We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will absolutely NEVER return!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Could go on for paragraphs but here are the bullet points of why this hotel is one of the worst stays ever:

1. Hair in shower on arrival
2. Aggressive timeshare employees on every single day of our five day trip, loudly hard selling the free breakfast timeshare tour
3. 5:15 am room service pounding on the door, leaving only after we told them three times we never ordered anything (we'd been fast asleep!) followed by phone call to insist we'd ordered a burger and vodka
4. Tired worn dated rooms, towels with stains on them, and we found dead moths and a dead cockroach after the cleaning lady had come through and cleaned
5. Horrible service staff. Horrendous food in main dining area.
6. Nonstop loud techno music by the pool all day. Not relaxing.
7. Over served drunken local tourists sexually harassing me and a few other girls, not only did the bartenders do NOTHING about it, but they kept serving them more beers. I have never seem drunker people and this was outrageous.

In all fairness, the concierge was very apologetic, the valet guys are great and super super helpful, and the front desk staff when we checked in were lovely. Otherwise we wish more than anything that we'd just stayed the week in sayulita.

We will NEVER return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sf221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest:

With great concern I learnt about your experience during your stay, please accept our sincere apologies. We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to redeem your inconveniences while you where still in the hotel and thank you for accepting our efforts to change your opinion, we deeply regret we were not entirely successful to erase your feelings about the beheavior of other guests to our restaurant.

We will review our current costumer service reaction skills to improve our performance to recuperate our service standards and prevent recurrence in every aspect.

Again, please accept our excuses for the inconveniences this situation may have caused you and your family.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 3,718 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Sheraton Buganvilias while attending the International Sport Classic. Our suite was really clean and very roomy. The hotel staff were friendly and the maids did an amazing job cleaning our room every day. The bedroom was so comfortable that my boyfriend and I slept for almost 11 hours most nights! We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Claire:

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our resort. It is our pleasure to welcome Sports Classic every year, we both conceive this is your home in Vallarta. Our staff is always available to provide a warm and efficient service to all the athletes and panticipants to this important event, who every year contribute to our city's social activities between both of our countries.

We appreciate your sentiment for Puerto Vallarta, for our room confort and our accomodating staff, we look forward to your visit next year.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went for the Sports Classic this year for the first time and had a great stay at the Sheraton. Despite being a large resort, it felt incredibly serene, especially in the chairs right on the beach. Include in that the breakfast, snacks and cocktails on the 23rd floor and great service everywhere we went. We even organized a seminar in one of their function rooms and the hotel staff were very helpful. Location is also good - a short cab ride to old town.

Room Tip: If you stay on one of the club levels (21-23 floor) you not only have a fantastic view, but access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a repeat visit and it was equally as wonderful as the first! The staff are incredible - they smile a lot and are genuine in wanting to help, serve and accomodate you in any way they can. Clean, spacious rooms and very nice decor without being over the top fancy. Two lovely pools and right on the beach. If you get a chance to enjoy the breakfast and snacks in the 23rd floor lounge, you will be thrilled with Amalfo and Juan's personalized and friendly service. Two thumbs up to the owner for the great staff, reasonable prices and high quality service.

Room Tip: Any room facing the water. It is worth the extra to pay for the breakfast/afternoon snacks in the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guests from Vancouver:

It was rewarding reading your kindly remarks on our resort premises and Club accommodations, and most important, your compliment for our butler services. Arnulfo and Juan who provided you a warm and caring service during your stay will appreciate your recognition. I will make sure they will receive a copy of your comments which will encourage them to keep up with the high grade service standards we all strive for.

Thank you for sharing your insight with us.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We come every year for the International Sports Classic event and are always treated wonderfully. The hotel services and amenities are excellent. We have recently travelled to other places and always come back to Sheraton Buganvilias - its the best.

Room Tip: Book early for Sports Classic - the hotel is 100% full and you could miss out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Out trip was made exceptional by the service on the 23rd floor and the tremendous tennis experience my wife enjoyed with lessons from Fernando. we also enjoyed some fun happy hours in the lobby bar where servers remembered us from previous visits.
All in all a great and enjoyable stay

Room Tip: my wife and I absolutely enloyed the Club Level (23rd floor)and butler service We highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

theres some kind of process upon check in, you are escorted to a different desk and there you are asked to attend a breakfast the following day where they will show you their timeshare options for 1 and a half hour. They insist they cant force you to attend the breakfast, nor buy anything, but the process is annoying since the only thing you want is to get to your room and get ready to relax, not buy a timeshare. If I need a timeshare from Sheraton, I will let them know. Aside from that, the hotel has a very good maintenance level, even though the seaview terrace was dirty and there was an ashtray full of leftover cigarrettes from the former guests. The food is good. The italian restaurant was great, but make you feel like in a hurry if you stay in the table after closing time (10:30pm) They wont kick you out, but close. Average. Better options for less or same price.

Room Tip: There are oceanview rooms, with very limited view. If you choose to have a room with a terrace, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 73luis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Luis:

We appreciate you taking the time to post your pros and cons comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We value your insight and will correct our failings and improve our current arrival procedures to provide the best guest experience and deliver the best maid service.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,713 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $112 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport, our resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offers many opportnities to appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon or enjoy easy travel on a business or leisure trip. Stay with us and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church. Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing