for 3 hours! Our sales rep was really nice and was ok with us saying no...but the "closer" was super rude and we had to get up and walk away.

Otherwise, I have no complaints. If you like to be on the beach a lot, please know that the beach is really rocky. We only went down there once because the rocks really hurt our feet, even with shoes on. It was very close to downtown and the nightlife. Had a fantastic birthday trip with my friends!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The staff were constantly pushing that this was a "Sheraton". Well, Sheraton should take a look at revoking that name!
We were stuck on a Murphy bed (yes, a bed that pulls out of the wall) when our reservation said Queen Bed. The staff wouldn't serve me at all unless my husband was present... the pool staff would completely ignore me if he wasn't there.
We thought we'd take in the "Vacation Club" presentation to get the discounts and deals they offered. The presentation was supposed to be 1.5 hours but we were there from 10 until 1:30 and saw 5 different staff members! One of which through his paper at us and told us we wasted his time!
All the restuarants and "bars" were closed by 11 so there wasn't really anything to keep us on the resort for dinner and entertainment. Although you could ask 3 different staff members and be told 3 different times that the resturants would close.
There was a Mexican Fiesta on Tuesday that was supposed to have live music- but there wasn't any and guests were being told by staff members that it was actually cancelled.
Hmm, what else.. The pool was nice, but no activities.
Definitely the low of the low of resorts we've ever stayed at.
The only thing going for the hotel is that it's in Puerto Vallarta and it's close to the Malecone. I'd advise to spend an extra $100 or $200 and a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie_ratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

That was the best deal ever. I really liked the hotel and enjoyed my stay in here. staff were friendly and helpful, spoke both english and spanish; the location is great ; the rooms are clean and the bathroom is spacious and the Internet service is really fast & reliable!

I would very much go back and stay at this hotel next time I'm in Puerto Vallarta!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my friends and had a very fun vacation. The staff was very friendly, specially the guys at the pool.There is a nice restaurant about 10 minutes from the hotel. Everything we wanted was almost at walking distance (clubs, restaurants) .We love this hotel and are looking forward to our next vacation to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing