We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding of my dreams!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding of my dreams!”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

As soon as my husband proposed I knew I wanted to get married in Puerto Vallarta, and I also knew I wanted to have the wedding at the Sheraton Buganvilias. I have stayed at the Sheraton twice before and was always extremely satisfied. The views iare spectacular, the location couldn't be more perfect, and the hotel staff are warm and extremely helpful.

When I had my wedding there, I was very happy at how accommodating the hotel was in making reservations for all my family and friends. From the moment we arrived, we felt very special. The entire hotel staff knew it was our special weekend and made a huge effort to provide anything we needed. The hotel has a very relaxed vibe to it, which I enjoyed tremendously. The food at the hotel restaurants are five star quality and the drinks were great. Each room provides a full view of the ocean and the downtown area as well as the surrounding mountains. As most wedding go, not everything went to plan (weather, bridesmaid not showing up). The staff that were in charge of the wedding arrangements were very professional and helpful with any situation that came up. The wedding could not have been more beautiful, I would not have changed a thing.

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton a few days after for our honeymoon. The hotel staff was very helpful with any arrangements we needed, including renting a car, setting up and excursion, and restaurant reservations. The Sheraton is truly a wonderful place to vacation (and have a wedding!)

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissylovesyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    1,097
    442
    176
    151
See reviews for
1,095
1,200
125
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My family and I were invited to attend a wedding in Puerto Vallarta that was to take place at the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. Naturally, as all the wedding events were to take place at the hotel, we decided that it would be the best place to stay. And what a great decision that turned out to be!

The first thing one notices is the open lobby that envelops you with the warmth of the ocean breeze and the friendliness of the staff (most of whom, if not all, are perfectly Spanish/English bilingual). The attentiveness of the staff leaves one taken-aback.

When we arrived to our room, the cleanliness of it was welcoming ... and the views of the Bay were simply divine. One can see the entire bay and the beautiful warm waters that surround it.

The proximity of the hotel to the airport and to the center of town is also a big plus. It literally takes 10 minutes to get there from the airport and it's another short taxi ride to the center of town. Of course, the center of town is so close that one can walk there. Walking along the Malecón is truly an amazing experience ... one gets to watch myriad artists create magnificent sculptures from sand ... and one gets to see the permanent art that populates the length of the Malecón. The diversity of food and shopping available in the center of town is great.

The one drawback that I noticed was the continuous push to sell time shares. I am told that is part-and-parcel of staying in a hotel in Puerto Vallarta. So, I looked at it as a mere nuisance rather than an impediment to staying there again should the opportunity to visit Puerto Vallarta arise.

Thoroughly a magnificent place.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgelavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

beach and pool: the pool areas are nice, the beach not nice with very dirty sea water
very bad that if you have a late flight the hotel cannot even offer a shower room (only at the SPA for 50 pesos) if you want to spend the day at the pool as they demand check-out at 12.
hotel: location is fine, the rooms are no more than OK. Gym is very small.

but the worst is the lack of attention of the employees. No smiles and no willingness to help or assist. Even tried to trick people at check out, adding costs to the invoices. (we were a lot of people attending a fireworks symposium and the same happened to many of us). When we asked for a review card the only nice girl we could find went to get it, but still no reaction from this so-called high class hotel. I spend approx 100 nights all over the world in nice hotels and this was certainly the worst experience I have had in many years.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loingboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

This has been our 5th trip to Vallarta and to this hotel. The staff is the friendliest. Stayed at the club rooms, very good value. Service, as usual, was good. Good food, good drinks. We liked the new area where you can use their computers and internet while having coffee. We went on a hiking tour, first time we do that... it was fun. And we walked to town every evening, a pleasant stroll.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2009

My company scheduled a training meeting in Vallarta. I was skeptical about it as I have heard lots of stuff in the news about Mexico. Well, I was wrong.. The meeting was very good and we had plenty of time to play and enjoy Vallarta. Food was delicious and service at the hotel was great. I especially enjoyed the pool area and the jacuzzi. Also, I was able to use my laptop while working on my suntan! And the town was delightful and I felt very safe, even when I ventured throughout town by myself.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank atomic2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

My fiancee and I spent there 5 fabulous days. The hotel is very close to town, we walked there every single day. Our room was very spacious and was overlooking the ocean, we could see the whole bay. They had an amazing buffet every morning. The staff was very attentive and nice, particularly that waiter by the pool area, I think his name was Roberto... We are ready to go back... as a matter of fact we learned today that we are going back in November as our good friends are getting married there. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntan1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Room : I had booked an ocean king room but on checking in, was shown to a room on the club lounge level with an outdoor terrace. Naturally I did not complain, just assumed the hotel had given me an upgrade. When I saw the other rooms in this hotel, they were all very old and dated. The lower the floors, the worst it became. When I checked out, to my surprise they wanted to charge me double of what my reservation was confirmed for!! When I complained, the lady from the reservation took my confirmed reservation (make sure you always have that handy with this hotel) and went to check. She came back and explained it was a "mistake" that I was put in the "wrong" room and that she would charge me the cheaper rate. Well you would have thought that was a given for any international hotel chain.

Service - generally OK, but most of the time you have to work very hard at attracting waiters for service. I had tipped about 10% at restaurants since the receipt you sign has an empty space for gratuity, but imagine on checking out, there is a mandatory service charge already per night based on your room rate!! I was never told about this, so it was a bit cheap of the hotel to do that.

Business Centre : The people running the business centre certainly held their hands out for tips!! My photocopying cost 15 pesos and I gave him 20 pesos and he told me he had no change and that is was only 5 pesos, not much money at all. If it is not much money, then why keep it as his tip?

If it were not for the convention that was being held at the hotel, I would not come. It's not really a resort you can relax, it's mostly a convention hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing