We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Concierge service was wonderful! Would definitely recommend asking them how much you should pay to get to each destination before you get into any cab from the hotel.

The room was a little dated for the price and in desperate need of an overall make-over.

The gift shop was very pricey $235 pesos for sunscreen.

We left on Tuesday the 28th and at 9am there was some sort of exterior contruction occurring which included a repetitive bang thru 12pm when we checked out.

If you plan on accessing wifi from your room, don't bother, the service is weak and constantly disconnects. You can use their wifi cafe located next to the lobby but for a price of $50 pesos for 30 minutes or you can use your own device and connect for free.

If you eat off of the menu at any of the restaurants during the day, the service is extremely slow as their main priority in the kitchen is keeping the buffet replenished. Literally waited an hour for steak nachos. Breakfast buffet was mediocre, poolside buffet offered all Americanized food and no authentic dishes worth trying.

Room service ran about 45-50 minutes and only sped up when I ordered just beer and didn't understand why it would take so long since it requires no prep.

The pool area was loud and played the same club themed songs over and over.

I will never book at this hotel again due to their poor kitchen service, lack of authenticity and drive to immerse tourists into the true character and culture of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Melanie:
First of all let us thank you about the time you take for doing this review, and we want to apologize for all the inconveniences that made that your stay wasn’t a pleasant one.
We always come to work with one thing on mind… to make your dreams come true. We didn’t accomplish our goal with you and we want you to let us prove that we are the best option for everyone in Puerto Vallarta.
In this moment we are working to handle the internet problems, we are upgrading our antennas in order to offer a better service in the rooms. The restaurant problems, we are taking note about them for making more and better options for you!
Please take our apologizes and let us host you the next time you come to Puerto Vallarta in order to prove you all our improvements.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 3,719 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed Jan 3-10 2014
Positives
The room met my expectations. I was provided the balcony that I requested (smoker) with ocean view. Beds and pillows wonderful, room nicely designed. Excellent room service in a timely fashion. Pools clean, decks power washed daily early in the AM.
Staff friendly.
Excellent poolside and beach service for food and drinks.
Breakfast buffet excellent with both egg and shake tables.
Excellent Hotel Shops with fair prices.

Negatives
Food-I love food and will eat almost anything but found the al-la-carte restaurants to serve food that at times even I could not eat. The steak at the Mexican restaurant was the only wonderful meal in 7 days.
Overall most disappointing food, buffets better than al-la-carte.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoJo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest from Toronto:
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the great comments you write about all our services. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us, and you enjoy our facilities.
By the other way we want to apologize about the food in our al la carte restaurant, we are taking note about your words in order to improve those little things in order to make your Sheraton experience a great one.
Please let us host your next Puerto Vallarta vacation in order to demonstrate you our improvements.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I are use to top-rated hotels around the world. After reading many of the reviews here and on the Starwood site, we were worried and seriously considered canceling and booking elsewhere.
In our opinion, the bad reviews were puzzling. While this is clearly not a 5 star property, it is still a very nice resort. To be specific:
- it was incredible well maintained. Rooms were impeccable.
- staff were all super friendly and professional.
- there were no bedbugs! Believe me, we checked carefully.
- the pools are very nice. They are large, clean and each has what I consider one of the coolest things - swim-up bars! It was the high season (January) - so they were crowded - but not crazy crowded.
- the food at the hotel is not cheap, but it's not out of line for resort hotels in the area.
Tips:
- get a balcony. It's nice to sit outside and enjoy the view with morning coffee or evening cocktails.
- the club level with continental breakfast and evening wine and great appetizers is worth it.
- for the equivalent of about 60 cents you can ride the bus into the quaint and fun Romantic zone.
- the beachfront area is full of small massage businesses. They were fantastic! For $25 US, I received a very professional, high quality 75 min massage - about a quarter of the price I pay at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank creighc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Creigh:
First of all we want to thank the time you take for doing this great review. We appreciate these words and love to hear that you had a great time with us!
We always work to achieve our goal, to make your dreams come true! It’s awesome to hear that we made it with you!
We will glad to host you again your next trip to Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Found the hotel room nice enough. We also had a terrace. But the view was lots of palm trees and a wee bit of the ocean. The huge downside to this hotel, was the food. HORRID. The evening we arrived we went to the Italian restaurant. My friend, who is a seafood lover, ordered a mixed seafood dish. She took one bite and stopped. It was so bad, that she actually complained to the manager. (Perhaps the seafood on the Pacific side, tastes different than what we are use to, from the Atlantic side).
The wine was just ok. You could order a bottle of wine, instead of their red and white house wine. Small selection mind you.
The pool was nice enough. We then went to the time share area of the resort, which is allowed and used their pool. Much prettier, with waterfalls. (We are not part of time share)
Each bartender made Margareta's differently. We had to stop them a few times, as some of the bartenders added Sprite. Imagine!
I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Shirl:
First of all we want to thank your review, we will be taking note about the little errors you are talking about in order to offer a better service. About the wine you can ask for a good selection to our Sommelier and he will give you a great one!!.
Please let us be your host the next time you could return to Puerto Vallarta and we assure you that you will have a great time.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay and have to say this hotel was a great choice! The grounds and pools are beautiful and the hotel it's self is impeccably clean. The food in the hotel is very good with enough selections that we never got tired of it in the two weeks we stayed. The rooms are bright and clean with very small bathrooms but a nice vanity area with lights bright enough to apply make up...a nice change from most resorts! The true shining star of this hotel is most certainly it's staff, we found them all to be hard working, professional, and extremely friendly. I wish I could remember all the names of the staff who helped to make this such a fun vacation but unfortunately I can only recall a few like Ignacio the bartender at the main pool bar, Angelica ? the most amazing server at the lobby bar, and Lulu at the concierge desk. I appologise if I misspelled your names! We had so much fun with the hotel staff and must again say what a wonderful impression they made on us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Sleepy:
Thank you about your review, we really love about hearing that everything was perfect during your stay in Sheraton Buganvilias; we appreciate that you are telling everyone your great experience with us.
The reason why you found us with a big smile, it’s because we enjoy receiving and serving you in Puerto Vallarta. We really want you to come back and continue enjoying our beautiful city.
If you have another chance to return to Puerto Vallarta, please let us continue hosting your vacations in the paradise!
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

to food to a la carte to room service to well situated everything was great
close to the malacon easy to travel by bus or foot did a tour hidden mexico was great
went to pipis restaurant on the malacon

Room Tip: we were in room 2218 ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunergans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Lunergans:
Thank you for your advice, we appreciate the time you take for giving us your opinion. We really love to have you in our resort and enjoy serving you!
Please next time you visit us, try our buffet restaurant La Villita, you will love the food and the diversity of options you will have.
Please come back to Sheraton Buganvilias, we will be waiting for you!
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were 13 of us. This is a very nice resort all the rooms are ocean view. It was nice to open the curtain in the morning and ear the waves and sometimes see the wales Get club room 21-22-23rd floor You get a room for continental breakfast and snacks when the sun comes down and free internet and with those rooms you have free wifi everywhere. The rooms are really nice and really clean I was in 2125. The service at the pool bar wasn't the best and for the rest it was ok.

The food is good and you can also order a la carte The lobby bar as very good service. You are at about 15 minutes from Malecorne I walked everyday saw the way people lives. We went to Pepes very good supper. The temperature was 28 to 30 and in the morning 18 degrees.

Just say no to the times share people and they don't bother you. Whats can I say more the Fiesta Mexican is nice on thursdays and Brunch on sunday is very good.

The only thing is the beach is not to nice and if you have a chance get a message on the beach you can ear the waves while your having your massage down There is a pool that is heated

Would I go back in a minute yesssssssssssss So don't read all the bad reviews Hey if you want a five star hotel book one but this one is very nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liticia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Liticia:
First of all let us thank you these great reviews, we appreciate these great words. It’s such a great motivation to come to work and know that everything that you do is making our guests so happy; our only goal is to make our guests dreams come true, and with you we made it.
By the other hand, we are working to make our beach a great one; we will be making some changes there so you can swim and walk with any problem.
Please let us host again in any chance you have to come back to Puerto Vallarta.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,733 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,719 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $111 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport, our resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offers many opportnities to appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon or enjoy easy travel on a business or leisure trip. Stay with us and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church. Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing